We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibis Rotorua”
Review of Ibis Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Rotorua
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed October 9, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank SoephySue
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed to this hotel in January 2013. The room was of adequate size but felt that they need renovation. The morning breakfast was good with a variety of food, but little choice if you're a vegetarian. Great value of money if you're a budget traveler.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlaskanLandscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Ibis Rotorua.
The hotel was a new build just over 7 years ago and we are now looking into options for making the lobby reception area a little more modern with carpets and decor. It is unfortunate that you may not have requested specialty vegetarian options for breakfast as the team are certainly accommodating in providing variety and specialty options when aware.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at the Ibis Rotorua on 07 September 2013 in a lakefront room. While the rooms are well designed given the limited space, attention to detail is lacking throughout the hotel. The separate enclosed glass shower door was dirty (glass not clear - to the point you cannot see through it) and one of the bed mattresses was slightly warped, making for a very uncomfortable sleep. No in-room dining menu or folder outlining hotel facilities provided in the room. Very limited free WIFI (only 6MB) is provided in the lobby foyer only with in-room internet available at an optional fee. One of the flyer/promotional holders in the lift was empty. The hotel is starting to look a little tired with attention to detail lacking throughout. Staff not particularly helpful when trying to get an account statement printed for the night's stay (both at check-in and in the morning when checking out). The location is excellent and this hotel represents good value, however we would rather pay more and get more.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank synergynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. Due to the lime scale and water composites the glass doors and other areas where water crosses paths in high volumes suffer the effects of this local hard water issue. The shower doors are clean and hygienic and something beyond our control to rectify as continual upkeep unfortunately. There is a small hotel compendium in the form of a tent card design in each room which details the menu options. The poster from the middle lift continually gets uplifted by sticky fingers as has local design features and cultural elements that are nice memorabilia for guests unfortunately! We thank you for bringing these to our attention and where we are able to influence we are making necessary changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Its always good to get somewhere and what you expected is much better. For the price you pay this is great value.The rooms have 2 double beds in them. I think the sky tv movies are free Location is great easy to walk i will be back.Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbsoluteTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

very friendly helpful staff. Good coffee! one very small thing for me personally i needed more pillows but guess if i ask i would had got some :) ainGood location to town and water front. Lots of parking for guess cars. Happy to stay ag

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank mcgee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Yes thank you. You are absolutely correct, next time please ask and we will provide more pillows. I am hoping you did find the extra pillows also located in the wardrobe of the room?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I provided great feedback from my last visit in May directly to Kirk the Hotel Manager.

It was regarding the excellent service I recieved from one of his staff who went the extra mile for me.

The level of service was maintained on this visit and Kirk himself was able to assure me a specific request would be fufilled as an exception.

Great value for the room rate for the size of room and the view was top notch. I will be coming back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thanks Mike and it was great to talk with you in person. I appreciate you taking the time to place your positive comments on Trip Advisor for others to read. This is a great touch from you so again thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Rep186
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
893 reviews
0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#9 of 92 in Rotorua
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
829 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Rotorua

Address: Lake End Rangiuru Street | PO Box 348, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $101 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Rotorua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ibis Rotorua is located on the picturesque shores of lake Rotorua, just five minutes walk from the central business district, convention centre, cafes and restaurants and some of Rotorua's most popular tourist attractions. The fully air-conditioned hotel offers 145 rooms providing exceptional comfort and value. Room configurations can be one king or two doubles. A number of triple rooms with three single beds are also available. Bedrooms feature in-room safes, internet with broadband connectivity, showers, flat screen TV's and refrigerators. 24hr reception, an internet kiosk and guest laundry facilities. The I-Restaurant and Bar welcomes guests for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Conference rooms and other facilities at the neighboring Novotel Rotorua Lakeside are also available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing