We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Ranked #26 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A beautiful retreat”
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Booking into this lodge was really a second choice however we were extremely happy with our decision. A hoenly feel is the first thingthat strikes you about the main lodge area and within hours you will be walking around the place feeling as if it is your own.
The rooms are stunning, in neutral colors with lovely little touches including bathbombs, organic juices and plunger coffee. We stayed in a Garden View room which was one of the most beautiful rooms in the lodge (it just didn't have a view of the lake) but we were lucky enough to be able to compare with some of the other rooms which were vacant.
To top this place off the service is what makes it! The staff are just like part of the family with David being the ever affable host. This place is fantastic if you are looking for a comfortable place without having people over your shouldner all of the time - but you do get to mee some great guests too!
Dinner I found was a little over priced for the money but nothing nicer than crawling up to your room at the end of a few ports!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missjane06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, March 9, 2015
Thanks! So glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    14
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
29
76
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleby-in-Westmorland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2009

Stunning location (you can walk down to the lakeside without leaving the grounds) and a very comfortable lodge – stayed two nights in July. Room was of a very high standard: very spacious and with a superbly appointed bathroom. Only ate one night – food excellent, but service at dinner was very slow, even by fine-dining standards and quite pricey. Free wireless internet.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyBoomerCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Absolutely delighted you enjoyed our stay and what we have on offer here :at Peppers on the Point. We also love that we are part of your memorable trip to NZ! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2008

Peppers on the Point is a 1936 mansion that has been converted into a Lodge. Its close to Rotorua in a suburban area that has all the upmarket houses and lodges, but far enough away that you feel like your a million miles away from anywhere. Spectacular views over the lake, immaculate gardens, peaceful surroundings and very comfortable suites made our stay unforgettable. The small staff are very friendly and make you feel very welcome and important. We opted to include the evening meals which were of a very high quality. As a total experience we felt that Peppers was within the top 5 places we have stayed at around the world.

I guess the only downside is that its expensive (much more than we would normally pay), but even so, the experience was so good that we didnt end up giving this aspect a second thought.

Highly recommended for a special occassion.

  • Liked — The spectactular lake views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GazPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Absolutely delighted you enjoyed our stay and what we have on offer here :at Peppers on the Point. We also love that we are part of your memorable trip to NZ! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
9.4 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#24 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
9.0 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#44 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
2.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua

Property: Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Address: 214 Kawaha Point Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#22 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star Exclusive luxury lodge surrounded by the sparkling waters of Lake Rotorua. Peppers on the Point offers guests the opportunity to experience the rich culture and geothermal wonders of Rotorua or simply relax and enjoy the tranquility of the stunning location. Once a Maori Pa site, the property is steeped in local history - of ancient battles, love and life - and looks out towards the historic Mokoia Island. The Lodge itself is a converted 1930's mansion filled with beautiful antiques and only 10 minutes from the heart of Rotorua. Linking into Rotorua's spa heritage we have our own therapeutic health and wellness treatment room and a small guest gym. Other facilities include a tennis court, private beach, native bush walks and jetty. Maintenance advice: Peppers On The Point’s Lake Villa will be closed for external painting 18 April 17 – 31 May 17. There will be no unnecessary disturbances to guests during the work. The property apologise for any inconvenience caused. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers On The Point - Lake Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing