We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capizzi Pizzeria

Capizzi Pizzeria
Ranked #22 of 219 Restaurants in Rotorua
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Capizzi Pizzeria serves traditional style wood-fired pizzas. Our difference is that not only are our pizzas delicious and made from the highest quality ingredients - they are available by the slice. We are licensed, so come in and enjoy pizza, a wine or beer, or your favourite drink.Our pizzas are handmade and served dine in, take out whole or by the slice. We also offer fresh salads and desserts.Follow us on Facebook here Capizzi-Pizzeria-Rotorua
Kaitaia, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We recently stopped in for takeaways (due to time constraint) and fell in love with this little place. It is very unassuming. When you walk in you can watch the pizzas being made and hidden at the back is a small sit down place that gives you the feeling of being in Italy. So sad we were only in Rotorua for 2 nights and we came here the second night so no chance of dining in BUT when we return to Rotorua we have a date planned for this gorgeous little place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melody P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    76
    16
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I went to this pizzeria during a trip to Rotorua. The pizza is good and is quite similar to the real italian pizza. The place is nice and there are italian pictures and traditional italian music. The price is not too high.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Viaher-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good pizza but a bit over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We came here for lunch as not many places are open in Rotorua on a Sunday (super weird!) and had a chicken pizza, they served it on a cool looking tray and the pizza itself was a bit bland and needed a hit of salt and pepper or chilli and it was definitely over priced. Nice atmosphere but customer service wasn't that great, the guy needs to learn to greet customers when they walk in.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ReinaAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We bought a voucher off grab one and thought we'd give it a try. Pizza and garlic bread were great, salad was pretty average. Lovely little seating area in the back with Italian opera playing. The staff were so friendly, especially to our kids. Will go back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank okieabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place has some of the best pizza that I have had in NZ. It was fresh and flavourful. We tried three different pizzas between us and they were all delicious with generous amounts of toppings. The atmosphere in this little place is lovely and the service was great. Loved the Italian music in the background.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyjen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capizzi Pizzeria also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Capizzi Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing