We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Ranked #22 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We have been travelling round Dubai, Australia and New Zealand for the last four months, and in that time we have stayed in some really beautiful places, but in our opinion this was the best of all.

We booked into the Cottage suite which is simply stunning. There is plenty of accommodation space as you would expect, and it is all tastefully decorated. There is a large sliding glass door to the outside balcony, and a simply breathtaking view of the lake. Oh and there is a hot tub on the balcony.

The whole setting is wonderful, there is a little Chapel, which if I wasn't already married I would definitely want to get married there.

I really loved the place as you can tell by my review, it is reasonably close to Rotorua centre, but still a few kilometres.

My only reservation is the evening meal, which is nice, but not a lot of choice, and they don't seem to push it enough, hence not a lot of atmosphere in the dining room in the evening, and with Christmas Carols being played in February they need to sack the DJ.

Room Tip: If you want to make a special night of it, then definitely book the Cottage Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bingopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Fantastic!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 150 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2011

After spending two and half weeks in Australia and New Zealand my wife and I were ready for some rest and relaxing. We booked the villa apartment for four nights and had a great time. David greeted us and showed us to the apartment which is spacious, especially the bathroom. Large spa tub, spa shower, and all amenities one would need. We cooked dinner every night and felt like we were at home. If you are looking for something close to city center this is not the place as you will have to drive less than 10 minutes to city center. If you plan on staying in the city you will smell sulphur during your stay due to the hot springs throughout town. No sulphur smell at Peppers. Another plus is free Internet which is rare in NZ. There are also some friendly animals who reside on the lakeside grounds, donkeys, sheep, small horses, and an alpaca. David also arranged a guide for a day of fly fishing if that is your thing. Spend the money ($300 a night), it is worth it. We spent $200 a night for a night at a Bella Vista chain hotel in another city and after Internet charges and other extras the price was about the same.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbrewco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Cant beat Free Wi-Fi!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We were thrilled with our stay at Peppers. From the warm welcome we received, to the tranquil setting of our lodge with the warm and inviting decor, to the incredible views and gorgeous grounds, Peppers on the Point was a fantastic choice for our time in Rotorua. The staff were absolutely remarkable, attentive, kind, and accommodating. They made the whole experience even better by making great suggestions for daytime activities that fit our personalities and level of adventure and ensuring we could enjoy ourselves and feel at home. I only wish we did not have to leave. The breakfasts and dinners we enjoyed were delicious, fresh, cooked perfectly, and presented very tastefully. We also enjoyed meeting the other guests staying at the lodge and had a great time discussing our adventures in New Zealand. If you are stopping in Rotorua, you must make plans to stay at Peppers. It is romantic, the people are very friendly, and you'll feel at home. Oh, and loved the lodge animals - the ponies, sheep, donkeys, and lamas, and the cat, and Sam the dog!

Room Tip: The lakeside villa is amazing! Spectacular views - and you feel like you have your own home right o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Awesome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I stumbled onto this resort on Expeida and while the rate was moderate the pictures were amazing. We were delighted with the experience.

The villas are modern, beautifully appointed and away from the hustle and bustle of town. Our host, David, was at our beck and call, polished and professional and set up tours and a plane ride where we were picked up right at the property.

The views were stunning and the team helpful. We felt like celebrities and would love to return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Felt like celebrities! Thats just fantastic!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I've been meaning to write a review for Peppers on the Point for sometime now. I stayed here in November 2010 for three night while on honeymoon to New Zealand. We had such a lovely stay and it was one of the highlights of our honeymoon overall. We were welcomed by David on arrival. I knew instantly that we weren't the couple he had been expecting but he didn't flinch - he didn't make us feel unwelcome instead gave us a tour. It had turned out that my booking had processed fully before we left for our honeymoon and in during our travels the booking was cancelled. However he sorted it out in two seconds and we weren't made to feel unwanted. The setting is simply stunning. We had what can only be decribed as one of the most romantic, intimate dining experiences here where we were served the most delicious food overlooking the sun set. This is a gem of a hotel - stay here if your looking for something special.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aine_f2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJSGM, General Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Thanks for your review, you bought a smile to my face!. I am thrilled that we were one of the highlights of your honeymoon. We look forward to you returning downunder one day. In the meantime you are able to follow us on Facebook. Best regards David
David Smail
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Just spent a girls weekend away at Peppers on the Point Rotorua. This beautiful, well maintained lodge in an absolutely stunning location. Unwinding here was not a problem - so tranquil with stunning views over the lake and native birds singing in the surrounding trees its hard to believe that the main road was only minutes away. The service we received was outstanding. The staff were extremely attentive and friendly without being obtrusive. Our room was huge and fabulous - more stunning lake views, large bathroom with spa bath, shower and heated floor and a separate sitting area with tv and DVD - the upstairs library contains a wide variety of books and DVD's.
The beautiful little stone chapel with panoramic window framing views of the lake would be an ideal place to get married or renew your vows. We had a fabulous, relaxing weekend and I can't wait to return with my husband.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJSGM, General Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Thanks for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to your next visit.
David
David Smail
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Absolutely fantastic service and accomodation and the food was to die for. Thank you so much for a wonderful experience. It was the best tonic ever!

One thing that would enhance this experience would be more tea bags and more milk supplied daily.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebsCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJSGM, Front Office Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Thank you for your comments- we are glad you enjoyed your stay and especially your meals. We have noted more tea and milk to be supplied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
9.0 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#42 of 92 in Rotorua
185 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
410 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#24 of 92 in Rotorua
143 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
0.1 mi away
Koura Lodge
Koura Lodge
#9 of 52 in Rotorua
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua

Address: 214 Kawaha Point Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $487 - $1,065 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star Exclusive luxury lodge surrounded by the sparkling waters of Lake Rotorua. Peppers on the Point offers guests the opportunity to experience the rich culture and geothermal wonders of Rotorua or simply relax and enjoy the tranquility of the stunning location. Once a Maori Pa site, the property is steeped in local history - of ancient battles, love and life - and looks out towards the historic Mokoia Island. The Lodge itself is a converted 1930's mansion filled with beautiful antiques and only 10 minutes from the heart of Rotorua. Linking into Rotorua's spa heritage we have our own therapeutic health and wellness treatment room and a small guest gym. Other facilities include a tennis court, private beach, native bush walks and jetty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers On The Point - Lake Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing