We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Ibis Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Rotorua
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed March 13, 2013

A well-located hotel, situated just behind the Novotel hotel, is a value-for-money place, with good friendly staff. At a short walk, there are quite a few eating options available. The 3 rooms we had were not very spacious but pretty functional. The place has a coin-operated laundry, which was quite handy

Room Tip: Rooms on the lakeside are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golethepole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

The Ibis Rotorua is situated in a fantastic location and the unique surroundings of Rotorua and the volcanic activity. Our rooms are definitely functional and we appreciate your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 629 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

A Lovely Hotel with everything you need to re-charge your batteries. There were six of us and we had three rooms all next to each other. Everything was clean and comfortable and the shops were within walking distance. We drove easily to the Luge from the Hotel, and at night time we were collected from the Hotel and taken to the Maori Cultural Evening, which was only approx 20 mins away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

It is fantastic that you, as so many others take the time to post a review of your positive experiences at Ibis rotorua and the local area. I will ensure your comments are passed on as we continually strive to offer the best service we can across all aspects of the hotel. Thank you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis rotorua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great place to stay if you want to be in the centre of Rotorua, close to the bars, restaurants, shops and Lake front. Friendly, attentive staff and room good for the price. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireLass62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thanks!! That is a very detailed excellent summary of our hotel, facilities and customer service. I really appreciate you taking the time to write this and I am sure these comments will be useful for other travellers looking for accommodation in Rotorua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The service we received was very friendly and helpful. We were assisted with the booking of a Mauri Cultural evening which was a great service to offer. The free hotel carpark is located underneath the hotel at the back there are lifts that you can access to the reception or your room, which is very useful when transfering your luggage. There is also a launderette located in the car park area. Our double room was located on the 5th floor and had an excellent view of the lake. Our room was compact, clean and had 2 double beds which were very comfortable. The bathroom was small but had everything that you would want. The location of the Ibis is a short walk to the lake front. There is a small bar, located in the reception area and there is also an internet area located near the main door enterance. Located next door is the Novetal where we had a drink in Clarkes bar, this had a tired seating area outside. Located just at the back of the Ibis is a Pizza Hut. All in all this is good base for visiting Rotorua. It is a not a luxury hotel but it is a great budget hotel which I would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redkaz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you for the detailed positive review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your information

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I had stayed in the Novetel next door a few nights earlier. The Ibis was about a $100 cheaper so I thought I would try this hotel. Check in was very quick and friendly the rooms were clean and had everything. I would recommend the Ibis but I liked the bar at the Novetel as a good place to catch up.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwignome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Yes we are lucky to have to 2 hotels side by side and offer differing levels of accommodation which is reflected in the room rates. It is also great that you can wander around the corner to the bar at Novotel and enjoy this space as an Ibis guest also. Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Ibis Rotorua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

For the price paid this was great value; a good all round hotel, rooms smaller than some but very tidy and beds good - in keeping for hwat one expects at an Ibis. Food only average especially as Rotorua is a big tourist destination and I think Ibis here could do a bit better on that front. Staff exceptionally obliging. Have stayed here on various occasions and will do so again but first timers shouldn't expcet the Ritz, just a good, honest hotel where you feel comfortable putting your head down at night.,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Great comments thank you. I like the comment about first timers not to expect the Ritz but that we are clean and tidy with focus on customer service. The Ibis brand is a hotel brand where you know what you are getting, and we strive each day to deliver on that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Service: Friendly and helpfull
Room: Deluxe lakefront double room, well appointed with comfortable double beds and air conditioning.
Location: great location, just a few minutes from the Lake Front and wonderful restaurants. Hotel has an in-house restaurant (available for all meals) and room service. We enjoyed a buffett breakfast (good value for money)
Liked best: accessibility to lake front and shopping area, variety of restaurants within few minutes walk. Late check out at 11.00am
Liked least: Small TV and no mini bar (did provide tea and coffee facilities)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perroplas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

We have great news in the fact that we are currently replacing all of our TV's with wall mounted larger LCD units which will certainly make the room more spacious, and a welcome upgrade. As written in so many reviews we are very proud of our fantastic location

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
917 reviews
0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.6 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Rotorua

Address: Lake End Rangiuru Street | PO Box 348, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $101 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Rotorua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ibis Rotorua is located on the picturesque shores of lake Rotorua, just five minutes walk from the central business district, convention centre, cafes and restaurants and some of Rotorua's most popular tourist attractions. The fully air-conditioned hotel offers 145 rooms providing exceptional comfort and value. Room configurations can be one king or two doubles. A number of triple rooms with three single beds are also available. Bedrooms feature in-room safes, internet with broadband connectivity, showers, flat screen TV's and refrigerators. 24hr reception, an internet kiosk and guest laundry facilities. The I-Restaurant and Bar welcomes guests for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Conference rooms and other facilities at the neighboring Novotel Rotorua Lakeside are also available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing