We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Rotorua
Personal Guide Pete- Private Day Tours
Save
Review Highlights
Top notch guide

If you're looking for a personal guide in this area, Pete is your man. He is pleasant... read more

Reviewed February 24, 2017
juetten44
,
Boise, Idaho
via mobile
Return visit.

After an excellent half tour with Pete a couple of years ago we revisited him in his home town of... read more

Reviewed March 22, 2016
Rob Lynn C
,
Forster, Australia
Read all 6 reviews
  
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveler rating
6
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
6
0
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 6 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2017 via mobile

If you're looking for a personal guide in this area, Pete is your man. He is pleasant, knowledgeable of all things New Zealand, a safe driver, and a treat to spend the day with while leaving all the details to him. If you hire Pete, you can choose your itinerary or request suggestions from him.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank juetten44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2016

After an excellent half tour with Pete a couple of years ago we revisited him in his home town of Rotorua in February 2016. Pete showed us parts of Rotorua that we never would have visited with other tours or by ourselves. Once again Pete was knowledgeable of the area, flexible and above he makes you feel at home. WE finished the day with a swim in Hot Pools a little out of Rotorua but well worth the visit. We would recommend Pete to anyone looking for a great tour.

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank Rob Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

If you want the perfect guide in Rotorua, choose Pete Otto. He is knowledgeable, flexible, and friendly. His touring van was his office and it was filled with photos, brochures, descriptions and even snacks. We knew we were in the hands of a professional.

We had limited time to tour Rotorua because our cruise ship docked at Tauranga, which is about an hour’s journey to the thermal attractions. Pete met us at our ship, and together we decided on a perfect itinerary. We toured Tauranga briefly, went to a kiwi fruit orchard, and lunched with locals in the Rotorua mall. After that Pete took us to his home (how is that for a personal touch) to meet his lovely wife, Rica, and she showed us her fabulous garden. We never knew hydrangeas could grow so high! Next we toured the Living Maori Village where the villagers use the hot water and steam for everyday cooking and bathing. Finally Pete joined us in the Polynesian Spa where we experienced thermal bathing first hand. Pete of course had towels and hats – were we surprised? Not at all. Pete thinks of everything. All of this in one day and we made it back to our ship in plenty of time. Thank you Pete. You are an ace!

Date of experience: March 2014
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We are four friends who were looking for a short tour around Tauranga while our ship had docked for the day. By chance we met Pete who has a 4 hour tour which takes in all of the beautiful sites around Tauranga including their wonderful coastline, a visit to a "Kiwi Fruit Farm" and lunch at tasty Fish & Chip shop by the water. There are a number of great points to Pete's tour but I think the most important thing is Pete's attention to making the tour as friendly and informative as possible. Pete's knowledge of the area and its history would be second to none and the information that he had available in the minibus added to the experience. Pete supplied snacks and refreshments as well as wonderful tour. We highly recommend Pete's tours as great value for money and the one thing that has come out of our experience is that we all want to return to Tauranga to further experience the area. Many thanks Pete.

Date of experience: March 2014
Thank Rob Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We had an excellent excursion from Tauranga, where our cruise ship docked. Pete picked us up and drove us inland for an hour to Rotorua and on to the Wai-o-Tapo “thermal wonderland” which is a fair description of the area famous for its coloured springs, bubbling mud and volcanic craters. With some careful planning by email we managed to see the Lady Knox geyser in action, and Pete guided us on an hour’s walk around the astonishing sights. We went on to see the redwoods, soaked our feet at a favourite hot water spot, and snapped a photo of another geyser, Te Puia, from a secret viewing place he showed us which otherwise would have cost us $40 pp entry and taken at at least two hours from our short day (simply in order to watch folk dancing etc in the theme park). We could not have accomplished the trip so well without his detailed knowledge of the area and expert advice about what was possible in the time. He had snacks, water, sodas, brochures, and an array of scrapbooks available in his minibus and was thoughtful and cheerful all day (having told us “I don’t want to return visitors grumpy and neither do I want to end the day grumpy!”) We cannot recommend his services highly enough. Thank you, Pete.

Date of experience: January 2014
4  Thank livia073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews