We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky motel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Ranked #13 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Funky motel in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and found the staff to be really friendly and helpful. The room was great and we had a jacuzzi spa pool to enjoy which was definitely a highlight!! The room was spacious and great to have a kitchen area. It was a good base to visit the te puia geyser (you can view this for free through the fence of the geyserland hotel!) and also see the boiling hot mud pools in the kuirau park (also free!).. We chose to have a trip on lake tarawera -the water taxi and Eco tours which I really recommend. I would definitely stay in rotovegas again but you do only need one night in Rotorua. Beware of the eggy smell!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
What an egg smell - don't tell people. We like to leave that as a surprise - ha ha. Yes it can smell from time to time but that's what makes tourists remember our 'Geyser Wonderful Land'. Glad you sort out some of the free spots too.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding our service and property - Have a Merry Christmas and a great 2014.

Cheers Natalee & Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    183
    52
    11
    3
See reviews for
208
252
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights at this motel. Another family we were travelling with chose the accommodation; we only booked because we wanted to be nearby, but I have to say we were pleasantly surprised. The room was a bit on small side, so it was a little tight getting around the furniture once all our baby's gear was inside. We were out and about so that didn't bother us too much. The room was clean and well maintained. Our only concern was the missing smoke alarm. The outdoor heated pool was lovely, the BBQ was clean, we had a giggle playing pétanque and the kids loved bouncing away on the trampoline. There was also free internet access. The motel is in easy walking distance of the town centre and there is a good supermarket and plenty of fast food outlets in the vicinity. The proprietors were very helpful and friendly and we were chuffed to bits to loaned at a high chair and a box of toys for baby. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McSmithsEntourage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Hi Guys,

Thank you for the lovely review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great meeting the entire family and I hope the kids have a great 'kiwi' family Xmas.

You will be pleased to know the fire alarm is now replaced (please always let us know at the time, as sadly we get guests that take them off the ceiling from time to time).

Cheers and Merry Christmas - Natalee & Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

My partner and I booked this motel after doing quite a bit of research for our NZ trip! After a long drive that day and starting to feel a bit fed up, we were cheerd up immediately when we arrived at Rotovegas thanks to the very warm welcome we received from Natalee! I'd previously contacted the Motel as it was my partners birthday that day and Natalee arranged a bottled of bubbles in our room, which was much appreciated and my request seemed to be of no trouble at all for the hosts.

On arrival, we were provided with loads of info on the local area with recommendations for trips and places to eat!

The room was massive, which was great as we were staying for 3 nights and the spa bath was a fab addition and was used everyday along with the swimming pool and garden area.

The motel provided good value for money and a great location (only about 15 minutes walk into town) and the hospitality from Natalee and Bryce was much appreciated.. thank you! We will definitely stay again if we're ever fortunate enough to visit NZ!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Kia Ora Kathryn,

Lovely to hear from you, I'm sure the rest of your holiday went well. It was our pleasure to host you both. Bryce and I love it when we see guests enjoying the bbq area and relaxing in the pool and have the time to have a chat.

You guys really packed a lot into your Rotorua holiday which was great to see.

Thanks again for the 5 star review it is greatly appreciated.

Merry Christmas and all the best for 2014.

Cheers Nat & Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed for one night at the RotoVegas. It is a nice room and the hotel has a great location, walking distance to everything. The proprietors were very nice and it was a nice experience we would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleyville_TXAngjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review which you kindly wrote regarding your stay at RotoVegas Motel. Yes we are a local family for the area, which helps ensure we can offer our guests the best advice for what to see and do while you are here. So come and play in this great city.

Thanks again - Natalee & Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We arrived on a damp, grey afternoon but the Rotovegas soon cheered us up. The room, whilst very small, was well equipped and had good heating facilities. The staff were very friendly, giving us tourist advice and also giving us the password to their personal internet when the free internet (allocation: 300MB) decided to stop working. The location is fairly ordinary for getting into town – a good 20 minute walk to the lake – somehow further than you think. However, just across the road is a Countdown (supermarket) and a liquor store. Also, you are on the road to Wai-o-Tapo ready to leave at 9.30am to catch the show there. The best part of the experience for us, however, was the in-room spa-bath. It was deep, hot and the bath bubbles were excellent. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Kia Ora Amanda,

Thank you for staying with us at RotoVegas Motel. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and in Rotorua. We get great reviews regarding our handy location to the city, the supermarket and our spa units - so glad you booked one.

Have a great trip around New Zealand and all the best for 2014.

Regards Natalee @ RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I booked this motel after reading a lot of positive reviews at Tripadvisor and I wasn't disappointed. The proprietor is friendly and helpful and our room was perfect. We opted for a room for 4 on the due to our heavy luggage. Our room was clean and even has a small jacuzzi pool at the back which prompted us to immediately buy a packet of bath salts (a Rotorua must buy) to fully utilise the said pool. The room for 4 pax came with a queen size and single size bed each in the room and another single size room in teh living room.

The restaurant is also conviently located within 5 minutes' walk from the famed prize winning fish and chips restaurant, Oppies.

Toiletries are adequate and there is even free wi-fi in the rooms.

It was freezing cold when we were in Rotorua. So, it would be good if the bedroom could come with a heater as well. There was only one heater in the living room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Gorgez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for the 'Perfect' review. It is very rewarding for us when our guests feel we have "great rooms, great rates and great recommendations" so I am delighted you think so too.

Nice to read you enjoyed the spa pools, we also get great feedback on our lovely lavender bubble spa which we supply for all of our spa units (bath salts sounds like a great idea too).
Glad you got to experience James and his team's Fish and Chips at Oppies I have to say they are the best in town and only a 1 minutes walk from RotoVegas Motel too!

Take care cheers Natalee @ RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We had the Rotovegas house, and a couple of share twin exec spa rooms.
The rooms/facilities were great and the house was perfect for a group of 14 guys on a motorcycle trip.
The private, lockable double garage that comes with the house was a mind rester for the bike guys.
The host were friendly, helpful and totally reasonable. The Thai was as good as they said.
On our 4 night road trip, Rotovegas was unbeatably the best place we stayed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monday N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Kia Ora Guys,

You are welcome back with your beautiful touring bikes any time. I even put this review on our facebook page (so thank you for taking the time to tell others about our property in Vegas)!

Have a great Christmas and we do hope to see the entire crew again next year.

We go offer our guests - 'Great rooms, Great rates and this is another Great recommendation!

Safe travels - Cheers Natalee & Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#15 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#12 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#5 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua

Property: RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Address: 249 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Heywoods Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua is centrally located on Fenton Street within walking distance to Restaurants, Shops and Tourist Attractions. RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua has a heated swimming pool, private spa pool units, sauna and ample off-street parking for campervans and large vehicles. Our affordable quality accommodation suits most budgets as there is a range of 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom units that can sleep 4-6 persons to smaller Studio units that sleep 2-3 persons (majority with Private Spas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing