We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very expensive photos” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rafting Adventure

Rafting Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rafting Adventure would like to take you on the white water rafting trip of your life. Whether you’re looking for a scenic and relaxing getaway or an adrenaline filled adventure, we have a river for you. Traveling with Rafting Adventure means paddling some of the best whitewater rivers in New Zealand. Outdoor adventure vacations are our specialty, and we work hard to provide our guests with the best travel experience possible. We offer diversity, beautiful scenery, narrow rocky gorges, peaceful calms, and numerous rapids, and lots of fun. Just choose the trip that’s right for you…from mild to WILD!
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very expensive photos”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

For 95NZD we were on the water for about 45 mins. Trip operated from their home, with kit up and getting ready in their garage. Was a fun trip with some good rapids and felt Lance the owner was very experienced. Equipment was good with wetsuit, booties, jacket, helmet and life jacket provided. However felt like we were being taken advantage of after being told not to take our own waterproof camera as they would take photos for us.. then at the end of the trip charged 40 NZD for a digital copy of the 36 photos. We wanted a memory of the event so did pay it, grudgingly. Thought this was overpriced, hence why only 3* as it brought down the overall value for money and experience

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank scottonthebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance R, Owner at Rafting Adventure, responded to this review, November 2, 2014
Hi Scott & Angus,
I have received your trip advisor review, and was disappointed with the 3 star mark, and hoped that you had enjoyed the rafting trip more. I would like to appologize for any confusion regarding the photos. As explained before the tour, you were welcome to take your own camera, however as it was in a large diving case, it was advised not to take it, but the decision was still left up to you to take it or not. This was recommended for your safety, as well as those around you. The rapids can be unpredictable at times on this grade 5 river, and as a guide, I need your undivided attention and ability to paddle, and hold on, at the appropriate times, and by having to hold your own camera, it can often be cumbersome to manage paddling. I also want you to know that I did have your best interests in mind when advising you against taking the camera, as the risk for falling out and losing it is very high. As Scott may have noticed on his swim back to the raft after the waterfall, it takes a good amount of effort to swim in the white water, and the last thing you need to think about is where your camera is.
We offer a photorapher to join our tours as an additional service to the trip, and there is no obligation to buy the photos after viewing them. I am also aware that the photographer offered to take some photos with your own personal camera so that you had at least something on your own card after the trip. We do understand that photos are an important part of the memories of our trips & travels, and did not want you to feel like we had taken advantage of this situation.
I also would like to clarify the prices you paid, were $85 for the rafting ,not $95 as mentioned in your review. (Other rafting companies charge up to $150 for this trip).Also, our records show that 44 digital photos were transferred to your card, but you quoted there were only 36, for $40, (other companies in the area charge between $40-$80 for the digital photos of this trip.)
Please consider these points for this 3 star review. Thank you, Lance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    1
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lance & Tina are the BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Lance graciously arranged to pick us up in Tauranga and even showed us around town before heading to his lovely place for the Kiatuna river... Great adventure, wonderful people. My wife was a little nervous but Lance set her right at ease. We had a great time, a definite must do!

Helpful?
1 Thank KB1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“white water rafting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

highlight of holiday.awesome experience so much fun.Great instructors very helpful& friendly good price

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rafting Adventure - A must in New Zealand!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

What an adventure and one hell of an adrenaline rush too! We had such a great time and Lance was so informative and hilarious. Thank you so much again. You will be missing out if you don't give this trip a go! I will be back for sure :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BecFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Epic adventure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Smiles all around, Lance is a champion, really loved the brief cultural significance talk before we dropped off the 7 meter water fall :-))
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WeBuyHouses022545264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafting Adventure also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Okere Falls, Rotorua District
 

Been to Rafting Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing