We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Kerosene Creek

Kerosene Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Natural Hot Pool at its best - Perfect for those cold winter morning - We drove from Taupo and its exactly 55 km away - There is small road sign on left side, blink and you miss.
The off road is a very bad, broken road which takes you to this nice little hot spring. We spent around 2 hours soaking in the hot water . There were very few people when we reached the place but crowd kept building up in about an hour. There is also a small loo to change and fortunately the place is kept quiet clean. Carry your togs , jandals and towel - you dont need anything else.
Will surely visit again if i am passing by.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank NisheshV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    82
    14
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armidale, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We found out about this place from a local in Rotorua and forgot about it until I drove past the sign ( not a big sign but just a normal street sign that apparently the locals remove from time to time, or so we were told). Don't worry about the bumpy dirt road as it is accessible for most cars (especially hire cars) and after a short drive you pull up in a small parking area. After a short walk of about 500m down a track you can see why people love this place. Small cascading waterfalls with a beautiful bathing pool with a sandy gravel base. The water is about 35 degrees C and just perfect. The best thing about this place is the cost.....absolutely zero. If you do visit here then do the right thing and take your rubbish with you. There was a small amount of trash lying around and that did detract slightly from the ambience. We picked some up and disposed of it correctly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rock3tRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Something special for visitors”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I love Kerosene Creek and am so proud that it is on our doorstep. I take all our out of town or overseas visitors there. It's hard to describe - head down a gravel road and there in the middle of no where is a hot stream and steaming waterfall. Just make sure you don't leave valuables in the car as you need to walk for about five minutes to get to the waterfall. (No hills to climb - an easy walk)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank HinemoaHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Kerosene Creek is a great place, around 20-30minute drive out of Rotarua - asif heading to Taupo. It is easy pretty easy to find, just be aware that it is a pretty long bumpy road down to it but worth the trip. There is a stream, waterfall and a large pool which is a lovely hot temp. No touristy stuff to ruin a natural beautiful place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Free !”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

It's totally free, you'll have a hard time to get out (water is so warm!!). You don't see much of course, but still great to take a bath there

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aureliennn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kerosene Creek also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Kerosene Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing