We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rotorua Gold”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Ranked #12 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rotorua Gold”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

As I write I am enjoying a comfortable bed in a warm room using free wifi while watching a movie on one of the available Skyfi channels. I am one happy girl. We chose Rotovegas on a whim as we drove into town planning to stay one night. After inspecting the clean, wonderfully inviting yellow accented rooms and speaking with the wonderful Sabrina in reception about Rotorua's many activities we promptly booked a second night and Sabrina organised our activities with discounts!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CassHockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Hi

Thanks for taking the time to review and even better to hear that you loved your stay.

Sabrina is a true gem we are lucky to have her along with all of our other passionate and helpful staff here. Its great you found the rooms spacious and comfortable. We often have guest comment about our central location so if you do need to head out you just a short stroll to the supermarkets and dining options you can get back to enjoy our lovely rooms and heated outdoor pool and other great facilities.

Thanks again for taking the time to review and hopefully the rest of your trip was just as wonderful and comfortable.

All the best

The Rotovegas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    189
    53
    11
    3
See reviews for
215
257
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed here for one night in August 2014 with my in-laws and our baby. Rooms were spacious, warm and had all the amenities that we wanted and needed. The spa pool filled up quickly and was amazing on the cold winter's day. Front desk was professional, friendly and very helpful. There were enough towels to go around (first time we have found this at a motel!).

We loved the little sachets of mix-a-drink orange juice, never seen this before at a motel.

The motel is across the road from a supermarket, butcher and liquor store. What more do you need?

Free Wifi speeds were good.

A portacot was placed in our room and made up with warm blankets for our baby. She slept like a dream that night.

The outdoor area is big and secure with a good playground for kids. Can't wait to go back in summer for our little one to enjoy!

Room Tip: If you get a room on the ground floor, you can hear people walking above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelling_Liebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Kia Ora,

This kind of review really helps potential guests to get an impression of what to expect from our motel - thank you a lot for your lovely feedback.
We are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
We love the orange and lemon drinks and we know kids do - that's why we stocked our units up with them, as well as the usual tea, coffee and hot chocolate sachets.
Isn't our playground just wonderful for kids? We call it the MEGA FORT playground and it is a pleasure to see how much fun kids have with the swings, the slide, the tunnel and the climbing ropes. For all kids older than 12 (and of course adults) we have table tennis and a petanque area. To burn the last bits of energy or to relax after a long day there is the outdoor heated swimming pool.

We'll be happy to see you returning in summer! Please give us a call under 0800 249249 and we will make sure you have the best possible rate!

Kind Regards,

the whole team of RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed for two nights for a lads weekend. Awesome place, highly recommended. Just a ten minute walk to town. The rooms were comfortable, warm and well equipped. Staff are very friendly and very helpful. Great weekend in Rotovegas!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Kia Ora Joshua,

Thank you so much for your great review! Happy to read you lads had an amazing time. Our motel is very close to town with its restaurants, bars and shops. The large supermarket across the road is very convenient and has open until midnight.
The whole team from RotoVegas Motel hopes you will be back and stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Sabrina @ RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waiuku
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

RotoVegas was a great place to stay. Nice and close to town so no need to drive in for dinner etc. The rooms are very comfortable and the owners Phil, Carey & Sabrina were just lovely. Very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be staying there again on our next trip to Rotorua.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Kia Ora Angela,

Thank you a lot for your great feedback. We really appreciate your time to write a review about your recent stay at RotoVegas Motel.
We are stoked to hear you had a wonderful time here with us and you are right - we are only a 10 minutes walk away from the city centre. All of our units have fully equipped kitchenettes and across the road is a big supermarket, which is very convenient for all of our guests who would like to cook.

We can't wait to have you back here at RotoVegas Motel for your next visit in Rotorua - for best available rates, call us under our FREE number 0800 249 249.

Have a lovely day.
Kind Regards,

Carey, Phil & Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

What a great place! It isn't expensive and for what we had paid I was a little worried about the quality of the accommodation but there was no need to be. The room was excellent and had everything you could possibly need. Firstly it was huge. The kitchen was better stocked than mine at home and it was tastefully decorated. There is a free thermal pool to use, laundrette and play park. It is central to the town and there is loads of parking. A special call out to Sabrina who checked us in and couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. The guy who checked us out gave us really good advice about where to visit. A really friendly economical hotel and I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Kia Ora Jackie,

We are really happy to read your wonderful feedback - thank you for your lovely review.
Our motel offers quality accommodation to affordable prices. That is why we won the Travellers' Choice Award 2014 in the category BARGAIN.
We are pleased to hear you found everything you needed in our kitchen and liked the decor of the room.
Please do and recommend us to your friends and family - we'll be happy to find the best available rate and rooms if they call us under 0800 249 249 or email at info@rotovegasmotel.co.nz.
We hope you will come back and stay with us again @ RotoVegas Motel.

Kind Regards from the whole team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night after spending a night in a different motel not far from here. Phil (I'm assuming the owner!?) was a great guy and had a very warm welcome for us in comparison to the previous motel owner! He sorted out our lift to the Tamaki Maori village and was overly helpful! Would happily recommend this place to any mate!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barryc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Kia Ora Barry,

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay at RotoVegas Motel.
Our managers, Carey and Phil, are lovely and always eager to help with bookings and organizing activities.
It is amazing to hear you would recommend our motel. A good word of mouth is better than every add we could place. Thank you a lot and we hope to welcome you again with us.

Kind Regards,

Sabrina & the whole team of RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Had a lovely relaxing stay at Roto Vegas Motel of Rotorua. On arrival we were welcomed by a lovely friendly receptionist Kerrie who proved to be very helpful and offered us an upgrade to a spa unit which we gratefully accepted. As we work in the industry as well, we thought the service was of a very high standard. The unit we had was lovely and sunny and very clean and all the facilities one would want including the large spa bath. The unit was lovely and warm. Very close to the shopping centre with the supermarket just across the road and a lot of eating houses nearby. Thanks again for your friendly hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Kia Ora Margaret,

We are so pleased to hear you had a relaxing stay at RotoVegas Motel. What a wonderful review - especially when it comes from people working in the same industry and knowing the business inside out. It is a special compliment to hear you found our service of a high standard, because customer service is where we put our heart and soul into.
I will pass your lovely words on to our housekeeping girls, who are working real hard to keep everything as clean and tidy as you found it in your studio spa unit.
Thank you so much for taking the time reviewing us on TripAdvisor - highly appreciated from the whole team.

We hope to see you again at RotoVegas Motel.
Kind Regards,
Carey, Phil and Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
821 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
858 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua

Property: RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Address: 249 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Heywoods Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua is centrally located on Fenton Street within walking distance to Restaurants, Shops and Tourist Attractions. RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua has a heated swimming pool, private spa pool units, sauna and ample off-street parking for campervans and large vehicles. Our affordable quality accommodation suits most budgets as there is a range of 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom units that can sleep 4-6 persons to smaller Studio units that sleep 2-3 persons (majority with Private Spas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing