We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
Ranked #72 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Canberra
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good.”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We booked the penthouse through a last minute accommodation website and thought we might end up staying in the attic of a couple called Jack and Di. Instead we were treated to a large penthouse apartment with excellent facilities, including a lounge suite that probably seated 10. One wall had some nice lead-light windows, and from the sizable balcony the view of Lake Rotorua was amazing, looking out onto a few houses in Ohinemutu and the beautiful St Faith's Church. Some reviewers mentioned it was out of town, but "out of town" meant a 2 minute drive or a 15 minute walk. The only bad part of the location is you have to walk up a hill to get back to it from town. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: This is self-service apartment so don't expect anyone to book you in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tas666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    25
    14
    9
    10
See reviews for
5
36
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

From the moment I started bombarding Di and Candace with emails, months before we arrived, we had great service. We stayed in a studio in the motel, there are various options such as self contained accommodation but we were as happy as sand boys with what we booked - open the blind in the morning and there was the lake. We could cater for ourselves and be entirely self contained. We chose to be outside Rotorua to avoid the sulphur fumes, but the centre is only a 10 minute easy trip in and the quality of sleep and air is great. OK we had great weather which always adds to an experience but it was magic to take a glass of wine each evening to a seat overlooking the lake. There were kayaks we could have used, but didn't! Our studio was clean and comfortable, a bit more draw space would have been good but we have stayed in places with far less. There was a laundry with outdoor dryer as well as a tumble dryer. At the back was a great area for kids to play (not that we had any!) including a trampoline. It suited our budget, I think sometimes people expect 5 star for a 2 star price. We were really loath to leave and would stay again at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We booked the entire lakeview lodge with penthouse and studio suite. This gave us 5 bedrooms with each having their own bathroom or shower room. The lodge has a large dining area and sitting area. It also has an outdoor deck with tables and chairs. The spa has been removed. Off the deck is a shed with a washing machine and dryer. Check in is done over the phone which is located down at the door of the lodge. So for those booking only the penthouse or studio you need to do this at the door of the lodge. The decide which phone number you will call as there are 3 that are for enquiries or check in. The lodge has 3 bedrroms. The largest one has a single bed/divan also. It has a large bathroom with a bath and the shower in the bath. No rails for balance when climbing in though. The bath/shower runs alongside the window so a shower curtain has been put in front of the window to protect it from water and I guess for privacy. There is a seperate toilet. There was a fan, but no heater and the rooms we quite cold this time of year. The 2nd bedroom has a double bed, no heater, and a ensuite/shower room. I say shower room as only a shower curtain divides the shower from the rest of the ensuite. Everything gets wet when showering. There was a fan.The 3rd bedroom has 2 singles a small fan heater and it also has a shower room with NO shower curtain. Again, the toilet, basin etc all gets wet when showering. The communal area that is shared if only booking one room, was quite large. They supplied a continental breakfast. Loads of milk, cereal and frozen bread. There was also coffee, tea sugar. Those in the lodge were very comfortable as they were all friends. I can see though if you were booking only one room then it may be harder sharing with people especially if the rooms are cold and the others do not want the heater on. The penthouse is really nice. It does have a door off the kitchen which turned out to be the bathroom, although as our friends were sitting and eating down stairs with us that did not bother them. They had a fan and a small heater. This was a comfortable apartment style room, however the door does run straight off the car park but as the apartment is set towards the back it did not worry our friends. The studio room was the least attractive to our group. The couple that stayed in there found it very cold. They felt like they were in a garage as it does llok like it has been converted from a garage. Their door with the bed just behind it runs straight off the car park which is only feet from the footpath and they found it could be noisy. This room like the penthouse also had the basic coffee and tea etc. The penthouse had the continental breakfast also but the studio did not. So if you book this alone, it is more a motel room and has no fridge! So no milk either. As we were a big group this was ok, but if you book this alone you may be disappointed. I wish I took a photo of the bathroom as it had the kitchenette in the bathroom, you boiled your kettle behind the shower. The shower was also about 30cm off the floor. It looked quite odd. We had a good stay as we booked te entire lodge. So if you plan to stay here, I suggest booking it all, or atleast the lodge with its 3 rooms. The penthouse is totally fine for a couple. The studio is probably the least attractive and therefore I think you would be better in a motel. Some points about the rooms and area - Every room has an amazing bed. For the price we paid we were amazed how wonderfully comfy we were and even one day some more blankets were dropped off. Each bathroom needs an exhaust fan. Pillows were also amazing. A full length mirror would be good in the rooms and the twin room needs a shower curtain. One funny thing was we needed to buy toilet rools as for 5 bathrooms there was only 2 spare rolls. The whole place was clean which if you have good beds and clean environment you can deal with almost anything, although the cold rooms we hard for some. The views from here were gorgeous. We could walk to catch the jet boat, it was a short car trip to skyline where we had an amazing buffet dinner and a ride on the gondola and the Tamaki Maori village picked us up in a bus from the door for our maori experience. The town is close by. Rotorua is beautiful (yes it smells) but worth a visit. If in a group I highly recommend Jack and Di's lakeview penthouse and lodge but not the studio.

Room Tip: The lodge booked entirely is fantastic. May be uncomfy sharing it. The studio is not a good option u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neds0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Had a great stay here with partner and 4 kids. Incredibly clean, super-friendly and helpful. Loved kayaking on lake. Location a little bit of a distance from Rotorua but y'know hat has is advantages too! Really good medium budget place

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazzieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Cheap, basic accommodation that felt like it was trying too hard. Upstairs rooms are noisy being next to the road and we had a combined bathroom and kitchen in one - gross! It was cold at night too.

Downstairs rooms share a common room and kitchen and are much more cosy. Deck and hot tub are nice touches.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuttersNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Looking for accommodation in Rotorua and mistakenly did not bother to check reviews . Big error , any positive reviews belong to Jack or Di' very close relatives. Shocker - Reception a phone at front door . Rooms just OK . Shower had no plinth , hence water flooded toilet, shower area OHS issue ! Breakfast misrepresented , was actually frozen bread and cereals . Fresh fruit was overripe banana and a few other small fruit slelections. SPA so liberally described was plastic unclean and slimy. All in all in uninviting, unattended and unattractive.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Cob webs on door to welcome you. Jack and Di live nowhere close ( unseen) needs a good facelift on outside, looks unloved. Terrace spa is a cheap blow up type - looks a health risk. Breakfast - make it yourself - cereal or frozen bread, fresh fruit was not very fresh. If this had been 60 or 70 night It would have been ok but at 124.50 it was very overpriced. Misrepresented in website.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenysperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#32 of 92 in Rotorua
765 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#21 of 92 in Rotorua
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Rock Thermal Motel
Red Rock Thermal Motel
#20 of 92 in Rotorua
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation

Property: Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
Address: 21 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Jack & Di's Lake View Accommodation)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unforgettable Rotorua Lake View Accommodation. Welcome to Diana's Place, where we are delighted to offer you two unique holiday accommodation options situated in stunning Lake Rotorua locations on the North Island of New Zealand. Whether you are planning a romantic getaway, a trip with family and friends, or a corporate retreat, we can offer the accommodation you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack & Di`s Lake View Hotel Rotorua
Jack And Di`s Lake View Accommodation
Jack Dis Lake View Accommodation

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing