We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rotorua is lucky to have Leonardo's”

Leonardo's Pure Italian
Ranked #14 of 241 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Leonardo's is a small, family owned restaurant, Yuka and Leo have been in hospitality for more than 20 years all together. Our Menu is quite small only because we work only with the freshest products possible. For the same reason we change our menu very often, to try new flavours and recipe. The restaurant is open for dinner 7 nights a week.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I came across Leonardo's by chance on the internet, read the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor and decided to have dinner there with my husband. We asked Leonardo to surprise us with our first and main course. We had the delicious lasagne with melt in the mouth pasta and a spicy chicken and lemon dish. For dessert we ordered the pannacotta and tiramisu and they were the best desserts we had had in a long time. Our verdict: 5/5 for ambiance, 5/5 for the food and 10/5 for service. Leonardo and Yuka, good luck with your restaurant. We are so glad we live in Rotorua and we look forward to many more delicious meals!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank daughterfrom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Hi there, what to say about this feedback? not much, only thank you so much and see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,011)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

907 - 911 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

A great little italian restaurant for Rotorua. Authentic italian meals and hand made pasta and best bruschetta I've ever had. The service is friendly and efficient. The restaurant is small and it's an open kitchen so there is nothing left to the imagination and it can get a little stuffy. But overall it was a great experience and I will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thegolfnutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

GRAZIE MILLE. thank you for your feedback, hope to see you soon again. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Have eaten here twice since it opened and would have eaten hear a third time but it was full. This restaurant is small but with a good selection of dishes to choose from which all sound delicious and I intend to keep going back to try them all which could be quite a long time because they keep introducing specials and new dishes. The chef cooks beautifully in his tiny kitchen. Everything I have eaten here has been perfectly cooked and delectable. The pasta is homemade. The pasta with blue cheese and fresh grated pear is unusual and delicious. The hosts are welcoming and friendly

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MAVDBroek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hi,Thank you so much for taking time and write a review for us, very pleased. I am sorry to ear that you couldn't have a table with us for that night, it's a very small restaurant :-). Looking forward for having you next time. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My son, wife and I had a great fathers day dinner.This was the third time we had been at Leonardos and each time it has been a very good experience .We did not book but they provided us with a table even though it was really busy.The two owners welcomed us like old friends and made us feel special .The food was of the highest quality and the service was also.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank turk01_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback, much appreciate. See you next time for some more yummy food. Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Dined on a Saturday night. The restaurant was full, so do make a reservation, as a number of walk-ins had to be turned away, as the restaurant is quite small. The atmosphere is reminiscent of an osteria in Italy. The food is very good. The Tuscan antipasto is great, with cured meats from Toscana & a magnificent bruschetta. The tiramisu is as close to the best I have had (and I am of Italian descent). The limoncello is worth trying - it is very nice - apparently produced in NZ. The restaurant can get a little smokey, but is part of the "osteria" atmosphere. A lovely meal. Will be returning, when we are back in NZ. Bravo Leonardo!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Parn04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hi, thank you so much for your kind word, we are very happy you enjoyed your meal. we are waiting you for next time, and will be a 5 star one :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leonardo's Pure Italian also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Leonardo's Pure Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing