We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SUPERB”

Chapmans Restaurant
Ranked #50 of 223 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This restaurant is part of the Holiday Inn, and has been around named as Chapmans for many years.
Gisborne NZ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“SUPERB”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We ate on two evenings from the Buffet. costing about $45 p.person.
Great seafood and plenty of it. Salmon was a treat; Chowder was superb (wanted more!)
Junior set off to have a Kid's meal but something went wrong! No problem: "Let her have what she wants from the Buffet Free of charge. !!!" No hassles! No arguments!! Instant decision. And so it was with the staff on each occasion: helpful and friendly. When I hear people muttering about the cost, I wonder what planet they have been living on all their lives !
Deserves the fine reputation which it has ESPECIALLY amongst the locals.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hotelinspector72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    42
    18
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Buffet at its best”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Was recommended this restaurant by a friend and was not disappointed. The price may seem a little steep at $43 per person but is defiantly worth the money, the cold sea food buffet was excellent and the amount of choice of hots mains would satisfy anyone. There was a good selection of deserts although they did have uniformity of bought in deserts, but none the less tasted great. Will defiantly be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Don't go with priority privilege”
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Crap that's all I'll say and the priority privilage card is not worth the trouble so much for priority or privilege friends and my wife and I went there but couldn't sit together because of a stupid rule they have of one card per table the rule is one card per booking but chapmans have decided it means table so don't waste your time going there if you and friends have wasted your money on a priority privilege card certainly not worth the $299, go to Novatel instead at least they will let you use more than one card per table I'll not be wasting my money on a renewal

Helpful?
3 Thank Gmandsbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So good!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The food here is amazing! Highly recommend.
The food here is amazing!  Highly recommend.
The food here is amazing! Highly recommend.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arihia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner, breakfast, birthdays - they never let you down!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Always fresh and delicious! A new buffet menu every time I go back which makes the whole experience even more worth the extra money. Price is $43/adult for buffet\ but you definitely get your moneys worth in food and service.
Have organised three 21st, a 40th, a wedding anniversary and lots of dinner dates. If you can't shell out the extra money to book a room then ask if they can set up a separate area by the fireplace. Its private enough away from the other guests and can hold around 50 people. Absolutely love this restaurant!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapmans Restaurant also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Chapmans Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing