We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY GOOD BUTTER CHICKEN!”

Chimney Indian Restaurant
Ranked #92 of 223 Restaurants in Rotorua
Price range: $3 - $14
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to Chimney Indian Restaurant, one of Rotorua's most popular spots for the Entrees, tandooris and curries of India. We're open 7 days a week
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD BUTTER CHICKEN!”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The best Onion Bahji you will find in NZ
Love the food and the service is very good. Prices are so low that when you pay and can barely waddle out it is always a pleasant surprise.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    10
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Gone for lunch today with my family and there was no one to attend on front meanwhile wait for 10 minutes after sitting on table one of the guy gave us menu and did not come back to get order. Then we wait for another bloody 15 minutes and realise why the hell we wasting our time.really poor service

Helpful?
1 Thank b s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service, good value”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Lovely people and excellent service.
Very good value.
Consistent quality food and service.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annefoster001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very satisfied customers!!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We were walking passed. ..and the smell drew us in. ...great customer service, value for money and delicious. .best butter chicken I have ever had. ..will be dining there again. ..even got a loyalty card with 3 stamps.

Helpful?
Thank kimh552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Worst butter chicken I have ever had”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Butter chicken was bland and made with very poor quality chicken. was mild as mild can be and I clearly asked for medium. Lamb Korma was average, have had much better. Naan was about half the size I am used to receiving from other Indian eatery's in Rotorua. Side salad was good. Overall do not recomend

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank f0odie300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimney Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Chimney Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing