We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian Gem”

Leonardo's Pure Italian
Ranked #29 of 257 Restaurants in Rotorua
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Leonardo's is a small, family owned restaurant, Yuka and Leo have been in hospitality for more than 20 years all together. Our Menu is quite small only because we work only with the freshest products possible. For the same reason we change our menu very often, to try new flavours and recipe. The restaurant is open for dinner 7 nights a week.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Brilliant authentic Italian food and wine experience, friendly service One of Rotorua's best kept secrets tuck away on Pukaki Street keep it up Leonardo's. I only wish some of the restaurants on Eat Streat were as good

Thank Noreen958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Hi there, thank you so much for those beautiful words. I promise we will keep up with the good works. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

856 - 860 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

Thanks so much Leo and Yuka! Everything was wonderful! It was amazing to be able to have a grown-up dinner with two small kids in tow, the pasta is as good as Grandma's, they reckon! (Which is a HUGE compliment from them!) We felt very well taken care of, and the food is ALWAYS perfection. x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 4shrimpys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you so much, specially when someone gives us a second good review, it means a lot to us. I will see you for the third one ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Located just around the corner from "eat street", this busy little Italian bistro style restaurant is a cute little spot that provides very friendly attentive service. Very limited menu but that is not the problem - the problem is that the food is very ordinary. Decent and interesting wine list and food and wine both very reasonably priced.

Thank SpikeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Hi there, thank you for your time on writing this review about us. I am so sorry you didn't like our food, but honestly the whole team doesn't know what else to do to please you. More than making fresh everything everyday, pastas, breads, sauces, using only the prime and freshest products possible. This feedback is very unfair, compared with the amount of job that goes I am more than happy to discuss with you about this matter, if you could please contact me at the restaurant it would be so much appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Full to the door buzzing , very warm welcome. Simple setting, without pretence.
Antipasto for the table amazing and filling. Mains 2 whole snapper great, hot chicken fine but could have done with a little extra embellishments ,lamb good but again could have done with more veg.
Desert nice but not extraordinary.
Will we be back
Absolutely

Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Hi there, thank you so much for your review. All the criticisms are taken on board, and I promise next time you will be around we will transform a 4 stars to a stars. Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Rarely do you find such a quint, passionate restaurant in a tourist destination like this. This place has it all.... Great service delivered by a small team, very timely considering the effort, beautifully and well worth the money. Just good honest Italian food that we'll be making the journey from Auckland just for a Sat night meal. Great work guys, keep up the good work!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Hi there, thank you so much for your time writing this review about us. in Auckland you have some beautiful restaurants and a compliment coming from someone living there is always a blast. I promise we will keep it up, I will see you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leonardo's Pure Italian also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Leonardo's Pure Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing