We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Leonardo's Pure Italian
Ranked #13 of 225 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Leonardo's is a small, family owned restaurant, Yuka and Leo have been in hospitality for more than 20 years all together. Our Menu is quite small only because we work only with the freshest products possible. For the same reason we change our menu very often, to try new flavours and recipe. The restaurant is open for dinner 7 nights a week.
Rotorua, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Love this place”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The food and the service were fantastic just loved the whole experience. The were also very helpful in helping choose the amount of food for the group of people that were there. It pays to book as you may miss out.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank foodprincess2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hi there, thank you so much for your feedback, glad you enjoyed your experience with us. Looking forward to have you here again. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    621
    226
    95
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well yes, it is OK”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We love Italian, so when we saw such a large number of amazing reviews for this restaurant, we jumped at the chance, dropped in that afternoon and made a booking for later that same evening. This is a smallish restaurant and you really need to book – the staff can’t work miracles in finding you a seat that is simply not there. Don’t be put off by the small menu, there is really plenty of choice. While the food was good, even adventurous, they let themselves down by not getting a few of the basics right. In our case, in the pasta dish, we got dollops of uncooked pasta. How does this get as far as the customers plate? Yes, I could have complained, it is a bit late though and it spoiled a good meal. We also found the service not brilliant mainly from one waiter, who frankly might be better off in another industry – no good spending the night apologizing for a host of minor things that could have been avoided. From other reviews, that waiter appears to still have a job there. In summary, this is undoubtedly a good restaurant the vast majority of the time. It is not a great restaurant and I think there is a huge effort put into maintaining their web site reviews, such as this one. The restaurant fills every night, and a lot of customers obviously love it. So if you go, be prepared for a good night out and not necessarily a great one.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BruceMcBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi there, thank you so much for your time on writing this review. I am sorry you didn't fully enjoyed your evening with us, we always try to do our best to make the experience, an amazing experience. We didn't succeed this time, about the pasta, you know our pasta is make fresh daily and it honestly takes 30seconds to cook, so that means that 5 seconds more or less would change everything, as humans we make mistake, but if you would have said something you would have see the effort that we put on fixing problems. About you waiter, I don't really know what happen there, if you care to contact me on my email (nardone@live.it), I would love to discuss with you this matter. Thank you again, take care for now, looking forward to your answer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“YUMMY!!!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

the staff are so friendly and the food is amazing, i have been 3 or 4 times now and every time i order something different and every time i love it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Narisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you so much, looking forward to have you here again for the 5th time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Leonardos is a wonderful place to dine if you prefer a quieter atmosphere, compared to some of these bigger restaurants, it feels more homely and loved. Food was fantastic really enjoyed everything we ordered, came out hot and melted in your mouth, full of delicous flavours, service was perfect and friendly. Will definitely be returning

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manda129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi there, thank you for this review, I promise next time around to transform it in a 5 stars experience. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

First time to eat at this restaurant. We ordered starter very good amount & selection of bread and dips.
I had lamb, good amount of food, very yummy.
Partner had carbonara, yum but would of like a bit more on plate.
Desert was tiramisu and something similar to cream brule.. both delicious, had to share.
Also had a glass of wine each total $110, would definitely eat here again.

Helpful?
Thank kim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi Kim, awesome review, thank you. We took on board your suggestion, and you will see next time around you will have a stars experience. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leonardo's Pure Italian also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Leonardo's Pure Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing