We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A True Garden in all way”
Review of Government Gardens

Government Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$82.80*
and up
Rotorua Cultural Eco Small Group Afternoon Tour
Ranked #12 of 110 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A True Garden in all way”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

On your first day of Rotorua we planned to drive to the Govt Gardens & see the free Hot Springs & Geysers. It was worth it. We went to the end of the drive & parked near the lake Rotorua. Yeah you can definitely smell the sulpher, no doubt but the mind blowing views of the place makes you forget the sulpher bit. You do get used the smell eventually. We walked inside the Gardens, took pics & enjoyed all the beautiful flowers. Not a bad way to spend an hour or two.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shahnila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    372
    58
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Rotorua Museum is located in the Government Gardens, but I never visited the Museum, I spent all the time I had in the Gardens themselves.

The gardens are beautifully maintained, well landscaped and planted with an array of beautifully coloured and smelling flowers and there is a couple of nice water features too.

There is also a lawn bowling area and some nice geothermal activity within the gardens too.

It is a lovely place to walk, jog, relax, let the children play or enjoy a picnic.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TortMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A nice walk!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I spent an hour or so wandering around here. The gardens are well maintained, and are a great place to spend a little time at. However I wouldn't make a special effort to go here - just enjoyable whilst in the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holsizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The trail is fun!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Some nice geothermal attractions and the trail is fun - you can download it from the internet before you go.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwi-takes-flight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Historic”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Wonderful architecture and beautifully maintained gardens. Takes you back in time. Go for a walk around the gardens and make a day of it. Didn't go into the museum due to running out of time

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamvdrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Government Gardens also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Government Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing