We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Geneva Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Geneva Motor Lodge
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Very reliable, considerate and knowledgeable, The hosts are wonderful, really go out of their way to make recommendations that work out well for me. LIttle things like turning the heater on so the unit is warm when I arrive. Units are very comfortable. Like the spa too (one in each room). Will always stay here when I visit Rotorua.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BraeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you Brae for your comments, these are always appreciated. as we don't have the luxury of Thermal Heating like some of the other Motels & Hotels in Rotorua, we try to do our best to make our Guests feel comfortable and warm particularly during these cold winter days by ensuring we turn on heaters early and also give you another key tag to allow you to leave them on should you be going out at night. Look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    41
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
50
52
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Tidy place to stay but very dated and hasn't seen a lot of love. A bit noisy and on a main road but close to most things in Rotorua so in a handy location. Was one of the only places we could find to sleep 5 people

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am not sure what room you were in but if there was 5 of you it would probably have been our 2brm unit which is close to the road or unit 4 which is back a bit. Many of the Motels in Rotorua are situated on Fenton which I agree is a busy road. I am sorry to hear that you think we haven't shown much love for the place, but would like to point out that both of these rooms have recently been re carpeted and we are now in the process of replacing Bedspreads. We do do try our best to keep the rooms up to a 4 star quality standard however there some things we can't do much about and being in Rotorua the Sulphur is very hard on appliances, taps etc. We would hope however that our service and cleanliness of the rooms help to overcome some of these things.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were booked in for four days, had a lovely sunny unit and then my husband had to return to Auckland after one night. We felt a bit awful after booking for 4 nights but Bill and Sheryl were totally understanding. They had also very good knowledge on the tramping areas we asked about and had booklets to help our planning.

Room Tip: We always ask for a room that will get the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It was a shame you had to return home after only one night and didn't get to do the new walk you both so wanted do at Lake Tawawera as from feedback we have had it is very good. But perhaps we can see you again sometime soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had an excellent stay, room was more than satisfactory very spacious for a studio unit and the spa as wonderful. Host was lovely and very helpful. I would recommend Geneva Motor Lodge to anyone and definitely will stay again, if we have the same hosts. Only 2 minute drive into town.10 out of 10.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracymaihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thanks Tracy for your lovely comments we would love to see you again sometime soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

excellent stay, rooms are very spacious, the hosts are lovely very friendly and happy to help I would recommend the Geneva to all, great to have an electric blanket, the room was very warm and cozy 10 out of 10

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cowgirl462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you for you comments and look forward to hopefully seeing you again sometime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed two nights in the 2 bedroom unit and we just loved it. The spa was really nice. The rooms are quite spacious and clean. Nice value for money. We will definitely recommend friends who will travel to Rototua.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank botman1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, these are always appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and would look forward to seeing you again sometime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

The staff here are warm welcoming and friendly. Room was tidy and very large for a studio! with its own private courtyard with jet spa. The Location is perfect, room serviced daily at your choice :) will definitely stay with yous again when we venture back down to rotorua :) Highly recommend for anyone who may be heading those ways for a little getaway or long holiday....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizzkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your comments these are always appreciated, and would look forward to having you come and stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.0 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#13 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#49 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#47 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.1 mi away
Executive on Fenton
Executive on Fenton
#42 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geneva Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geneva Motor Lodge

Property: Geneva Motor Lodge
Address: 297-299 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Geneva Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bill & Sheryll welcome you to come & stay with us at Geneva Motor Lodge where you will receive that genuine Kiwi HospitalityGeneva Motor Lodge a modern well presented motel complex and impeccably clean has 14 self contained units each with their own Spa Pool or Spa Bath.Conveniently situated on Fenton Street,Rotorua.Handy to all local attractions and city centre makes it the perfect place to come,stay & relax after a busy day visiting some of our amazing sites and attractions that Rotorua is famous forSo please don't be disappointed and allow yourself enough time to explore our Beautiful City and surrounds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Geneva Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing