We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Choice for Family Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Geneva Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Geneva Motor Lodge
Ranked #27 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“A Choice for Family Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed 2 nights while visiting Rotorua. Everything is handy as long as you drive a car. The room is spacious, clean and tidy, very good for family stay. It would be even better if the matttress can be upgraded as they are too soft for children and eldly. Bill was very friendly upon our arrival, offered fresh milk and 100MB free wifi. I would not mind to stay there again.

Room Tip: A choice for family stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XQLiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments and pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Rotorua certainly has plenty to offer for a family vacation. Not sure which mattress you are talking about but maybe it was the sofa bed which I admit is not very comfortable and really only suitable for small children. we would look forward to seeing you again someday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    41
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
50
53
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

When we arrived the staff did not greet us with hello, she just pushed the help buzzer and told us someone else would help us, after waiting 5 mins she finally said she would help us. The room was ok but not great. The bed was terrible. The mattress needs to be upgraded. Would not stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxy1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
I am sorry Roxy but not sure what to make of your comments. I Never Ever ignore guests waiting at Reception and the only reason I would have rung the bell would have been because I was attending to other guests. We also escort all our guests to their rooms. As for the comfort of the beds we would have appreciated you comments at time of checkout( there was also our own guest survey in the room that you could have filled out) so we could check the beds to see if there is a problem and maybe that one does need to be replaced as we don't get many comments regarding problems with our beds, however we would hate to think our guests have had an uncomfortable stay. Perhaps you could contact us directly to let us know which room you stayed in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

stayed there one night while visiting rotorua. the motel is located a bit out of center on the main motel street fenton street. as long as you have a car everything is in handy distance. room was spaceous and everything was in proper order, incl. a nice spa pool. guess this is my sole draw-back... the atmosphere is somewhat sterile. not that it mattered but nevertheless. the only other thing i say is internet: the first 50 mb are complementary after which you have to pay... dont experienced that to be standard in motels in NZ.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you Philip for your comments. We do offer guests staying more than one night more internet time complimentary and most times people find the 50mb daily adequate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

we stayed at Geneva Lodge for 1 night, i wished it was more.We arrived early and were allowed to check in straight away.I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there,our room was very spacious, clean and very private.the out door courtyard was superb,we had own own polynesian spa in our own courtyard.it was very peaceful,not far from town.this is the perfect place to stay if you just wanna get away and relax in a peaceful enviroment.i will differnantly be staying there again when i return to rotorua.

Thanks geneva

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hi Kline
Thank you for your comments, we would look forward to welcoming you back some day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have to say that the place was nice and clean, rates was fair, and most important thing was about the owner, she was so nice. She gave us lots of recommendation but I was so sad that I could not stay any longer as I had to move on.

Anyway, it is highly recommended!

Thanks Sheryll!

Ray & Zoe

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hi Ray & Zoe we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and would look forward to seeing you all again some day soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were warmly welcome by Sherryl on arrival. She even gave us the town map and local attractions knowing that it was my first time to Rotorua. We stayed for 3 nights one of the best places that i have stayed in New Zealand. Especially love the outdoor spa pool. My kids loved it. especially the older one who is just 2 1/2 yrs and even my youngest one (8 months) loved to be in the spa pool all the time. The rooms were very spacious and modern and plenty of room for my kids to run around. Next day we went to Hobbiton and Bill kindly directed us how to reach there and we never got lost enroute. Wish we stayed there for longer. But will definitely look to get back there for our next vacation.

Room Tip: Chose the ground floor units for outdoor spa pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasiven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Bill & I are only too happy to assist out guests with ideas to help you get the most of your stay in our Beautiful City. As Rotorua does have so much to see & do.We look forward to hosting you again when you get the chance to come again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

My partner and I made a last minute decision to stay at the Geneva Motor Lodge. After viewing a Motel up the road where another family member was staying (Ashleigh Court) we were more than delighted with our choice.

The room was clean, the TV was huge, and it the room was well equiped. Upon meeting the hosts they were welcoming and willing to point out attractions and recommendation along with some eating establishments.

The outside spa pool / hot tub was an added bonus and was sheltered and private.

The only downside was that when getting out of the shower, the floor can get extremly slippery if even the slightest bit wet and I did nearly fall over on two occassions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMonkey15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments and pleased you enjoyed your stay here in Rotorua. Sorry to hear you almost slipped over on the bathroom tiles, we have had them treated with an anti slip coating however as with all tiles can still be be quite slippery when wet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.0 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#47 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
ASURE Palm Court Rotorua
ASURE Palm Court Rotorua
#17 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geneva Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geneva Motor Lodge

Property: Geneva Motor Lodge
Address: 297-299 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Geneva Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bill & Sheryll welcome you to come & stay with us at Geneva Motor Lodge where you will receive that genuine Kiwi HospitalityGeneva Motor Lodge a modern well presented motel complex and impeccably clean has 14 self contained units each with their own Spa Pool or Spa Bath.Conveniently situated on Fenton Street,Rotorua.Handy to all local attractions and city centre makes it the perfect place to come,stay & relax after a busy day visiting some of our amazing sites and attractions that Rotorua is famous forSo please don't be disappointed and allow yourself enough time to explore our Beautiful City and surrounds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Geneva Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing