We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class ....all around!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We booked a last minute escape to Rotorua for the weekend and called a few hotels to see who had the optimal bedroom layout that allowed us to put our toddler down for the night but still enjoy the evening to ourselves. Kym took our call and talked us through the different room configurations. I went ahead with the booking largely on the back of Kyms friendly approach. A few hours later we received an email from Kym to say she had popped into the cottage she had recommended and explained the configuration which actually exceeded our expectations. Such refreshing, proactive customer service.

On arrival we were personally greeted by Andrew who took us on a quick tour of the facilities before showing us to our cottage.

The setting is simply spectacular. An old family estate home has been converted to a lodge. It's grand, dramatic and peaceful. The cottage itself was beautifully decorated in neutral tones, clean and beautifully laid out. Everything we wanted or could possibly need was on hand. We spent most of our time staring at the vastness of our Lake Rotorua view ...and patting the miniature ponies who hang around our deck. The resort has a small private beach on the lake for paddling and lovely grounds for exploring. We declined dinner to babysit but enjoyed our 'cooked to order served with a smile' breakfast in the morning.

If you're looking for pure escapism in the Rotorua area ...with just a five minute drive to the Skyline and Rainbow Springs ....this is is your spot.

We've visited Rotorua many times but this was the first time we've stayed out of the city centre and were rewarded with a very refreshing, scenic and peaceful experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZ_SandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Another very happy guest!
We often get asked to describe our property and enviroment over the phone so if you are a potential guest and are not sure of a few things then give us a call and we are more than happy to help where we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 155 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

The stunning outlook in a grand old family home is let down by lack of atmosphere and attention to detail.
The meal was disappointing in service, quality and presentation.The dietary requests at booking for no onion were totally ignored and the majority of the meal was onion containing and as it appeared that it was completely preprepared nothing could be altered. We were presented with the cheese platter with no accompanying bread or biscuits. The weather was warm and the air conditioner was on but it could not combat the stifling bedroom due to the slab heating left on by the cleaning staff. It took numerous phone calls from the waiter/sommelier (?only on site staff member) to remedy the problem. We felt it was not worth the money. We communicated our concerns the next day to the manager and were assured that it would be investigated but we have heard nothing since

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

It was unfortunate that the dietry request had not printed out on the reservation form and we sincerley apologised for that at the time. We now double check our reservation forms as a result of this.
Most people enjoy the feel of warm tiles under foot whilst in tiled bathrooms but perhaps not so enjoyable in summer so a new procedure is put in place for this.
Concerns where addressed the following morning from our guests to front office staff and where relaid to management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

It was a late decision on Valentines day to stay, we were greeted by Andrew on arrival and made to feel very welcome. Our room was upgraded at no extra cost and the views were nothing short of stunning.
We stayed in for dinner and the chef went out of his way to make special meals for the kids. Our dinners were wonderful with very attentive and friendly staff. After a great nights sleep we went downstairs to be greeted by a cooked to order breakfast.
A great place to stay if your are looking for peace and quite in a luxury setting.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

These are wonderful comments and what we strive for. Its all about the guest so we do our best to make them feel very welcome and at there home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was a new place for us to stay in Rotorua. Ususally we are in a business hotel for a conference.
We stayed in a one bedroom cottage just below the main lodge. It was fully selfcontained, had lovely views form both bedroom and sittingroom, sitting on a headland with a short stepp walk to the beach . there were nicely landscaped gardens and farm animals. the bed was excellent, there was a hot tb on the deck, good outdoor furniture and a lovely spot when the weather was good. Breakfast in the lodge was outstandlingly good-well done chef. We did not eat there otherwise as they were running weddings both days but the wedding party seemed pleased withe the food too.
downsides-tricky access by car-too narrow-but there is another cottage with better car access. Need a car to get to Rotorua but only 10 mins or so. We liked the situation. The weddings happening each afternoon /evening are a mixed blessing. It means that the very pleasant staff are occupied with them and there is noise at night and until we put a sign up, guests wandering around our area. Depends on how much peace and privacy one wants, so maybe check on this first.
In our room the DVD didn't work. Channels were limited on the TV and the room was smallish for extras whereas the bedroom was huge and gorgeous.

overall we very much enjoyed this place and would definitely go again. If there are weddings on ask them to put a privacy notice up and get some earplugs.

Room Tip: nice big rooms in the lodge upstairs and both cottages very comfortable. all would have outstanding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stellamAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Very happy our guests enjoyed there stay!
One note: It is helpful to be told of minor issues like the oner here regarding the dvd player at the time guests are inhouse so we can rectify it and not read about it later. Digital TV now so plenty of channels on the telly (not that you come her to watch TV)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Spent two nights in one bed room appartment

The not so good
- Room design is pretty standard
- Hashtray outside on the terrace was full (we are non smokers)
- It was only two nights

The good
- Appartment is huge and so is the bathroom
- Nice spa in the bathroom
- The view
- Very friendly staff

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank axelgfrsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Yuk! Ashtrays! Now on housekeeping list to clear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Peppers on the Point. Vanessa greeted us with two sparkling glasses of champagne. We were there to celebrate our birthdays and were upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite. What a treat! Private balcony overlooking the lake and beautifully appointed.

Andrew was a wonderful host during our stay and was super helpful with ideas of how to spend our days. Breakfast was fabulous too!

Thank you to Andrew, Vanessa and the entire staff for wonderful memories!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeckyM410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Great!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We flew in to NZ and started our road trip from Auckland...up the east coast to Cape Reinga and down the west coast and back thru Auckland down to Rotorua. Our accommodation was cheap and cheerful all the way. We happened upon Peppers, booked for one night and we are still here two days later. The two bed villa is superb and the views are stunning. Special thanks to duty manager, Kym O'Mahony. It is rare to meet such a genuinely nice and helpful person! We will certainly return in the future.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Baurbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Great to hear guests are having such a wonderful time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
745 reviews
9 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#42 of 92 in Rotorua
185 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
412 reviews
9.4 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#24 of 92 in Rotorua
146 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua

Address: 214 Kawaha Point Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $475 - $1,200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star Exclusive luxury lodge surrounded by the sparkling waters of Lake Rotorua. Peppers on the Point offers guests the opportunity to experience the rich culture and geothermal wonders of Rotorua or simply relax and enjoy the tranquility of the stunning location. Once a Maori Pa site, the property is steeped in local history - of ancient battles, love and life - and looks out towards the historic Mokoia Island. The Lodge itself is a converted 1930's mansion filled with beautiful antiques and only 10 minutes from the heart of Rotorua. Linking into Rotorua's spa heritage we have our own therapeutic health and wellness treatment room and a small guest gym. Other facilities include a tennis court, private beach, native bush walks and jetty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers On The Point - Lake Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing