We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very impressed - excellent location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Rotorua
Ranked #33 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very impressed - excellent location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

my husband and i rececently travelled to rotorua and stayed at the ibis hotel. we had a grab one deal which was excellent value. the hotel was probably one of the best location wise in rotorua - only 1x block (if that) from the start of the restuarants/shop/lake front. we were so happy with the location which meant you could walk everywhere. the parking is free - heaps and straight across the road. the rooms may be a little small but honestly you dont spend that much time in them - it was well presented and clean, so no complaints on that front. my only slight niggle was the TV - the reception was quite poor and there were lines running across the tv and very little choice on the sky channels - but this is really only a passing comment. the lady who checked us in was extremely helpful, chatty and friendly and we were impressed with her service. i also spoke to a house keeper requesting no daily service and extra towels only (on our way out to breakfast) and when we came back, she had put a fresh stack of towels in our room - this was awesome service as when i have made requests from house keeping (in the past from other hotels) - you never get what you ask for and then the house keeper even checked with us if she could provide anything else - overall excellent service / excellent location and would definately stay again!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayjay1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. As I have mentioned throughout many trip advisor responses we do have a fantastic location. It is great the team were able to provide an optimum service for you both during your stay. Thanks for mentioning the TV, this will be a simple lose wire issue and I will have maintenance attend to this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    502
    294
    58
    24
See reviews for
224
507
94
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed to this hotel in January 2013. The room was of adequate size but felt that they need renovation. The morning breakfast was good with a variety of food, but little choice if you're a vegetarian. Great value of money if you're a budget traveler.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlaskanLandscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Ibis Rotorua.
The hotel was a new build just over 7 years ago and we are now looking into options for making the lobby reception area a little more modern with carpets and decor. It is unfortunate that you may not have requested specialty vegetarian options for breakfast as the team are certainly accommodating in providing variety and specialty options when aware.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at the Ibis Rotorua on 07 September 2013 in a lakefront room. While the rooms are well designed given the limited space, attention to detail is lacking throughout the hotel. The separate enclosed glass shower door was dirty (glass not clear - to the point you cannot see through it) and one of the bed mattresses was slightly warped, making for a very uncomfortable sleep. No in-room dining menu or folder outlining hotel facilities provided in the room. Very limited free WIFI (only 6MB) is provided in the lobby foyer only with in-room internet available at an optional fee. One of the flyer/promotional holders in the lift was empty. The hotel is starting to look a little tired with attention to detail lacking throughout. Staff not particularly helpful when trying to get an account statement printed for the night's stay (both at check-in and in the morning when checking out). The location is excellent and this hotel represents good value, however we would rather pay more and get more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank synergynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. Due to the lime scale and water composites the glass doors and other areas where water crosses paths in high volumes suffer the effects of this local hard water issue. The shower doors are clean and hygienic and something beyond our control to rectify as continual upkeep unfortunately. There is a small hotel compendium in the form of a tent card design in each room which details the menu options. The poster from the middle lift continually gets uplifted by sticky fingers as has local design features and cultural elements that are nice memorabilia for guests unfortunately! We thank you for bringing these to our attention and where we are able to influence we are making necessary changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Its always good to get somewhere and what you expected is much better. For the price you pay this is great value.The rooms have 2 double beds in them. I think the sky tv movies are free Location is great easy to walk i will be back.Thanks

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbsoluteTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
1.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.6 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Rotorua

Property: Ibis Rotorua
Address: Lake End Rangiuru Street | PO Box 348, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Rotorua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ibis Rotorua is located on the picturesque shores of lake Rotorua, just five minutes walk from the central business district, convention centre, cafes and restaurants and some of Rotorua's most popular tourist attractions. The fully air-conditioned hotel offers 145 rooms providing exceptional comfort and value. Room configurations can be one king or two doubles. A number of triple rooms with three single beds are also available. Bedrooms feature in-room safes, internet with broadband connectivity, showers, flat screen TV's and refrigerators. 24hr reception, an internet kiosk and guest laundry facilities. The I-Restaurant and Bar welcomes guests for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Conference rooms and other facilities at the neighboring Novotel Rotorua Lakeside are also available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing