We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Surprise”
Review of Ibis Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Rotorua
Ranked #37 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Its always good to get somewhere and what you expected is much better. For the price you pay this is great value.The rooms have 2 double beds in them. I think the sky tv movies are free Location is great easy to walk i will be back.Thanks

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbsoluteTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    512
    315
    64
    25
See reviews for
234
524
95
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
palmerston north
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

very friendly helpful staff. Good coffee! one very small thing for me personally i needed more pillows but guess if i ask i would had got some :) ainGood location to town and water front. Lots of parking for guess cars. Happy to stay ag

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank mcgee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Yes thank you. You are absolutely correct, next time please ask and we will provide more pillows. I am hoping you did find the extra pillows also located in the wardrobe of the room?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I provided great feedback from my last visit in May directly to Kirk the Hotel Manager.

It was regarding the excellent service I recieved from one of his staff who went the extra mile for me.

The level of service was maintained on this visit and Kirk himself was able to assure me a specific request would be fufilled as an exception.

Great value for the room rate for the size of room and the view was top notch. I will be coming back again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks Mike and it was great to talk with you in person. I appreciate you taking the time to place your positive comments on Trip Advisor for others to read. This is a great touch from you so again thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Ibis hotel is a very good “value for money” accommodation option.

The hotel is extremely well located – very close to the lake, adjoining the park, yet close to the town’s many restaurants, shops, museum, tourist information office, etc. Supermarkets are about a 5 minute drive away. Rooms are very quiet. It is easy to find the property from the main roads into town. Parking was straightforward, although there is also plenty of overflow parking in the adjoining Novotel.

The check-in staff were incredibly friendly and helpful – Jacqui gave me useful maps and recommendations as to the best sites to see.

The room itself is functional but reasonably well equipped: large fridge, kettle, tea/coffee, flat screen TV. There was no safe or bath (only a shower). However, it was very quiet, with no noise either from the street or adjoining rooms. On entering the room, there was a smell (although I gather this is quite common because of all the sulphur in the region!), but this quickly dissipated after the room ventilation was turned on.

The big negative for the hotel is its wi-fi offering. In-room wi-fi is not available. Lobby wi-fi is offered, although I had less than 3 minutes of free usage, before I was then asked to pay (and the rates are eye-wateringly expensive). There are two computers in the lobby, but they were set for an Asian language usage. The hotel were apologetic about their wi-fi offering (clearly many customers complain), but explained it was operated by a third party over which they had no control.

The breakfast offering is carb-heavy, with minimal proteins, but the Novotel next door (also owned by Accor), had a much better selection (abeit priced at NZ$30 rather than the Ibis NZ$20).

However, other than wi-fi, if you are looking for a value-oriented hotel, the Ibis is well worth considering.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Airlineconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you, some fantastic positive comments in your review. I can add a positive to this also that we have Wifi access throughout the hotel now in all guest rooms. I did notice that a guest had changed the settings on the lobby public use computers and we have reset this back to English.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
0.6 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
848 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.2 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Rotorua

Property: Ibis Rotorua
Address: Lake End Rangiuru Street | PO Box 348, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Rotorua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ibis Rotorua is located on the picturesque shores of lake Rotorua, just five minutes walk from the central business district, convention centre, cafes and restaurants and some of Rotorua's most popular tourist attractions. The fully air-conditioned hotel offers 145 rooms providing exceptional comfort and value. Room configurations can be one king or two doubles. A number of triple rooms with three single beds are also available. Bedrooms feature in-room safes, internet with broadband connectivity, showers, flat screen TV's and refrigerators. 24hr reception, an internet kiosk and guest laundry facilities. The I-Restaurant and Bar welcomes guests for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Conference rooms and other facilities at the neighboring Novotel Rotorua Lakeside are also available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing