We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
Ranked #50 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We enjoyed a week here and loved it. When we arrived we were upgraded to a lake view as it was our honeymoon. The apartments are spacious and have everything you need. The property is large and peaceful right on the lake it was lovely to go for a walk in the early evenings and watch the ducks. Make sure you hire a car so you can go exploring the area is just beautiful. A big thank you to Management and staff for being so helpful and offering advice on the area. It was a great start to our honeymoon.

Cheers
Alicia and Craig
Cairns

Room Tip: Hire a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wawa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    66
    26
    6
    5
See reviews for
87
33
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 week in a 3 bedroom deluxe apartment/chalet using our timeshare points with Wyndham. chalet 33 with own jetty

A few days prior to arriving I called Wyndham to confirm all details of my booking and to request a cot and high chair. The resort was called directly while I stayed on hold to ensure my request would be meet- yes, confirmed both should be waiting for us on arrival.

We checked in at 6.30pm , reception was closed so envelope with keys were left for us. No cot or high chair were in the chalet- it was close to our daughters bedtime so I was not happy. A call to the mobile number noted at reception and 30mins later both were delivered but the high chair was broken, like a safety hazard as the supporting bar was missing causing the seat not to lock- we decided to leave it and not bother using it.

We were disappointed with chalet 33 as we were told were told we'll be likely getting a chalet like in the website that was standalone and double width. Nope, this was narrow and connected to other chalets on either side. We found the downstairs open plan set up very small even though it had 3 bedrooms upstairs so capacity is max 8 with sofabed.

There is only a toilet downstairs and a shower and toilet in the bathroom upstairs. The blinds were horrible, completely useless as depending on which direction your room faced you either had early morning sun beaming through - not great if you want to sleep past 6.30am sunrise or if you were in front room, the evening sun made the room a sauna and forget about sleeping prior to 9pm ( I was lucky I brought a block out kids travel shade to attach to window).
There is no air con upstairs even with fans on full blast it took into the very late night to cool the room down, most had to stay on lowest setting all night.
Not impressed with the old style pull the string light and fan either.

Neighbours can be heard very loudly even just walking up and down the stairs- this is because they're connected either side. Last gripe would be the pool isn't heated, it should be solar heated as it doesn't get very hot in rotorua.

Plus is the resort is very picturest. It's nice to be less than 20mins drive from all activities and town yet you feel you are elsewhere with no sulphur smell and just water surrounding the resort. Love the hanging child swing from the trip very much used my children.

We dined at the clubhouse restaurant, they have a website you can view their menu. Pricing was reasonable and service very good. The meals came out promptly and no complaints from anyone. The garlic sweet chilli prawns worth a mention as rather delicious. No chargeback to rooms available though.

Good resort overall, option if you want more than a hotel motel found in rotorua town, very rare to get a self contained accommodation in the area that is a resort

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAI51E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We recently spent three nights at the WorldMark South Pacific formerly "Marama" - we stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment overlooking one of the canals. Peak time so the rate was $240.00 per night. The apartments are well appointed although a little tired in decor and furnishings but very clean. The kitchen is well laid out but only has 4 of everything including utensils, plates etc. There were a few key items missing from the kitchen and the staff were very quick to find replacments and very helpful.

The setting is gorgeous nestled on the edge of the Ohau Channel, the resort has great facilties with a fabullous swimming pool, tennis court and gym. Apon check in we were supplied a list of "free" sights to see in the area as well as user pay options, which is was great and very informative.

We loved the location and would highly recommend you visit the Okere Falls which is apx a 10 minute drive from the resort and once there it is a 30 minute walking return trip to the falls and back. Apx 20 minutes drive into Rotorua so all the fun things like the Skyline etc are all very accessbile.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on our 8 day tour of NZ. The apartments are located about 15 to 20 min away from the main town and in a very peaceful location. Apartments are very clean and gardens very well maintained. Staff at reception very friendly. Restaraunt was not open for service while we were there. Rooms were very small and tight for a large group of people. Will suit one couple and two kids.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donty17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent two weeks in New Zealand with our best friends and we spent 4 days at Rotorua after being up north at Paihia (Bay of Islands). We arrived right on closing time for the front office but were met by Arash who had everything ready for our 3 bedroom apartment on the rear channel. Our accommodation was delightful. A two storey, colorbond clad apartment with a deck out the back with our own little wharf with resident swans and their young! The view beyond was an open paddock with horses - lovely! There is only one bathroom which was fine for two couples but you would need to plan showers etc if there were more guests. There was a second WC downstairs which was appreciated. The weather while we were in the Rotorua area was cyclonic although clear so if we had been on the lake we would have been blown away so being out on the channel was fantastic because we were protected!! The grounds are superb and are a 'mecca' for fishermen who having been coming there for 20+ years. This Worldmark property is about 20 minutes drive from the main town of Rotorua so you will need a car but there are so many fabulous drives and attractions within a two hour drive - a car is a must anyway. We were disappointed in the restaurant dinner that we had on the final night. I could have cooked better myself! Dry chicken schnitzel, overdone steak, boring vegetables. Apparently they do an amazing breakfast but we did not try it. The restaurant is nicely situated with wrap around glass windows and a beautiful log fire so the atmosphere was wonderful for our pre-dinner drinks where we met other guests but the experience deteriorated from there. The complex is getting a little tired with very aged timber on verandahs and patios so needs a bit of TLC but all in all a really nice property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krisrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arash a, General Manager at Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Kris Rose, thank you for staying with us and thank you for your positive and helpfull feed back. The weather did turn better after you left, but I am glad that you made the most of your stay by getting out there and enjoying what Rotorua has to offer.
I have passed on your feed back to the cafe operators who are sorry that your experience with them was not to their usual high standards. And funny you should mention the decks, the unit you stayed in and next to you just got re-stained last week! We usual do them in November as we are able to get some sunshine before the busy December period.
Again lovely to have you stay and hope to be able to welcome you back for your next anniversary!
Best regards
Arash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for something out of the way then this place will fit the bill. We had trouble finding it after dark. Reception close early and the voice on the of end of a mobile number you can call wasn't very polite about us calling. The rooms need an update but are still comfortable.

You can have dinner on the resort but the food takes an age to arrive.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treasure21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arash a, General Manager at Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed the tranquil setting of Marama Resort. We do have an after hours check in service for all guests who have not arrived before reception closes, and it is displayed on the reception entrance. We also have an emergency out of hours mobile number should any guests encounter difficulties. The units were all re-decorated last year and the furniture was replaced just under 2 years ago. We do market ourselves towards the family market and in the good 3 star range, which is reflected in our great value rates that you mentioned. Again thank you for staying with us and hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Really lovely, clean accommodation. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a 3 bedroom chalet. There were 2 queen bedrooms and 1 twin single room - plenty of room for 2 couples plus one. There's a heat-pump which kept the apartment very warm. Although it is a little further away from the city centre, it is a pleasant drive out to the resort. Depending on the tourist activities you decide to do, they may have shuttle services which come to pick you up so you are not completely inconvenienced. During the summer, I could imagine it being a beautiful environment to go for runs, walks, swimming, kayaking, boating, tennis... plenty of options for outdoor activities. Staff were very friendly. Beds were very comfortable. Being out in the middle of nowhere, it was very quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Klougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arash a, General Manager at Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, even though the weather was not on our side. I look forward to welcoming you back to Marama Resort in the near future...maybe in summer next time and you can get out and do some kayaking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
7.7 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
7.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#13 of 92 in Rotorua
426 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
7.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama

Property: Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
Address: 1420 Hamurana Road, Rotorua 3074, New Zealand (Formerly Scenic Circle Marama Resort Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#35 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is truly like no other destination. It's a fascinating mix of culture, adventure and relaxation. Renowned for being a hotbed of thermal activity, Rotorua's hot springs and spas make it the perfect getaway for pampering, stress-release and rejuvenation. At the same time it's also a place where you can truly get the heart pumping. Adrenalin-raising adventures punctuate the Rotorua landscape from thrilling luge rides, white water rafting and even rolling down a hill in a giant translucent ball (zorbing). If all that's not enough for you, then you also have an area rich in Maori history and culture and friendly locals to walk you through it all. Located just 20 minutes outside the city to ensure your getaway is relaxing, WorldMark Resort Rotorua is the perfect base for whatever brings you to this simply wonderful area of New Zealand. With apartments sleeping 4-6 people in 2 and 3 bedroom apartments and lodges (utilising double sofa bed in living room), your stay will feel like your home-away-from-home. Located on the edge of the lake, the resort offers beautiful views right over the Ohau Channel. You can kayak your way back to your room or picnic at the parklands located right within the resort. If fishing is more your thing you'll be in heaven - the area is rich in fisheries and you'll be able to throw in a line from one of the various resort banks. The apartments include all modern conveniences, with the resort also boasting outdoor swimming pool, heated spa, gymnasium and a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worldmark South Pacific Club By Wyndham Hotel Rotorua
Wyndham Rotorua
Rotorua Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing