We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely brilliant”

Leonardo's Pure Italian
Ranked #13 of 223 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Leonardo's is a small, family owned restaurant, Yuka and Leo have been in hospitality for more than 20 years all together. Our Menu is quite small only because we work only with the freshest products possible. For the same reason we change our menu very often, to try new flavours and recipe. The restaurant is open for dinner 7 nights a week.
Rotorua
1 review
“absolutely brilliant”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We are locals and had the best dinner ever at Leonardo's. Great service, great company, great food. REAL ITALIAN!!! Thanks Leonardo and YUka for a great evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hi there, thank you so much for coming to us, we are so glad you enjoyed your evening with us, we really love when locals are happy, we are here for you guys. See you sometimes soon. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    618
    225
    94
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic experience. The food was top class (yet very under priced considering the quality). For starters I had an onion soup and my friend had a mozzarella salad both of which were phenomenal... For mains I had a steak and she had gnocchi, which were both a very good size. The decor is very authentic and homey, and the service great and very knowledgable...

Based on my experience of rotorua restaurants it is by far the best...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AddictedT0Luxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hi there, thank you so much for taking time ad write this beautiful review. Looking forward to have you again at our little place. take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding flavors with fresh ingredients”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

As of this review (November 2013) Leonardo's has only been open for 4 months but already has a well-deserved reputation as one of the best in Rotorua. My wife and I had a tuna carpaccio appetizer and capellini with mussels and anchovies as a main course. Everything was excellent, even outstanding. Leonardo Baldi (owner and manager) attended to us personally, along with his charming wife who serves as waitress.

The place is *very* small so be sure to make reservations. The upside is that you get a lot of personal attention from both Leonardo and his wife, making the experience and friendly and even intimate one on top of the great food.

Prices are reasonable by local standards: an appetizer, two main courses, two glasses of wine, one after-dinner drink and one dessert came to about 100 NZD. Well worth a visit, really sublime food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geosync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Hi there, I have got not much to say about the review, just a big giant "thank you". as you said is a small restaurant and that is probably one of the biggest reason why we love that place. Just the 2 of us (Yuka an I) can look after the entire premise, adding our personal touch. Thanks to Dean (head chef) and Daniel (sous chef) always providing outstanding food. See you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“The best restaurant in Rotorua”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

From the moment we stepped in we were in heaven. The service and atmosphere was amazing. The food was incredible having just returned from Italy I had high expectations. But Leonardos surpassed all of them! Their knowledge of food is superior. Loved every bite. Service was impeccable. I could not fault one thing. Wine list was fab !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lousandy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Hi there, thank you so much for your words. We are so glad we met your high expectations, what we did, we kept the recipe, simple, but full of flavour, same at some "osteria" in Tuscany. Plus I am using my grandma's recipe, so it is real traditional food from home. See you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapua
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Italian at its best”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

A very small unassuming restaurant a little hidden away....... but wow! The food was so fresh and very well cooked. It is true rustic italian. We had the capaccio of tuna to start and then the whole snapper. Served in a traditional way and it was perfect. We then had the tiramisu which was the best one I have ever had! When Leonardo says it is his grandmothers recipe it just must be true! I have lived in Italy and spent a week in Rome on a cookery course and this matched everything! It is so nice to find a true authentic Italian not cooking for the locals tastes but keeping true to themselves. They also have some great Italian wines. Wish I could persuade them to move to Nelson! Thank you so much for a great night. We will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bedfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Hi there, I just wanted to thank you for your kind words, as I can see you had our best fish dishes, keep one eye on us as the summer season is coming and some more beautiful fish coming. See you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leonardo's Pure Italian also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Leonardo's Pure Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing