We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an amazing place to stay on your Wedding night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quest Rotorua Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quest Rotorua Central
Ranked #1 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What an amazing place to stay on your Wedding night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Colin and Lisa bent over backwards to make our wedding night and days leading up to it run smoothly and with one less thing to stress about.

The stay was outstanding, rooms were huge which helped with the girls to get ready for the big day, the beds were super comfortable, the deck had great views of the City, Whaka forest and Mt Ngogotaha and another great asset was the spacious bathrooms and kitchenettes. We also loved the deck spa pool to recover from a big night.

And the icing on the cake was the surprise waiting in the bedroom on our return to the hotel from the wedding, this Ace team had left a trail of rose petals from our front door to our bedroom with a lovely bottle of champagne beside the bed and an ornate towel arrangement on the bed that was a "tip of the hat" to a conversation we had with Colin and Lisa regarding our first vacation to Thailand.

We would highly recommend staying here and could think of nothing to fault.



NOTE: I attempted to submit this review earlier this year but after realising it was not posted felt it was worth it was doing it again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Owner at Quest Rotorua Central, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Ryan C,

We appreciate you returning to Trip Advisor to leave a review after your first attempt didn’t post. We were honoured to assist in making you and your wives day special and as hassle free as possible. Going by the photos you posted, the girls had a great time getting ready.

We shall need to start preparing for your 1st Year Wedding Anniversary! We trust that married life is treating you well and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Colin & Lisa
Franchise Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    101
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
146
360
20
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

With a family of parents and two teenage kids we had a pair of interconnected rooms back in April 2013. Beautiful rooms in pristine condition. The proprietors Lisa and Colin run this place with real pride and are the nicest people. It's the best managed accommodation we've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 297Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Owner at Quest Rotorua Central, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear 297Mike,

We are honoured that even after 4 months since you stayed with us in April, that you took the time to write your first Trip Advisor review. We appreciate your endorsement of our hospitality management skills and it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your family holiday, we are only to happy to have been part of it.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you cross the Tasman for an adventure holiday.

Kind Regards
Colin & Lisa
Franchise Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

The apartments were in great condition and were very comfortable. Colin gave us excellent service and suggestions on the local eateries and attractions. We would definitely return and recommend the Quest Rotorua to others as a home base for your travels to Rotorua.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Owner at Quest Rotorua Central, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Shane N,

We are stoked that after your stay at Quest Rotorua Central that you were inspired to write your first Trip Advisor review. We are even more stoked that you gave us a great endorsement and 5/5 score. Thank you kindly.

If you ever find yourselves passing through Rotorua we shall look forward to your visit.

Kind Regards
Colin & Lisa
Franchise Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I had only ever stayed at camping grounds in Rotorua previously but for my boyfriends 30th birthday I wanted to stay somewhere a bit more special than a camping ground! The boyfriends only request was he wanted a private spa on the deck, to which there were a few options available in Rotorua but they often stretched over our budget.

I found the Quest Rotorua site and was immediately sold with the self-serviced factor - this meant we had a few more things available to us that a standard hotel didn't offer (proper fridge, oven, microwave, all the utensil etc) . Plus a full, proper outdoor spa- SOLD!!

I called up to book and spoke with franchise director Colin who was a dream to deal with. He went an extra step further by getting a bottle of bubbles in the fridge for our arrival. The whole booking process was swift, easy and informative. I received a confirmation email soon after with some dining and tourist attraction recommendations which came with some discounts.

We arrived later than expected due to traffic but this was not an issue. Colin had kindly put the heating on for our arrival so the apartment was lovely and toasty. We were blown away with the room (one bedroom executive suite), it was spacious, well set up and had everything we could ask for (including two tvs and a set of lovely bathrobes!). The establishment itself is relatively new and this was reflected in the decor, which we loved. We often found ourselves saying we'd be more than happy to live here!

The shining jewel on the crown had to be the spa, which over looked the CBD and surrounding views. It was a fresh water tap spa which had a plug at the bottom, so when we filled it we knew it was clean water and had no chlorine to deal with. It was a proper family sized spa which was heavenly for just the two of us!!

Being on Hinemoa Street we were very close to a range of dining options. As we had arrived late on the Friday night, we went to a Mexican restaurant which was literally on the next block, which we found very convenient (with huge portions, great for a hungry couple!)! Colin had suggested 'Capers' a street or so down as the best Eggs Bene in town and it was so good we went there twice in the weekend, highly recommended! After breakfast we walked towards the dining district and had a few places in mind but instead we grabbed a few bits and pieces from the supermarket (as we could easily cater for all our needs in the apartment) and sipped bubbles while waiting for the spa to fill up. It was bliss.

A big selling point for me booking in accommodation is the cleanliness of the establishment (which was top notch here), bathroom facilities (which was a large shower with AMAZING pressure!) and the bed. We had a King bed and it was lovely. The sheets and blankets were to die for and we took comfort that there was extra bedding should we require it (we didn't). There was also a heat pump in the lounge and bedroom, just another bonus factor!

Overall we were THOROUGHLY impressed with the apartment itself, the kindness and politeness of Colin (he was awesome to deal with throughout the process of booking to leaving) and really couldn't have asked for a better time. Oh, forgot to mention, the tvs (one in the bedroom AND in the lounge) came with 50 free movies loaded by genre, as well as ones you could buy, just another bonus feature we loved!

I'm already trying to work out dates we can come again and will be recommending Quest Rotorua to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoJosMoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Owner at Quest Rotorua Central, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear SoJosMoJo

Wow! What a review. Thank you for sharing your experiences of Quest from start to finish. We are thrilled that we were able to make your partners 30th and yours a stay to remember. Such positive feedback certainly inspires us both to keep on going the extra mile. Service is not a hard thing, just hard to find sometimes!

I hope that your partner returns the favour when it comes to your birthday! As you highlight the Hot Tubs on the balcony are something special and we hope that many readers will follow your lead and come check them out.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Colin & Lisa
Franchise Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

My eight-year-old son and I stayed at the Quest for five days.
A few words about our stay:
The location is superb, the service can't get any better, the Wifi internet is the fastest, which I've ever experienced, and the room (Executive One Bedroom) was just wonderful!
Colin and Lisa are the best people to run this place. Very helpful in any way.
Thank you both!
Niko and I can't wait to come back to the Quest in Rotorua hopefully soon ...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BixiNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Owner at Quest Rotorua Central, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear BixiNewZealand,

We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us and the daily chat on your day’s events was great, to find out what you got up to in town. Thank you for the kind words of praise and the top marks across the board, we appreciate you telling the Trip Advisor community.

We shall look forward to your return when your next holidays permit.

Kind Regards
Colin & Lisa
Franchise Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Wonderful place to stay, so central and easy walking to everything. Wonderful hosts! Very accommodating and helpful. Told us of the best coffee place and about markets happening. Helped us with Dinner ideas as well. Wonderful apartments, spacious and modern. Beautiful spa on the deck too. Quiet rooms even though your in the middle of town!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Owner at Quest Rotorua Central, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Danica W

Thank you for the excellent feedback following your stay – we are pleased that you enjoyed the various recommendations that we made – particular the coffee at Grounded Coffee Shop – can’t be having bad coffee now! It’s great to read that you enjoyed the quiet nature of our CBD location and the private Hot Tub that you had on your balcony.

We hope that we can entice you back for next year’s family reunion.

Kind Regards
Colin & Lisa
Franchise Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Exceptional service from the moment we arrived. Very friendly and sincere assistance from the Manager Lisa. She also informed us of the weather forecast and best activities to do in town.
Loved the new rooms. Very clean and cozy. Reminded me of staying at the Hilton Residence, actually better! Loved the cushy pillows! Kids loved the hot tub.
Great location.
Just wished we had stayed longer!

Thanks for the truly memorable experience Lisa and the team at Quest Rotorua!
Definitely will come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahsin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Owner at Quest Rotorua Central, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Tahsin,

We appreciate you taking the time to tell the Trip Advisor community about your stay at Quest Rotorua Central – particularly when it places us better than the Hilton Residence! We are pleased that the family holiday was one to remember, and happy that we were able to contribute to it.

We hope that it won’t be too long till you cross the Tasman again for another New Zealand holiday in the Adventure Capital of the North Island, that is Rotorua.

Kind Regards
Colin & Lisa
Franchise Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.0 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Rotorua Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Rotorua Central

Property: Quest Rotorua Central
Address: 1192 Hinemoa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Rotorua Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Rotorua Central opened in November 2012 and is conveniently positioned in the heart of Rotorua's CBD. Centrally located to enjoy local restaurants and bars, shops and activities we are 550m to the Polynesian Spa and about 1km to the Lakefront. All apartments are self-contained with laundry and kitchen facilities including hobs, dishwashers, microwaves / ovens and fridges. The Executive Apartments boast a private balcony and relaxing Hot Tub- ideal to soak in after a day of adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Quest Rotorua Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing