We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do for any wine lover”

Volcanic Hills Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.98*
and up
Scenic Rotorua Gondola Ride with Wine Tasting
Ranked #2 of 118 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rotorua has a unique wine experience in its tourism repertoire with Volcanic Hills winery. The winery is at the base of Skyline Rotorua and a gondola ride up will take you to Volcanic Hills HQ, our Tasting Room situated high up within the popular skyline tourism attraction's mountain-top complex. Come up and drink the view overlooking Lake Rotorua. Please note we are closed Christmas Day.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Great wine tasting and wine to buy. Staff were so friendly and very knowledgeable about wine and the local area with things to do and places to eat. Excellent!

Thank JodieMoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jo b, Public Relations Manager at Volcanic Hills Winery, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thanks Jodie for your review..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"tasting room"
in 48 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 154 reviews
"pinot gris"
in 28 reviews
"cheese platter"
in 17 reviews
"tasting experience"
in 10 reviews
"nz wines"
in 9 reviews
"wine maker"
in 8 reviews
"cellar door"
in 5 reviews
"enjoyable wine"
in 5 reviews
"food platters"
in 5 reviews
"skyline gondola"
in 16 reviews
"fantastic afternoon"
in 5 reviews
"new zealand"
in 30 reviews
"spend an afternoon"
in 8 reviews
"cable car"
in 5 reviews
"rainy day"
in 8 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 6 reviews
Filter

413 - 417 of 444 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I purchased the gondola and wine tasting package and found it to be a well worthwhile way to spend an afternoon.

The whole experience from when we walked into their tasting area until we left was excellent, they were friendly and knowledgeable, and more than happy to talk about any wine related subject, as well as give us ideas of where else we might like to travel for a similar experience.

The best thing we did in rotorua!

Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jo b, Public Relations Manager at Volcanic Hills Winery, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Wow the best thing you did in Rotorua.. great feedback.. Thanks for taking the time to review us . Kind Regards Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Great wines with tastings done with the winemaker who knows his stuff and helps you get the most out of your tasting experience. Great venue with nibbles available to purchase. Kids ok. Very tolerant of all ages. So popular the wine is selling out!!

Thank Pam_MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I were travelling through rotorua and stumbled acrossed the volcanic hills wine tasting ontop of the hill of the skyline tours.. as it was the start of our new year and being aussies we thought we would dabble. The owner was serving us and they were fantastic, the wine was the best we've had. Highly recommend coming.. you will live it.

Thank gbomb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jobmills, Public Relations Manager at Volcanic Hills Winery, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you so much for your feed back, pleased you enjoyed your Wine tasting ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This visit with wine tasting was included on a package we purchased online to go up the gondola and have lunch, and isn't really something we would have included on our itinerary - but we are so glad we did! At 11am we arrived a bit sheepish at starting to drink so early, however the wine wine was absolutely delicious - as someone who never really enjoys chardonnay or red wine, I was hooked! We were given great backround for each wine by the part owner Brent, and ended up buying four bottles - three to take home to Australia and spread the word, one to enjoy on our last days in NZ. Thanks so much for the experience, we will be back.

Hot tip - the wine tasting fee is taken off the price of any two wines you buy, so if you're in the market to actually purchase some of their wine, take advantage and sample them all. The wine is all very reasonably priced between $20 and $30 a bottle.

Thank Xannabanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jobmills, Public Relations Manager at Volcanic Hills Winery, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback and photo's. Pleased you enjoyed your tasting with Brent and that you got yourself a few bottles to take home to Australia..Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcanic Hills Winery also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Volcanic Hills Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing