We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property in an amazing location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was such an amazing property, with incredible views. From the minute we arrived the service was impeccable as was the glass of champagne on arrival. The team also did an amazing job arranging activities during our stay including a helicopter ride & time at the Polynesian Spa. Dinner at the restaurant was also to die for as was the extensive wine list. Overall an incredible experience and one that I would go for time & time again. Besides the stunning location, the staff are just so lovely & welcoming that I couldn't ask for anything more for a short trip away.

Room Tip: Booked the lake cottage suite is incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2014

Absolutely delighted you enjoyed our stay and what we have on offer here :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 155 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014

We were delighted with the attention we received from the staff at Peppers from the moment we were greeted in the car park.
The location is just outstanding, one to rival all others.
The word luxurious does not even come close to the fantastic room that we had, it was out of this world - I felt like a Princess!
The food was delicious, a meal to remember for a very long time to come, it was so good we even went to congratulate the chef in the kitchen.
The attention to detail in every way was outstanding.

Room Tip: If you can afford the main suite, it is well worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2014

Absolutely delighted you enjoyed our stay and what we have on offer here :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband stayed at Peppers on the Point in September 2013 (at the same time the Americas cup was on). The locals were very passionate about the event!
We stayed in the Main Suite for 2 nights (at $725 AUS per night) so I was expecting an outstanding stay. The room itself is superb! The furniture, view and room features are first class. The only problem was the manager entertaining guests/ friends downstairs well into the night. The room we stayed in is right above the restaurant area and you could hear all the laughing, cheering (that got louder as the night got later!!). Despite this, the manager was most welcoming when we arrived and we loved the beautiful breakfast that is part buffet and you can also order a cooked breakfast from the menu.

Room Tip: Beware that all rooms are not the same at Peppers on the Point. This is a beautiful old house conver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GailChasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2014

We are happy you enjoyed your stay :) I did check and I wasn't hosting guests that night but yes did have a group in for dinner. I am normally in-house for guest welcome drinks so maybe thats where the confusion lays :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have just spent an amazing night a peppers, we stayed there for our sons wedding that was held at peppers, our rooms were gorgeous, the building is quirky with two doors to our room one the led outside the other one an internal door straight into the lodge, the bathrooms are vast with a huge spa bath, and a great shower with loads of sprinkler heads, the gardens are lovely, the little chapel is charming. The food was outstanding, nothing was too much of a problem. Would definatley recommend the place especially gorgeous for a wedding.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

WOW! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My new wife and I had spent the last 6 - 12 months working closely with the Peppers on the Point team (in particular Vanessa and Craig) to organise our wedding day. Vanessa was extremely helpful throughout the planning process and was always available to help answer our questions and to make our thoughts and ideas reality.

The lodge itself is a beautiful old homestead sitting on the pristine shores of Lake Rotorua. Forget the Rotorua 'smell' you get in Rotorua itself, you don't get this at all out at Peppers. We got married in the beautiful purpose built chapel with the large landscape window with the amazing view of the lake, then our guests sat in the sunny courtyard outside the lodge sipping Sangria while we worked our way around the varied and interesting landscapes around the lodge for our wedding photos.

The head chef Craig Martin helped us design our perfect wedding menu and the food really was exquisite. From the tuna or quail starter, to the beautiful market fish or beef main and the delectable dessert - our guests are still raving about the day, but particularly the food. To dine at Peppers on the Point would be a treat all in itself. The waitstaff were excellent and very attentive, and took great care of our guests.

The night continued on with some great dancing in the main lounge of the lodge and when the clock struck midnight, we finally had a chance to our enjoy the amazing Main Suite. The Main Suite is huge, with a panoramic view of the lake, and your own private balcony. The bed is HUGE, as is the bathtub. A fantastic room to relax and reminisce about the day that had just been.

Thanks again to all of the Pepper's staff - in particular Vanessa for her attention to detail, her patience and kindness, Craig for his fantastic foody mind and amazing cooking and Andrew for all of his help with set up and logisitcs.

We will definitely be back many times and would recommend Peppers on the Point to everyone. Whether it is just for a romantic dinner, a beautiful getaway, or for an amazing wedding - it is definitely worth every penny.

Room Tip: If you want to splash out - definitely go for the main suite. All rooms are beautiful - not all have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

WOW! Thank you. It is certainly a pleasure with weddings as it is something the bride & groom will remember for the rest of their lives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is one of the best property in rotorua. Though its a bit far off from the main city but this is an amazing place. Its quiet and peaceful. If in a group or family this is one of the best to stay in. Tennis courts to play. Its truly a home converted into guest house.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivekgolecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Lovely comments. We are only a 7 minute drive to the city so not sure about it being a bit far from the city :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is a very hard property to review because the accommodation options are so different from each other and would have a big impact on your overall experience. Its not a purpose built resort but rather a family home that has been converted into a guest house. I'll start by giving a big thumbs up to Andrew. As many others reported, he greeted us with a friendly smile and took us to our initial room, very nice welcome indeed. Its unfortunate this friendly approach was not universal amongst other staff.

We started off in the two bedroom apartment below the owners house. To be honest it was a little disappointing. As already reported its directly next to the tennis court, and by directly I mean about 1 m from the kitchen windows to the court fence. If someone was playing there, it would be impossible to ignore them or sleep. Also, this room only has a single bathroom which for 2 adults and 2 children was not ideal and the decoration is very dated; it needs renovating in my opinion and the court needs to be screened. Fortunately for us, the electricity did not work in the main bedroom so we were moved to the owners property as that was the only other accommodation that could hold a family. This was a different world from the room below; stunning views, more bathrooms than people, even has an internal elevator although I didn't want to risk using it. The only negative I could say about it would be its cost; at the price quoted to us you are getting close to places like Solitaire and even Huka Lodge both of which I have stayed at but too long ago to warrant reviews. Its sold as a room for multiple visitors, but then there is only one main bedroom with the others all perfectly decent but much smaller...difficult to see how you could evenly split a bill up there.

The big downside of Peppers is that as a guest house, its facilities are lacking. There is no pool, which did not bother us as we were out every day, but the restaurant facilities were not adequate. On the day we arrived there was a wedding which meant no food on site at all; good job we arrived early in the afternoon. On the other days, we ate on site. The food was good, although its a very limited menu but that is understandable due to the small number of guests that can stay. Children's food was not up to scratch. Simple pasta, chicken nuggets which very closely resembled fast food takeout, all at premium prices. Adult food was good; breakfast the best I have ever had anywhere - top marks there.

Other accommodation varied wildly; there appeared to be 2 cabin style buildings both of which had amazing views and spas, but which were quite exposed to other people wandering around. There is also accommodation in the original house which forms the main part of Peppers; speaking to guests staying there they said it was nothing special and from my observations could be subject to noise if people decided to hang around outside of an evening.

Its position on the lake is great. It goes directly to the waterfront with its private beach; the animals were very friendly especially when they saw my daughter carrying some apples for them (we asked permission to feed them first btw).

Overall it was a pleasant stay, but not one that provided any sort of wow factor, except for the views from the owners property but as I said the cost of staying there puts you into a different league and opens up opportunities I would choose in preference. Its a good location in Rotorua if that is where you are going, but its not the sort of place I would go to just for the sake of staying there unless it gets a makeover and the restaurant facilities are improved.

Room Tip: Either request a cabin or stay in the owners accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheClairvoyant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Very glad these guests enjoyed there stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
746 reviews
9 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#41 of 92 in Rotorua
185 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
412 reviews
9.4 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#23 of 92 in Rotorua
146 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua

Address: 214 Kawaha Point Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $477 - $1,207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star Exclusive luxury lodge surrounded by the sparkling waters of Lake Rotorua. Peppers on the Point offers guests the opportunity to experience the rich culture and geothermal wonders of Rotorua or simply relax and enjoy the tranquility of the stunning location. Once a Maori Pa site, the property is steeped in local history - of ancient battles, love and life - and looks out towards the historic Mokoia Island. The Lodge itself is a converted 1930's mansion filled with beautiful antiques and only 10 minutes from the heart of Rotorua. Linking into Rotorua's spa heritage we have our own therapeutic health and wellness treatment room and a small guest gym. Other facilities include a tennis court, private beach, native bush walks and jetty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers On The Point - Lake Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing