We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money”
Review of Six on Union

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Six on Union
Ranked #51 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Also, quiet sleeping. Room had balcony and we were off of the main street which made it even more quiet. We stirred away from the spa as it looked like it hadn't been used, but it was summer time. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeli5559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Hello Jeli5559
It's great that you enjoyed our quiet location, a good nights sleep sets you up for the next days adventures. It was lovely meeting & chatting with yourselves & your mum. As we always say, the best recommendation is that you would stay again & we sincerely hope you do.

Many thanks

Lisa & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 118 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

If you ever go to Rotorua check this place out, the rooms are fantastic and great value for money, it's a British husband and wife owned place and they were very helpful. There are many hotel/motels to choose from but you will have to go far to beat this place. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigJohn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Hello John
Thank you so much for taking the time to highly recommend our motel. We try to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible and we're happy that we met your expectations.

We hope to see you again

Many thanks
Lisa & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed 2 nights ,Great little motel ,across the road from the mall .Clean and tidy units ,comfy beds Just what u need Quiet location and good value for money compared to some other motels in area ,Got me motel unit sorted for next year ,,If available

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Hi Chris
It's lovely when someone who tells you in person they have enjoyed their stay, actually takes the time to write a review too. Possibly the tidiest guest we've ever had :-) You were a pleasure to meet and have a chat with.
See you next time

Lisa & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Great price in comparison with accommodation elsewhere in N Z , and room had everything we needed and was very comfortable. Location was great, and owners provided us with good information which helped us make the most of our two days.

Only slight gripe was that wifi was very expensive when compared with other accommodation....and we could only connect outside our room on the top landing. Recommend you check reception in your room before buying.

We would certainly stay here if we visit Rotorua again - thanks for a super stay.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank DellaSalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Hi Della

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, it is much appreciated. We do try to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible and are happy to assist wherever we can. Thank you for mentioning our great location, we are so close to town but well away from noisy main roads.
We guess the fact that "Great price in comparison with accommodation elsewhere in N Z " offsets the "free wifi" which is factored in to some others prices. Our complimentary wifi in MGB is usually sufficient for email, web-browsing,etc and after that we sell Zenbu vouchers at a reduced rate.
The best recommendation, you'd stay with us again.
Many thanks
Tony & Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Made very welcome right from the start. Good local information offered in a pleasant manner. All facilities you need are there in a spacious room. The location with a supermarket less than 5 minutes walk away and the main road into town within easy walking distance. Excellent.
The building may be older but that does not mean the welcome is old fashioned.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Hello John
Thank you for your lovely comments. It's great that you were happy with both the facilities in your room and the motels convenient location. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Wishing you a happy & healthy new year.

Lisa & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was a great way to finish our NZ holiday. The hosts are lovely, patient folk who helped us squeeze the last bit of fun out of our stay and wrap up our final transportation plans. We had everything we needed and felt welcome from the start.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Hello Julie and Mark

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were happy to help you make the most of your last few days visiting with your daughter.

All the very best for 2014 and we hope to welcome you back sometime.

Lisa & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed there because it was recommended in Lonely Planet. The owner helped us get checked in and gave us a good overall "sense" of the city. He even knocked on our door an hour later to tell us about a combination Maori entertainment/dinner special a few blocks away. The location across from the mall/restaurants was great but the room was just OK. A little bit cold even with the heater and a rather old building. We stayed there in the off season (October) but found that there were other hotels, newer and including breakfast for the same price or not much more.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Hello Sharon
Thank you for your review. It's great that you appreciated the information you were given at check-in and later when a "Special" had just come to our attention. We like to assist our guests to get the most out of their stay in Rotorua. Yes, our location is great isn't it? Well away from the main road but so close to shops & restaurants. The motel was built in the 70's so is not a shiny new corporate hotel but being an older style property tends to have larger rooms with a good size kitchen, not just a shelf with a kettle.

Kind regards
Tony & Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#56 of 92 in Rotorua
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
#14 of 92 in Rotorua
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Accolade Lodge Motel
Accolade Lodge Motel
#33 of 92 in Rotorua
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Lakefront Resort Rotorua
Lakefront Resort Rotorua
#65 of 92 in Rotorua
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Union Victoria Motel
Union Victoria Motel
#55 of 92 in Rotorua
175 reviews
1.2 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#71 of 92 in Rotorua
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six on Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six on Union

Address: 6 Union Street | Glenholme, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: $72 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Six on Union 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Six on Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Six On Union Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing