We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must Do in Rotorua”

Happy Ewe Cycle Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Happy Ewe Cycle Tours provide a guided bicycle adventure around central Rotorua. We ride at a leisurely pace to 27 key historical, geothermal and cultural sights. With no hills to climb and very little traffic to navigate our beach cruisers will keep you comfortable as you enjoy the many opportunities to take photos.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“A Must Do in Rotorua”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Laughs, laughs and more laughs is what I will remember most about this tour. As well as Roger's wealth of knowledge and the passion he has for this amazing town. The three hours went by in the blink of an eye. Had a relaxing time while being educated about Rotorua. I can recommend this to anybody and everybody!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank deklerkclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    590
    22
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
“A tour that you must do!”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We didn't have long in Rotorua so this was the perfect way to orientate ourselves and see all of the hidden cultural landmarks that make this town so special. Roger makes this tour fun, laid back and interesting. Definitely recommend it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank pippa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Amazing tour given by a top guide! A must do!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

If your looking for a unique way to explore the town off the beaten track, then I would highly recommend this tour! Its, fun, informative, chilled out, and full of hidden gems of Rotorua that we would never have seen had we not booked the tour.

And to top it off, Roger has to be one of the best tour guides I have experienced on my travels around the world! He is full of local knowledge and shares this with you perfectly. He clearly loves his job as his passion for the town and his love for meeting new people really shines through and makes the tour less commercialised and more personalised.

Thanks again Roger, had an amazing time and got some great photo's!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JTS89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Really informative”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

As a tall chap, I was a little worried if I'd fit the bikes. There's not many bikes I actually fit. But Roger had plenty, including one that suited me down to the ground, and riding it was rather like riding a chopper as a kid!

The tour itself was relaxed, fun and informative, and I'd happily recommend it to anyone. Excellent fun!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Happy me@ Happy Ewe”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Because of the thunderstorm that threatened to force everyone in Rotorua indoors, Roger gave us a call beforehand to see if we wanted to cancel. We thought about it and decided not to. We've never done a cycle tour in torrential rain before, and neither has Roger ... so it was going to be an experience for everyone involved.

Anyway, super glad that we didn't cancel because the weather was very cooperative. It only really stopped us once in the entire 3 hours. Most times, the rain meant that the weather was nice and cool and that when the sun came out and hit the little droplets of water in the air, our surroundings became a cornucopia of light and colour ... absolutely breath-taking!

Apart from that, the tour itself was very interesting and educational. We learnt so much about the history, fauna and flora of Rotorua (and in a sense, New Zealand). However, the real gem of this tour is Roger's insightful knowledge about the hidden areas of Rotorua. A visitor will never venture out to these places ... heck, a local might not even know of them ... but Roger does! And he will take you there to marvel at the natural beauty that is Rotorua!

This tour will be perfect for people who like:
- something off the beaten track
- something different and less commercialised
- eco tourism
- not too much physical activity
- nature
- family fun
- personalised service
- local culture and history

Ps. For people worried about being on a bike ... don't worry, the ride is as fast or as slow as you need it to be, and Roger is great at accommodating people's abilities.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank krebs1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Ewe Cycle Tours also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Happy Ewe Cycle Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing