We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserves to be top rated”

Leonardo's Pure Italian
Ranked #13 of 220 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Leonardo's is a small, family owned restaurant, Yuka and Leo have been in hospitality for more than 20 years all together. Our Menu is quite small only because we work only with the freshest products possible. For the same reason we change our menu very often, to try new flavours and recipe. The restaurant is open for dinner 7 nights a week.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
249 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Deserves to be top rated”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

How is it possible for a small restaurant to be the best in town? Credit Leonardo, a whirling mass off energy, good cheer and great cooking. We had one of our best meals ever. Leonardo happily agreed to cook a trout I caught...and cooked it to perfection. We added scrumptiously prepared baked vegetables, wonderful angel hair pasta and a tiramiso that was world class. If you find yourself in Rotorua go to Leonardos. It will make your day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joerussin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hi there, thank you so much for your review, I am so glad you enjoyed the trout. you did the hard job though...you caught it ;). I will see you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    613
    222
    92
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
438 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Leonardo'a is a small, but rather charming restaurant serving terrific food.

Tables are crowded into the small premise which is dominated by the kitchen area right in the middle. You can see the chefs - and they can keep an eye on you. We noticed them checking our table to determine when to start cooking the mains. It's a very lively, and a bit noisy, atmosphere.

Our meal began with a selection of breads and dips - 3 breads and 4 dips (black olive, olive oil and balsamic and two different pestos) Both the breads and the dips were excellent We followed with a pasta and an onion soup. The pasta was a delightfully light and flavoursome dish. The onion soup was as good as any my wife has tried.

Prices are reasonable (around $90 for 2 including 2 glasses of wine) and the service excellent.

Overall, a good night, a great meal. If we were staying longer n Rotorua, we would be back again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandJudy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hi there, thank you for this review about us. We are all glad you and your wife enjoyed your evening with us. I promise next time you will be around we will transform that 4 star to a 5 stars. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaeo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Wow I don't think I could have picked a better restaurant! Coming from Canada I no longer felt foreign! Everyone had an accent and I loved it! The beautiful owner came out and said hello! Very personal I loved it! The food was amazing the desert amazing! The only problem I had was having to ask for my napkin. But seriously everyone forgets! 5 stars by far! Price was perfect and location was nice! Great atmosphere! This restaurant lives up to its rating! RECOMMENDED go go go! :)

Helpful?
Thank akovinich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hi Akovinich, thank you so much for your time and writing this review about us. Yes everyone has a different accent, we are like a big multicultural family. Glad you enjoyed it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

I have dinned at Leonardo's on several ocassions. The meal and service is always outstanding. The restaurant has a charming family run intimate and authentic feel. It can be busy, but worth the wait, or making a booking! Recommend the Antipasto platter, superb.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanT2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hi there, thank you so much for spending time and writing this beautiful review about us. Looking forward to have you here dining with us again. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We got to Rotorua late in the afternoon and immediately went on a canopy tour. Those on our tour said Leonardo's was the best restaurant in Rotorua, but that we would definitely not get in without a reservation. Leonardo's was across the street from our hotel, so we walked over, fairly late, and were seated right away! The owner/chef makes his own pasta, which makes for a very fresh menu. The food was delicious!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Betsy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hi there, thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your evening with us, and glad we could sit you right away. Looking forward to have you here again. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leonardo's Pure Italian also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Leonardo's Pure Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing