We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quiet, Friendly Home In The Country”
Review of Country Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Villa
Ranked #6 of 53 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Anneke and John welcomed us in late afternoon and helped us get settled in the gorgeous Rose Room. They were friendly, attentive, and helpful during our stay, and we felt like family when we left. Breakfasts in the sun-filled dining room were incredible, and conversation and port wine upon returning from dinner rounded out fulfilling days. Although 15-20 minutes from the center of Rotorua, the drive is worth it to get away from the hustle of the town. Facilities fulfill high expectations, and the quiet at night is wonderful.

Room Tip: The Rose Room at the end of the hall is large, quiet, and beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 169 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

A lovely setting away from the bustle (and odors) of downtown Rotorua, but still within easy driving distance of the many attractions of the area. Anneke and John are warm, gracious and accommodating hosts. The setting is beautiful, with a lovely garden and nice country views. Great breakfasts, and the hosts are very helpful with suggestions for things to do in the area. We enjoyed our visit tremendously.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wymanz2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We arrived at the lovely bed and breakfast in later afternoon and were shown to our beautiful room. John and Anneke explained that they served breakfast whenever we wanted and offered lots of advice on local activities. The following morning we had homemade bread, homemade jams and muesli as well as custome ordered hot food for breakfast. We returned in the late afternoon, by which time the rain had stopped and the views were amazing. When we returned after dinner we had a wonderful long chat with John which continued with both of them over breakfast the following morning. We learned all about them and visa versa and it was such an unbelievable nice visit. Couldn't recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: There are four rooms and they are all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The Country Villa, sited just outside Rotorua, is a gorgeous home, warm and welcoming, as are the hosts, John and Anneke, who made us feel like friends as well as special guests. In addition to a sumptuous breakfast with many homemade delicacies, they offered us so many extras-afternoon tea and cocktails, evening brandy and in-room beverages and snacks. They were both so generous with their time and so helpful with good information about the area and dining recommendations and reservations. Our room was comfy and restful with lovely views of the lush gardens and wide vistas that surround the home. A wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Eachh room has individual decor, and each is quite lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lenore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had a wonderful stay with Anneke and John They are wonderful hosts
The house is very beautiful with Johns folly in the garden
The rooms in the house are all very special
it was a cold evening and John lit the wood burning stove
and Anneke put on the electric blankets
Thank you Anneke and John it was a wonderful experience staying with you
Kind regards Peter and Margaret Clarke

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

John and Anneke are perfect hosts. They are great listeners, observers, and tour planners, and keep an absolutely spotless home. They are welcoming, but not intrusive - always there when you need them, but never make you feel like an imposition. They simply know how to share their home in a very special way that makes you feel so comfortable. The home and grounds are beautiful, and away from the smell of Rotorua proper. The rooms are very large, and all the little touches are welcoming.

Room Tip: I saw all the rooms - they are all equally wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent two lovely nights with Anneke and Jon van der Maat. Their B&B is in a lovely secluded area out in the country - close to Rotorua, but far enough away that there are no sulphuric smells. After a day of sightseeing, we were happy with the short drive to their idyllic country setting.

Our room was bright, spotless, and comfortable. There is a cozy sitting area with a fireplace for guests to use. Breakfast was outstanding, with muesli, jams and jellies, yoghurt, and John's bread, all of these homemade and delightful. The cooked breakfast was exceptional as well. The view from the kitchen and breakfast area is delightful.

There are five guest rooms. Three are downstairs and two are upstairs.

Another highlight of our stay was talking with Anneke and Jon. They are warm, witty people with a wonderful view of life. They went out of their way to help us organize our time in Rotorua. I hope we can visit with them again someday.

Room Tip: The Rose Room is a ground-level corner room and has lots of windows and a bathtub shower. We liked i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
6.7 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
765 reviews
6.7 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#22 of 91 in Rotorua
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
2.2 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 53 in Rotorua
409 reviews
8.3 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 53 in Rotorua
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Villa

Address: 351 Dalbeth Road | Rd2, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: $170 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a B&B, Country Villa is an experience of elegance and tranquility, comfort and satisfaction. Situated in a quiet rural setting with amazing views only 12 minutes from Rotorua, it is the perfect base for all of Rotorua's famous attractions. Built in Auckland in 1906 and in 1996 moved to this idyllic site near Rotorua. All rooms have en suite or private bathrooms. Surrounded by large gardens with many native birds. No sulphur fumes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Country Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing