We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A DELIGHTFUL B&B AT WATERS EDGE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge
Ranked #11 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2010

Visited this B&B again in Feb 2010, still same owners and again I must say that the hospitality and accommodation met all standards -- welcoming hosts, delightful and full breakfasts, and clean and spotless rooms - what more do you need? As well superb fishing on a stroll away!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anglerslobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 115 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2010

We were so glad we found this B&B - we are not ones for staying in the centre of town so the situation of Lakeside Lodge was ideal (it really is absolute lakeside!) Lyndsay & Graham were great hosts with a vast local knowledge -their recommendations of things to do was spot on - especially for our 10 year old son who loved the both the Luge & the Zorb & also the TePuia evening suggested by Lyndsay. Graham took both my son & husband fly fishing on the local river at the crack of dawn (their choice I hasten to add!) which was a wonderful experience for our son.
The house was very clean & comfortable with a superb panoramic view of the lake.Yes it is situauted in a residential area but that is part of its charm - you do meet & speak to local people which, for us,was an important part of our holiday- to see the real New Zealand.
Breakfast is included and was ample - Lyndsay makes homemade muesli, yoghurt & muffins along with fruit salad and other delights (a full cooked breakfast is also available for those who prefer it)
We originally booked for 1 night but ended up staying for 3 !

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MendipLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Beautiful, lakefront, bed and breakfast located a short distance from the main town of Rotorua. The best feature is the hosts, Lyndsay and Graham, who do not hesitate to go out of their way to make your stay perfect and relaxing. They are a wealth of information about the history and attractions located in Rotorua and around NZ. My husband and I remember our stay fondly and can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trvlfor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge

"Tranquillity and Diversification in a Unique Area of the World".

My friend Stuart Middleton and I made an “all action round trip” of 26,240 miles to North and South Islands of New Zealand (“NZ”) and a key area for us to visit was Rotorua, with its massive thermal activities, Maori traditions, fishing and walking and here we choose Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge as our “Homestay” for three nights.

We made all our arrangements over the internet and we were so lucky to find this ace place where nothing is trouble to our marvellous hosts, Lyndsay and Graham. Pre arrival information by e-mail on the various options available to us from Lyndsay was magic. To be able to fish for trout was important to us and a day’s licence, all equipment and Graham as our guide for a day’s fishing on the Ngongotaha Stream, which has its source in Paradise Valley, was put in place. Four BIG trout (2.5lbs/4lbs) were “pulled off” the river and lots of trout can be seen in the lovely clear waters but take note, they are not easy to catch. We also wanted to walk and we spent time in the Whakarewarewa Forest (“Redwoods”) which was such an enjoyable experience. Lyndsay had organized a night at ‘TE PUIA’ in Rotorua (she also had offered us alternatives) where we had an in-depth experience of the customs and traditions of the Maori people, a hangi-cooked feast and contemporary Maori dishes. The evening ended at 9pm after a visit to view POHUTA, the famous geyser on the site. We also visited the famous Polynesian Spa, overlooking Lake Rotorua and we tried out all 4 Lakeside pools (36c/42c) in this world top ten (medical and thermal) Spa and enjoyed the occasion, looking up to the star lit sky. Wai-O-Tapu (Sacred Waters) which is NZ’s most colourful and diverse volcanic area and here we walked round the stunning geothermal activity and unforgettable vistas. Huka Falls, a natural phenomenon is also not to be missed. The mighty Waikato River, NZ’s largest, gushes through a narrow chasm not long after the outlet from Lake Taupo. 300,000lrs of water per second hurtles through the narrow channel that makes the waterfall the most visited attraction in NZ.
Why stay at Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge?
•The location of the elegant, comfortable and spacious detached home couldn’t be nicer, being on the shores of Lake Rotorua with panoramic views across the whole of the lake, Mokoia Island and surrounding countryside to Mt Tarawera, in the distance, are just stunning. Everything you desire is provided.
•There is a wealth of reading material but if you want to know anything you just ask Lyndsay and she will know the answer. As well as having coffee/tea facilities in your bedroom you also have your own coffee/tea facilities in the lounge and to me this was magic. A read with a morning cuppa looking over the lake before breakfast, wonderful.
•Breakfasts are to “die for” with excellent home made delights and attentive service second to none. It is one large table sitting six people and conversation is free flowing as everyone is interested in what the other parties are doing and making recommendations as what to see and do. After home made cereal and fresh fruit with yoghurt, Lyndsay has suggested crepes with bacon and fresh mushrooms. Sounded delicious to me and yes it was. You could have had anything you wanted and Graham provided a constant supply of fresh toast/tea. Do you want to leave the table? No is the answer. Stuart made the comment "that you had enough breakfast not to need lunch," and Stuart does like his lunch as well!! Wine and canapés are served in the “Sunroom” at around 5pm or Monteith’s Hearty Blacks on the patio!!
•You come and go as you please, on site parking is provided and the City of Rotorua, with many good restaurants and shopping is just a ten minute drive away.

This is a very special place to stay and no six-star resort can match the hospitality of great hosts in their own home. Here you will find two of the best there is. We loved our stay with great weather and we just did not want to say - goodbye.

Fraser Mackay
Chester, United Kingdom.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fraser M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We loved our two nights at Ngongotaha (especially once we learned to pronounce it!). We were upgraded to the beautiful king suite overlooking the lake and it was great. Lyndsay and Graham were fabulous hosts who were so helpful with suggestions and arrangements. We saw several sights that we wouldn't have found on our own but were recommended by Lindsay and they were well worth seeing! Breakfasts (freshly cooked trout! yum!) were delicious and fun because of the camaraderie of our fellow travelers and our hosts. It is outside of Rotorua, which makes it a bit of a drive for dinner and other attractions in town. However, it was nice to get away from the tourism and smell of Rotorua and relax at this delightful B & B.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayteeMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

I've travelled all over the world and have NEVER had such a good breakfast! I even found myself looking forward to the following morning so that I could eat again! Lindsay and Graeme are doing a brilliant job. Nothing is too much trouble. They offer a first rate, personal service, offering travel tips, suggestions for day trips, restaurant advice... as well as wonderful beds, a fabulous view, a great welcome and.... BRILLIANT breakfasts! What more could you want?
Prim and Chris UK

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chapeluser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Graham and Lyndsay are perfect hosts. They just cannot do enough for you, booking trips, answering questions knowledgeably and taking a strong interest in helping guests make the most from their stay. Graham is an expert fisherman and we had a great day out under his guidance. Lyndsay keeps a smart house and provides canapes and a glass of wine in the evening and a fantastic breakfast that will see you skipping lunch.

As for the accommodation, we stayed in the Queen room which is ensuite, very comfortable and having spent three nights at the Lakeside Lodge, we wished we had booked more. Yes, Rotorua is regarded as being smelly as it is in a geothermal area and sulphar gas does smell a bit, but Lakeside is far enough outside Rotorua that the smell doesn't reach there. And despitethe smell, there is just so much to see and do in the area that you may very well regret not booking more time.

Lakeside Lodge itself sits very close to the lake with magnificent views. The residents' lounge is very comfortable.

Highly rcommended - if I come back to Rotorua, I'd have no hesitation in coming back to Lakeside.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
4.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
408 reviews
4.7 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
1.8 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
6.4 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge

Address: 41 Operiana Street | Ngongotaha, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: $178 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, warm and friendly. "Hospitality Award" winning Bed & Breakfast on the shore of Lake Rotorua, offering quality accommodation away from noise, traffic and sulphur smells. Close to many major tourist activities and attractions and only a ten minute drive into Rotorua. Tastful ensuite bedrooms, with all toiletries provided . . In room flat screen TV's, tea and coffee making facilities and fridge. Start you day with a healthy, homemade generous breakfast. Fly fish for trout a few steps away at the mouth of the famous Waiteti Stream . . . We will smoke your catch for you to have with pre dinner drinks or pan fry it for your breakfast. Our self/catering "Mokoia Apartment" has breakfast provisions supplied for the 1st morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing