We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding and peaceful place”
Review of Government Gardens

Government Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.15*
and up
Rotorua Cultural Eco Small Group Afternoon Tour
Ranked #12 of 110 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Fortaleza
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding and peaceful place”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I was coming back from the i-site when I saw the gates for the Gardens. Lucky me, otherwise I would not visit this amazing place (yes, I didn't know about it and in the end I spent more than two hours visiting). Enormous and beautiful, you will be surprised with all the flowers, squares and birds you will find out there. And the Gardens are inside the city, just few minutes walking from the main street or the i-site. Don't forget to take a lot of pictures, since everything will be a nice background. It is a free attraction which you will not regret to go to.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank IgorMasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    374
    58
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
705 reviews
391 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“A VICTORIAN LEGACY FOR TODAY”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Relatively small but well kept traditional English public garden that provides an excellent setting for the Rotorua Museum. A drive or walk to the edge of the lake is worth the effort. The bistro cafe at the Museum provides an excellent verandah from which to view the garden and see the world pass by.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ivone_sass”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

beautiful and friendly staff at cafe at museum, gardens were well kept and we had a wonderful walk around the gardens

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ivone_sass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely Gardens”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Lovely large gardens-well planned and variety of Trees and native bushes.

Lacked direction sign-posts

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A delightful garden”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

It was years since I'd walked through the gardens, they are still interesting and well tended. The surrounding area of The Blue Baths and The Rotorua Museum are attractive old buildings which enhance the the area.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank VitaAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Government Gardens also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Government Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing