We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you”
Review of Country Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Villa
Ranked #7 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Erkelenz, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We have felt in the Country villa Rotorua very well. Our room was comfortable really, the receipt by John and Anneke warmly. The breakfast has well tasted us, Anneke had good ideas for tasty surprises. The talks in the evening with the hosts and other guests were stimulating and comfortable. We will recommend the Country to villa.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul-Gerhard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
86
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We spent 3 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Their grounds are beautiful. Beds are comfortable and rooms are large. Breakfast was good. In the evening when we returned they spent time with us and other guests in the lounge -- These are hosts that are not intrusive but enjoy eing with their guests and helping you find the best of Rotorua

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kapmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Situated in a quiet area within its own beautiful gardens Country Villa is a characterful and welcoming home. Our room was spacious, comfortable and well-furnished with a well-appointed bathroom.
Anneke and John were most helpful with ideas and advice for getting the most out of our visit. They were always on hand to offer tea or wine and were friendly and showed a genuine concern that we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The Verdi Room was brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the beautiful rose room. John & Anneke are the perfect hosts. We enjoyed their company and they gave us really helpful tips for exploring the sourroundings. The breakfast are very tasty with nice fresh homemade bread and selfmade jams. We really felt comfortable at this place and will chose this place again for our next stay in that region.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DFI00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Country Villa is a wonderful place to stay while in Rotorua. The setting is scenic and serene. The rooms are cheerful, pretty and comfortable. The hosts, John and Anneke, are delightful company and their advice about what to see and do in Rotorua is right on. The breakfasts were marvelous. The dining room is lovely. The table is set beautifully. The yogurt, breads, museli, jams and sauces are homemade! - Carol C

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuss, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Unfortunately we had only one night in Rotorua. We enjoyed staying with Anneke and John very much. They have a beautiful house and it was very easy to feel comfortable and at home. We had a great breakfast with home made jam and fresh bread baked by John. They both are wonderful hosts. Even the unusual wish of my husband to try their ride -on mower was possible - we really had fun. Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offenburg
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2012

John & Anneke are very warm hearted people! We stayed (only) two nights, which was far not enough (next time we will stay longer!). We had the beautiful roseroom. We very much enjoyed the tips and helpful information given from John & Anneke and we had wonderful conversations during breakfast and in the evenings. The breakfast was delicious with homemade bread, jams and freshly baked bread. Everything in this wonderful place to stay came from heart and the service was outstanding! We love to come back and maybe stay forever!
Kirsten & Mike, Germany

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.7 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
7.6 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
8.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
406 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
2.2 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Villa

Property: Country Villa
Address: 351 Dalbeth Road | Rd2, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a B&B, Country Villa is an experience of elegance and tranquility, comfort and satisfaction. Situated in a quiet rural setting with amazing views only 12 minutes from Rotorua, it is the perfect base for all of Rotorua's famous attractions. Built in Auckland in 1906 and in 1996 moved to this idyllic site near Rotorua. All rooms have en suite or private bathrooms. Surrounded by large gardens with many native birds. No sulphur fumes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Country Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing