We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot & Thermal”
Review of Guysers Gaystay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Guysers Gaystay
Ranked #23 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Hot & Thermal”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Broke the habit of a life time and didn't stay in motels on this trip in favour of B&B's and home stays. Guysers was an excellent choice of B&B. Mike and Peter were great hosts and their superb local knowledge had me wanting to visit places I had never heard of which is saying something after many holidays in Rotorua. Their home is comfortable and welcoming. A soak in the hot tub after a full day was a particular delight, slept like a baby in the very comfortable bed. A place to recommend and deserves a repeat visit

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike-n-Peter, Owner at Guysers Gaystay, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Wow guys. It was great to have you stay with us and we look forward to a repeat visit from you. We are glad that you had an awesome time here in Rotorua, New Zealand. It is great having someone like yourselves who are so enthusiastic and want to visit all that Rotorua has to offer. We are looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    3
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
23
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bairnsdale, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Mike and Pete showed us great hospitality when we were staying there. Despite them being a bit sick and under the weather, we were given valuable information about the local area and a wonderful dining recommendation which we took up and would not have found/tried on our own. We would definitely recommend Mike and Pete to gay travellers to the area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KC T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike-n-Peter, Owner at Guysers Gaystay, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Reviews are important for our business. We are both over the flu now than goodness, but we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a wonderful surprise that you had arranged your wedding while here in New Zealand. Come back and visit Rotorua again and enjoy more of what is on offer in this very cultural city. Congratulations on your wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

En-route solo from Wellington to Auckland I chose to break the journey with a chill out at Mike and Petes' Guysers GayStay, Rotorua. A warm welcome and being the only guest, despite requesting a single room, I was allocated Room 1 which has a large double-bed and opens up to the courtyard and spa area well designed by the boys. It has its own bathroom with a great shower. Local free-to-air TV is in the room and SKY available in the lounge along with a range of videos. The place is very modern and the tariff includes a hearty cooked breakfast at a time convenient to you - I was leaving early and it was no problem to ask for a 7am start. WiFi is freely available in the room with the proviso of no horrendous downloading of movies etc. Despite being a B and B "homestay" one had freedom to come and go as one wanted. Parking is right outside the front door and a short walk to free volcanic activity is just across the road in Kurau Park. Guysers is a great homely place to stay .... will be back again.

Room Tip: The room adjacent to the spa pool is first choice. Bring cash to pay - no EFTPOS facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarillonManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike-n-Peter, Owner at Guysers Gaystay, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
It was great having you come and stay. We thank you for your wonderful review and look forward to you coming back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Mike and Pete hosted us for 2 nights. We had the room No. 2 with dedicated bathroom just on the other side of the hallway. The bed was very comfortable. There was a little fridge. A mini bar is available at reasonable prices. The bathroom had a very big shower. The breakfast was cooked every morning with eggs and side dishes according to the chef's choice. There is also a nice open air court and a bubble bath which we eventually didn't use as we enjoyed thermal bath in the region during our visits. The main great thing in this B&B are the great care by Mike and Pete who are always ready to explain you everything they know about the region (and they know a lot !!!). They had always a good suggestion even for free and not touristy Disneyland style attractions. Thanks to their detailed information on all the major attractions in the area we could make our choice for authentic and natural spots. A great gay stay in Rotorua!

Room Tip: Room No. 1 has ensuite bathroom and direct access to bubble bath. Room No.2 can accomodate 3 person...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ib-phix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike-n-Peter, Owner at Guysers Gaystay, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We enjoyed having you stay with us and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I recently stayed for two nights and had an amazing time. The friendliness, thoughtfullness and attention to detail of the hosts Mike and Pete was astounding. They went out of their way to make sure I had a good time, including taking me for a swim in a naturally heated river and to the beautiful Waikite valley thermal pools. They are very knowledgeable about local activities and always had good advice.

The location was ideal for me as I had arrived by bus and it was only a very short walk to the accommodation (although Mike insisted on saving me the walk back to the bus on my way home and gave me a ride). It was easy walking distance to restaurants, bars, shops, the lake, Polynesian Pools, information centre and the park across the road had some nice markets on Saturday morning.

The house is very well appointed and everything was neat and tidy. I was impressed with the decor in the rooms which also included a minibar, tv, alarm clock and everything else I could have needed. The bed was comfortable and I slept very well.

The breakfasts were delicious and I appreciated them catering to my specific food preferences.

The highlight for me was the beautiful sunny courtyard and of course the spa pool which was a great way to relax and socialise.

I would highly recommend Guysers as a great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZBrad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike-n-Peter, Owner at Guysers Gaystay, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. Your words are very kind. We are very glad that you had a great time here and enjoyed getting a little sun in our great courtyard. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

A friend and I recently stayed here for 5 nights, and I must say how impressed we were considering it has been open for only a few months. This is a Bali-inspired, B+B in a convenient location, with plenty of parking spaces, only walking distance from the myriad of delicious eateries in the centre of town. The welcome-folder in our bedroom contained many menus from local cafes and restaurants which helped us make informed decisions about where to go for dinner each night.
Our hosts Mike & Peter were absolutely fabulous, being so welcoming, friendly, professional and attentive. They possessed a deep, personal knowledge of a wide range of local attractions worth visiting, including no-cost ones, and were happy to book us in themselves so we received a discounted rate. They were readily available to escort us on a walking tour of thermal Kuirau Park, just across the main road, so that we didn’t miss any of the many fascinating natural features.
We booked the bedroom with 2 beds, which has a dedicated bathroom just across the hall, and found it all to be spotlessly clean, spacious, comfortable and stylish. We really appreciated the convenience of the mini-bar with tea-making, located in the bedroom.
As I am a Gluten-Intolerant Vegetarian, I am usually under-whelmed by eating out as my simple needs seem to be beyond most caterers understanding, so I was absolutely thrilled that our hosts went to so much trouble to provide 4 completely different and scrumptious cooked breakfasts for me.
We travelled to N.Z. for a wedding held in Mount Manginui, so we based ourselves in Rotorua and luckily chose Mike & Peter’s B+B. We had such a delightful stay here that we are planning another trip next year, and basing ourselves with these two exceptional and outstanding hosts again to see more of the lovely north island.
Highly Recommended home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike-n-Peter, Owner at Guysers Gaystay, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Wow. What can I say. You guys are fantastic. Thanks for all the wonderful words you said about us. Do come and stay again, we love having you both staying here with us and you certainly helped to brighten up each day for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Peter and Mike were great hosts! We stayed for 4 nights and they helped us with all of our activity needs and really looked after us. Highly recommended!!! There's a hot tub out the back too! Thanks guys - see you next time we're in town

Room Tip: One of the rooms has it's own bathroom and sliding door to the back yard - ask for this room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike-n-Peter, Owner at Guysers Gaystay, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you Michael for your wonderful review. It was great having you all stay with us and would love to have you back again sometime. We hope that you also enjoyed your double New Years Eve parties both here in New Zealand and also in Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
0.6 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#29 of 92 in Rotorua
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#23 of 92 in Rotorua
262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#11 of 92 in Rotorua
579 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rotorua City Homestay
Rotorua City Homestay
#21 of 52 in Rotorua
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guysers Gaystay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guysers Gaystay

Property: Guysers Gaystay
Address: 1406c Pukuatua Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guysers Gaystay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B for men has 2 well-appointed stylish rooms with dedicated bathrooms, tea and coffee making facilities, a TV and a mini-bar with a selection of drinks and snacks available. Guests are free to use the shared lounge which has a distinct Balinese style decor and dining room and we have a sunny clothing optional courtyard area and covered patio with a deluxe 5-person spa pool and sun-loungers. Free Wi-Fi. Complimentary daily breakfast includes tea/coffee, juices, fresh fruit salad, cereals, toast as well as a cooked breakfast that varies daily. Breakfast is served at a time agreed to by all guests and is enjoyed together around the table with your hosts. Free airport or bus terminal pick-ups/drop-off is available (just let us know your itinerary). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Guysers Gaystay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing