We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ticks all the boxes for a big family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
Ranked #72 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes for a big family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Had a great stay here with partner and 4 kids. Incredibly clean, super-friendly and helpful. Loved kayaking on lake. Location a little bit of a distance from Rotorua but y'know hat has is advantages too! Really good medium budget place

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CazzieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    25
    14
    9
    10
See reviews for
5
36
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Cheap, basic accommodation that felt like it was trying too hard. Upstairs rooms are noisy being next to the road and we had a combined bathroom and kitchen in one - gross! It was cold at night too.

Downstairs rooms share a common room and kitchen and are much more cosy. Deck and hot tub are nice touches.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuttersNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Looking for accommodation in Rotorua and mistakenly did not bother to check reviews . Big error , any positive reviews belong to Jack or Di' very close relatives. Shocker - Reception a phone at front door . Rooms just OK . Shower had no plinth , hence water flooded toilet, shower area OHS issue ! Breakfast misrepresented , was actually frozen bread and cereals . Fresh fruit was overripe banana and a few other small fruit slelections. SPA so liberally described was plastic unclean and slimy. All in all in uninviting, unattended and unattractive.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Cob webs on door to welcome you. Jack and Di live nowhere close ( unseen) needs a good facelift on outside, looks unloved. Terrace spa is a cheap blow up type - looks a health risk. Breakfast - make it yourself - cereal or frozen bread, fresh fruit was not very fresh. If this had been 60 or 70 night It would have been ok but at 124.50 it was very overpriced. Misrepresented in website.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenysperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed in the City King Studio, and, similar to what others have said, the first thing we noticed is that the door to the unit opens directly onto the street at street level and is only a few metres from a busy road. Parking is directly outside the door (literally), but guests from other units in the building may already be parked there.

The room was clean and only a few minutes walk to Lake and town centre, albeit with no outloook to either feature.

While clean and not badly decorated, the room was very dark and feels closed in. The bathroom and ktchenette are included in one small room which felt odd. There is no DVD player, but a paid wireless internet hotspot is available. It felt a little impersonal to check-in through the phone when we arrived; and when i went to check-out I spoke to someone (?) through a narrow door-way opening (she did not take the trouble to open the door all the way to speak to me).

It was adequate for one night, but next time I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SquirrelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

We arrived after not a particularly hot day to a room that was absolutely roasting. It's obviously a problem because there is a fan supplied. We had to have the front door open, leading directly onto the street, to cool it. This is neither private nor secure.

Accommodation consists of two rooms, the roasting sitting/ bedroom. The other and I kid you not is the toilet, shower and 'kitchen' . Even in the most remote parts I have travelled they manage to keep the food preparation in a separate room if indoors or space if outdoors.

It was clean but cleanliness on it's own is not enough.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank united33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

I wish I had trusted the negative reviews but live and learn-this was the only bad place we stayed at during our stay in an otherwise unbelievable vacation to NZ! We stayed 2 nights in the penthouse accommodation. The pros: spacious, large view deck, 3 minute walk to the lake, interesting neighborhood with active geothermal activity (boiling water bubbling from the ground and sulphur-laden fumaroles), street parking, clean kitchen with basic breakfast supplies, responsive manager on duty. Negatives: except for the kitchen this place was NOT clean: cobwebs, dust, ashtray on deck full of ashes, large (10" in diameter) stain on carpeting, ratty futon where our son had to sleep, duvet cover and pillowcases had not been changed from prior guests (basic bed linens were clean though), old towel (clean but with a large stain) in the bathroom, no A/C but 2 good fans-unfortunately you have to sleep with the windows open and since there is so much geothermal activity in the neighborhood you are frequently hit with the intense smell of sulphur during the night (nauseating)!! I contacted the manager via phone and she showed up with 30 minutes with clean pillowcases but she did not have an extra duvet...She toured the apartment and acknowledged my concerns and promised a thorough cleaning which did happen the next day. The rug stains of course were still there because that will require a professional cleaning.
Here are some wonderful places I can recommend without any reservation:
Auckland--Celestion-Waldorf Apartments (clean, spacious, hip, centrally located, great downtown views, great rates)
Wellington-- Holiday Inn (yes, that's right. We stayed in a junior suite with a washer and dryer. Clean, nice furnishings, you can walk to the main sites, great rates)
Punakaiki--Hydrangea Cottage (clean, large, cool bathroom, very private, wonderful deck with ocean views and wildlife)
Queenstown--Pounamu Apartments (we travel a lot and this place ranks in the top 5 places ever-I will be writing a separate review for them. This place was spotless, huge, ultramodern/3 flat screen TVs that we didn't turn on :), amazing manager/concierge service and the BEST VIEW EVER of the moutains and Lake Wakatipu)
Dunedin--Southern Cross (typical, well established, high end hotel with excellent concierge service BUT outrageous internet service fees $38 NZ dollars/day)
I hope this helps!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ompseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#47 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.6 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
2.9 mi away
Cedarwood Lakeside
Cedarwood Lakeside
#16 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ledwich Lodge Motel
Ledwich Lodge Motel
#61 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation

Property: Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
Address: 21 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Jack & Di's Lake View Accommodation)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unforgettable Rotorua Lake View Accommodation. Welcome to Diana's Place, where we are delighted to offer you two unique holiday accommodation options situated in stunning Lake Rotorua locations on the North Island of New Zealand. Whether you are planning a romantic getaway, a trip with family and friends, or a corporate retreat, we can offer the accommodation you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack & Di`s Lake View Hotel Rotorua
Jack And Di`s Lake View Accommodation
Jack Dis Lake View Accommodation

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing