We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible and unique”

Rotorua Canopy Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$106.26*
and up
Rotorua Forest Zipline Canopy Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Opened in August 2012. Explore the ancient forest of the Mamaku Plateau 10 minutes from Rotorua on New Zealand's only native forest zipline canopy tour. An incredible experience built and opened in 2012 this 3 hour eco adventure includes tree platforms up to 22 metres above the forest floor, 6 ziplines and 2 tree to tree swing bridges. In small groups of up to ten people you will be accompanied by two highly trained guides who will teach you about the rare New Zealand flora and fauna and the conservation efforts to protect them. Every plant and tree species you see, you will not see in any other country on earth!!
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible and unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This experience surpassed all my expectations and I cannot recommend it highly enough! As a kiwi who has been living overseas for years, the canopy tour made me fall in love with NZ all over again and I think I'm going to have to move home!! Most of us never get the chance to see this kind of native forest and it's something that every visitor should do - it is a true and unique taste of NZ. Truly amazing and a great team of people running it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ben b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,986
    75
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a unique attraction in Rotorua, great for teens and adults. Zip lines and sway bridges through virgin forest offer breath taking views as well as an adrenaline runs. Buffy and Gomer are knowledgable and entertaining guides. To top it off, this is Eco tourism, and our participation helps maintain and restore native kiwi flora and fauna. Highly recommend this adventure.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cmacmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohope, New Zealand
1 review
“Fantastic Experience!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Just had a great day out with Gomer and Buffy!! The Canopy Tour was incredible and well worth the effort and money. It took about 3 hours and was heaps of fun for all of us (45yr, 15yr and 12yr). Our guides were really neat and made us laugh, encouraged us, and inspired us to "take a leap of faith" and feel the adrenilin...anyone can do this - we felt so safe and secure. Thanks heaps, Jodie, Nicole and Ashley. Keep up the good work!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JustHadGreatTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohope
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Brad and Shane were AWESOME! I was pretty nervous, being someone who is overwhelmed with anxiety when changing a lightbulb, the fact that a 7 yr old girl was on our trip helped but not more than the professional approach to safety and confident instructions from the guides. They took the opportunity to inform us about the challanges facing the NZ bush and it was cool that part of the admission goes to help conservation work. I was also impressed that the admission covered the costs of photos taken by them during the trip - too often this is used as another opportunity to extract money from tourists - so thumbs up from me - AWESOME!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Drjo_scottt-jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
“The most amazing experience ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was the first time ever that my husband and I had done something like this. It was the most amazing and thrilling experience that we have both had. The 2 tour guides that we had, Gary and Shane, made the adventure more worthwhile. We learnt a lot about the conservation side of things and thought it was pretty entertaining when they caught a possum and had photos with it like proud parents!!
Would highly recommend this adventure experience to anyone that has a bit of thrill seeking in them.
LOVED IT!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rotorua Canopy Tours also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Rotorua Canopy Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing