We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Geneva Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Geneva Motor Lodge
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Nice tidy rooms, very clean and spacious. Close to the centre of town and main attractions. Very helpful and friendly staff, very willing to go the extra mile to help people. Allowed me to make a booking even without a credit card. Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AK R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments these are always appreciated. and please that you enjoyed your time in Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    42
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
51
53
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The Geneva Motor Lodge was one of the best for value Motels in our recent travels of the North Island. The owner was extremely helpful and went out of her way to advise us on the main attractions. Our room was spacious and spotless. Could not fault our stay in Rotorua. Would recommend this Motel to anyone.
Maureen and Colin Williams

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you Maureen & Colin. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in Rotorua and your choice to stay with us. We try to do our utmost in helping our guests have a pleasant stay by offering great service and very clean rooms (Thanks to the help of our wonderful team of housekeepers who certainly take pride in their work)
Would look forward to meting you agin one day should your travels bring you back to Rotorua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

A very clean and reasonably situated Motel, rooms had there own private spa baths, the optional breakfast were very good and delivered time requested.Host Sheryll couldn't have been more helpful sorting out my problems (mislaid wallet, NZ tolls & a credit card oops!) I'm sure she must of been glad to see me go. My wife and I had a wonderful stay also my brother and his wife in a separate unit. Thanks to Bil & Sheryll
E & M from England G & J from OZ

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EGL272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thankyou for your lovely comments. and enjoyed having you all stay with us, hope the Wedding Annivesary celebrations went well in the South. I did not mind at all assisting you with the Toll charges and the concern with your lost wallet (happened to us once while in Australia and it certainly is not a nice feeling)you certainly feel quite vunerable being without your cards & id in another country but lucky alls well that ended well and you located it. should you decide to make another trip to NZ some day we would love to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed 2 nights while visiting Rotorua. Everything is handy as long as you drive a car. The room is spacious, clean and tidy, very good for family stay. It would be even better if the matttress can be upgraded as they are too soft for children and eldly. Bill was very friendly upon our arrival, offered fresh milk and 100MB free wifi. I would not mind to stay there again.

Room Tip: A choice for family stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XQLiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments and pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Rotorua certainly has plenty to offer for a family vacation. Not sure which mattress you are talking about but maybe it was the sofa bed which I admit is not very comfortable and really only suitable for small children. we would look forward to seeing you again someday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

When we arrived the staff did not greet us with hello, she just pushed the help buzzer and told us someone else would help us, after waiting 5 mins she finally said she would help us. The room was ok but not great. The bed was terrible. The mattress needs to be upgraded. Would not stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxy1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
I am sorry Roxy but not sure what to make of your comments. I Never Ever ignore guests waiting at Reception and the only reason I would have rung the bell would have been because I was attending to other guests. We also escort all our guests to their rooms. As for the comfort of the beds we would have appreciated you comments at time of checkout( there was also our own guest survey in the room that you could have filled out) so we could check the beds to see if there is a problem and maybe that one does need to be replaced as we don't get many comments regarding problems with our beds, however we would hate to think our guests have had an uncomfortable stay. Perhaps you could contact us directly to let us know which room you stayed in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

stayed there one night while visiting rotorua. the motel is located a bit out of center on the main motel street fenton street. as long as you have a car everything is in handy distance. room was spaceous and everything was in proper order, incl. a nice spa pool. guess this is my sole draw-back... the atmosphere is somewhat sterile. not that it mattered but nevertheless. the only other thing i say is internet: the first 50 mb are complementary after which you have to pay... dont experienced that to be standard in motels in NZ.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you Philip for your comments. We do offer guests staying more than one night more internet time complimentary and most times people find the 50mb daily adequate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

we stayed at Geneva Lodge for 1 night, i wished it was more.We arrived early and were allowed to check in straight away.I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there,our room was very spacious, clean and very private.the out door courtyard was superb,we had own own polynesian spa in our own courtyard.it was very peaceful,not far from town.this is the perfect place to stay if you just wanna get away and relax in a peaceful enviroment.i will differnantly be staying there again when i return to rotorua.

Thanks geneva

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hi Kline
Thank you for your comments, we would look forward to welcoming you back some day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.0 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
ASURE Palm Court Rotorua
ASURE Palm Court Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geneva Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geneva Motor Lodge

Property: Geneva Motor Lodge
Address: 297-299 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Geneva Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bill & Sheryll welcome you to come & stay with us at Geneva Motor Lodge where you will receive that genuine Kiwi HospitalityGeneva Motor Lodge a modern well presented motel complex and impeccably clean has 14 self contained units each with their own Spa Pool or Spa Bath.Conveniently situated on Fenton Street,Rotorua.Handy to all local attractions and city centre makes it the perfect place to come,stay & relax after a busy day visiting some of our amazing sites and attractions that Rotorua is famous forSo please don't be disappointed and allow yourself enough time to explore our Beautiful City and surrounds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Geneva Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing