We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, then.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest Rotorua Central
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely welcoming and Colin was very helpful with recommendations on what to see and do.
The rooms were clean, however the beds were small singles and the aircon blowing directly on our beds made it a little less pleasant sleep.
As we were leaving we were billed $20 for Internet usage!! ( It was later removed)
For what you're paying and what Internet access costs today, surely you could have(limited) free access!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lugya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Owner at Quest Rotorua Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Lugya

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate the positive comments and constructive feedback. All beds in Quest Rotorua Central are King Beds which split, to create twin occupancy single beds. We appreciate they are narrow long singles (2 meters) and perhaps restrict movement if most people are used to sleeping in Queen or King beds at home. We would encourage guests that are not used to staying in single beds to book a Two Bedroom apartment and enjoy the comfort of our luxurious King Beds which offer a 340mm base and comfort layer.

All apartments offer air-conditioning and the slats can be directed to suit, thus preventing them from blowing on to the beds. It is a shame that you didn’t raise the issue during your stay so that we could have improved the comfort of your sleep.

On arrival you opted to purchase a low user internet pass (500Mb), so it was of course, added to your apartment account. I removed this charge after you mentioned you had issues trying to get connected and did not utilize the internet pass. Again it is a shame throughout your two night stay you neglected to inform us, so that we could have offered assistance for you to enjoy the ultra-fast internet available at Quest Rotorua Central.

We hope that the minor issues that you faced would not deter you from returning, and we would love to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Colin & Lisa
Franchise Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

680 - 686 of 744 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

Colin and Lisa really put the efort in to make this a first rate hotel, The hotel is fairly new and is finished to a high standard. Everything is clean and in excellent order. But it is the little things that put the icing on the cake. Its self catering so a small amount of washing up liquid provided saved having to buy a big container for a couple of nights stay. Fresh milk in the fridge was another nice touch. The Hot tub on the balcony just rounded the whole stay off nicely.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJ1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Owner at Quest Rotorua Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear CJ1411

We appreciate you taking the time to write such a glowing review on Trip Advisor. It is great to read that the little extras rounded off your stay, in one of our Executive Apartments. Our housekeeping team always welcome a 5 / 5 score for cleanliness!

We hope that your travels through the rest of New Zealand were as enjoyable as your stay in Rotorua.

Kind Regards
Colin & Lisa
Franchise Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Fantastic hotel, rooms are very clean & Colin & Lisa are very helpful & welcoming. Location was perfect too being able to walk down to the local pubs. Recommend anyone looking to stay in Rotorua to choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Book the spa room
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Troystar82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Owner at Quest Rotorua Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Troystar82

Thank you for taking the time to write your first review on Trip Advisor on Quest Rotorua Central. Your kind comments and 5 Star score are very much appreciated.

Wishing you well till your next visit to Rotorua.

Kind Regards
Colin & Lisa
Franchise Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I travel alot and usually do not take the time to write reviews but I really enjoyed my stay here. The crowning jewel of these apartments is the fact that you can get rooms with a large deck and spa pool. The price was very reasonable considering you got an outdoor with views. The rooms are brand new and the greeting by the manager was very friendly, a nice guy! This is defiantly my first choice for accomodation when in Rotorua.

Room Tip: Good location in centre of town, close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NZRayW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Owner at Quest Rotorua Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear NZRayW

We are thrilled that after your stay at Quest Rotorua Central you were inspired to write your first Trip Advisor review, thank you for taking the time. Our Executive Apartments offer something unique with Hot Tubs on our balconies, which are a great sun trap in the evening. Thank you for the 5/5 across the board and the great endorsement.

We hope that it is not too long till we welcome you back to Quest Rotorua Central.

Kind Regards
Colin & Lisa
Franchise Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay for 9 of us for our annual family trip, and happened to check out Quest Rotorua Central. I was attracted to the fact that they are a full service apartment type hotel with full laundry and kitchen facilities that recently opened ( November 2012). Colin and Lisa Macphee( husband and wife) owns and manages the property and live on premises. They have a dedicated spot for bus loading and unloading. The place is very clean with neat sleek modern decor.
I ahd talked to Colin while deciding on type of room to reserve and he was very helpful. We ended up with a two 2 bedroom,2 bath apartments in a king king and twin twin configuration. The rooms are spacious, all the necessary kitchen and laundry amenities available. Their beds are very comfortable, linen is upscale and luxurious. A calm neat atmosphere. Check in was a breeze with Colin bringing us on a tour of the rooms and orienting us on how to operate the various appliances.
They are also centrally located and accessible to all parts of Rotorua. The showers are invigorating with ample pressure. I would highly recommend this hotel as the place to stay in Rotorua.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galtraveller22011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Owner at Quest Rotorua Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear galtraveller22011

We feel honoured to receive Top marks from a Top Contributor on Trip Advisor with such complimentary comments. It was a pleasure to host you and your family during your New Zealand visit. We were more than happy to assist with pre-arrival advice to ensure that you made the most of your time in Rotorua.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your travels through New Zealand.

Kind Regards
Colin & Lisa
Franchise Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Quest. Very central in Rotorua. You are literally 22 m. :- ) from the centre of town. Starbuck coffee 30-50 m. away and plenty of shops and restaurant. You can also walk to Polynesian Spa.
Only one bad thing I would like to point out. The internet is too expensive and they put limit on how much you can use :- ((. This is a drawback for business people and something that ought to be included just like power and water.
Otherwise really nice place.

Room Tip: select 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AirportWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Owner at Quest Rotorua Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear AirportWB

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your recent stay at Quest Rotorua Central. We really value the comments of a Senior Contributor on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and made the most of our central location in Rotorua.

While we charge for internet, we are one of the few accommodation properties in Rotorua and New Zealand that can offer High Speed internet through the provision of a Fibre Optic connection which offers speeds faster than 99% of all New Zealand connections (upload / download speeds exceeding 40Mbps - results from speedtest.net), while you suggest that we limit usage – we sell bundles in 500Mb, 700Mb, 1.2Gb and 5Gb, which offers great capacity for business or leisure guests.

We choose to offer value for money rates to our guests and all add-ons are on a user pays basis as opposed to increased rates that include everything, which I am sure guests will appreciate.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Colin & Lisa
Franchise Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My associate and I stayed here for 4 nights whilst working at an event. The place is very new and so the decor is lovely. We had an adjoining room, so the luxury of a large lounge and a spa pool on the deck that got amazing afternoon sunshine.

Lisa and Colin are very attentive hosts.

Room Tip: Back right hand corner if facing the property, get avo sun on deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susiecampgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Owner at Quest Rotorua Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear susiecampgirl

It’s always great to get such positive feedback from a Senior Reviewer on Trip Advisor. It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the leisure facilities of your Executive Apartment, while here for work. As your room tip eludes - all our Executive Studios get some great evening sun, so future guests make sure you bring a chilled bottle of wine to enjoy after 5pm!

We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Colin & Lisa
Franchise Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
828 reviews
1 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Rotorua Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Rotorua Central

Address: 1192 Hinemoa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: $139 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Rotorua Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award wining Quest Rotorua Central awaits your arrival. Voted #1 Hotel - Top 25 Hotels – New Zealand in the 2017 Trip Advisor Travellers Choice Awards. If you are looking for the best of service, best location and a quality apartment in Rotorua - look no further. We are conveniently positioned in the heart of Rotorua's CBD. Centrally located to enjoy local restaurants and bars, shops and activities we are only 550m to the Polynesian Spa and lerss than 1km to the Rotorua Lakefront. All apartments are self-contained with laundry and kitchen facilities including hobs, dishwashers, microwaves / ovens and fridges. The Executive Apartments boast a private balcony and relaxing Hot Tub - ideal to soak in after a day of adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Rotorua Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing