We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fly fishing base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge
Ranked #11 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fly fishing base”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

My first visit to New Zealand involved two stops on the North Island, the second of which was to stay at the Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge in Rotorua to do some fly fishing.

On my arrival I was warmly greeted by Lyndsay and Graham who went out of their way to make me welcome and to get settled into my comfortable twin bed room with shower and wash room en-suite. The lodge is purpose designed to cater for B&B and has a very spacious guest lounge on the first floor with huge glass windows giving a panoramic view of the lake – right at the end of the garden with adjacent stream!

The guest lounge has free coffee, tea and beer in the fridge along with a selection of delicious home made cookies. Next to the lounge a private kitchen allows the hosts to prepare breakfast, with an endless choice to keep the hungry fisherman going.

My paid guided day with Graham included all the equipment I needed along with a nice packed lunch, allowing him to take me to several locations to do battle with the trout. The following day I fished for the morning before going sight seeing to the thermal springs.

Having travelled extensively I can sincerely say that the accommodation and lodge were spotlessly clean, very comfortable with free PC use and my hosts were so helpful especially in giving me information on where to go and park and eat in Rotorua, I was almost sorry to have to leave!

I think the Lodge offers very good value for money and is well located both for fishing and touring; I would certainly use it again.

Peter UK

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter_cts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigfishRotorua, Owner at Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Many thanks for this lovely long review of your stay with us Peter.
Thank you too, for choosing to stay with us during your first fishing trip to NZ.
We enjoyed having you stay with us, but were sorry that the fishing was not at it's best for you this time round . . . . maybe your next trip will be better :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
80
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Excellent in every respect. Graham and Lyndsay couldn't have been more charming and helpful. Their breakfast was superb and their local knowledge benefitted us greatly to see the best sights there was in the short time we had.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helcar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigfishRotorua, Owner at Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
We are so pleased that you enjoyed Rotorua and your stay with us.
You were super guests' and we did enjoy meeting you all.
You say "can't wait to go back" . . . . let's hope it will be soon!
Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2011

The hosts Lyndsay and Graham were welcoming and charming. The accomodation was spacious and very well equipped and included a big lounge with lakeside views providing stunning sunsets.
Our hosts were very helpful with local advice on what to visit in the short period of time we were in Rotorua. We had great breakfasts to start the day and the rooms had tea/coffee making facilities for a bit of self catering as needed. Ngongotaha is very handy for Rotorua and the other volcanic sites you might want to visit by car.
A great place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice - the higher priced rooms have a lake view and balcony, but you get the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mildura
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Our hosts Lyndsay and Graeme are wonderful and tendered to our needs with skill and offerred advice to make our stay more enjoyable. Beautiful surrounding overlooking the Lake and very relaxing. Will return and recommend to anyone wanting to make Rotorua a base for their holiday

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dickoMildura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This b and b was a great option for us. It is a little bit out of town, but beacuse we had a hire car this was never even a problem. A beautiful view over the lake at breakfast, and our own living room area, so we didnt have to stay cooped up in our room to get some privacy. A lovely night's stay!

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Djs-mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsay B, Owner at Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you so much for this great review of the time you spent with us during your NZ honeymoon. We are glad that you enjoyed Rotorua and that the rest of your trip went as well as you hoped.
We enjoyed your visit with us too . . . you were both SO happy and were lovely guests . . . we were sad to see go leave.
We wish you all the best of everything amd hope that your life together is long and happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

My wife and I stayed three nights here in October 2010. Lyndsay and Graham were great hosts and they gave us discount vouchers to some attractions. The accomodation was first class in every respect. The lodge is right on the lake and is in a very quiet area far removed from the sulfur smells of Rotorua. The beds was most comfortable and we had use of the lounge room and balcony overlooking the lake. The Breakfasts were excellent and we really enjoyed our stay here. I totally recommend this B & B.
Thank you Lyndsay and Graham for a great stay. Say helloe to Bootsy for us. Don & Monica

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonWad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Two things I will always remember, the fantastic view and the kindness of the super friendly
owners Lyndsay & Graham.
Good rooms, excellent breakfast, very clean & neat.
It was a real pleasure staying (3 nights) in this very pleasant and outstanding B & B.
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sockx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
4.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
690 reviews
2.4 mi away
Country Villa
Country Villa
#7 of 52 in Rotorua
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
4.0 mi away
City Lights Boutique Lodge
5.7 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge

Property: Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge
Address: 41 Operiana Street | Ngongotaha, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, warm and friendly. "Hospitality Award" winning Bed & Breakfast on the shore of Lake Rotorua, offering quality accommodation away from noise, traffic and sulphur smells. Close to many major tourist activities and attractions and only a ten minute drive into Rotorua. Tastful ensuite bedrooms, with all toiletries provided . . In room flat screen TV's and tea and coffee making facilities. Start you day with a healthy, homemade generous breakfast. Fly fish for trout a few steps away at the mouth of the famous Waiteti Stream . . . We will smoke your catch for you to have with pre dinner drinks or pan fry it for your breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing