We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for exploring Rotorua”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We spent a couple of nights at the Rotovegas Motel last week and only have good things to say about the place. It was comfortable, very reasonably priced and in a great location (easy walk into town). The room (studio spa) was really comfy and warm and included a small kitchenette which was really well appointed. I also loved the retro styling! The icing on the cake was the spa at the back of the room - even though it's winter, it was the perfect way to relax at the end of a day of trekking around the geothermal parks. Would definitely stay here again :-)

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra for a spa room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ab36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

From a "prefect base" to a "prefect guest"! Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. Bryce and I are working and investing (just rolled out 20 NEW hotel style beds) a lot to ensure our property meets the needs of most of our lovely customers - glad you enjoyed the spas, they are so relaxing this time of year!

Safe travellers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

534 - 540 of 724 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

-Strategic location within Rotorua
-Room was very spacious that came with 1 Queen 1 Single bed, kitchenette and dining area.
-Bed was comfortable enough to have a good night's sleep after a......
-relaxing soak in the huge private jacuzzi

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meixuan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Glad you enjoyed our NEW beds (which we are currently rolling out) and our deep geothermal heated spa pool too. Thank you for making the effort to tell others.
RotoVegas Motel should be on ALL travellers accommodation list when needing a place to "stop, relax and recharge” without breaking the bank! We are currently upgrading our beds to executive beds, so your sleep is even better. Thanks to everyone who has stayed with us, keep coming back as this means we can keep upgrading the property for your comfort.


Cheers Natalee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Group of four, stayed in apartment with private spa-it was perfect for the weekend, great value and very tidy! Natalee was excellent is recommending cafes and restaurants! Great place-highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam2wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Kia ora Adam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell other potential guests about our handy location, and helpful service. I am glad you had a great time in Rotorua with your friends and glad you enjoyed the spa pool. They are great this time of year when it is cold outside, to enjoy an all enclosed spa pool area.

Cheers Natalee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our group of 6 adults & 5 children stayed in Rotovegas house for 5 nights. Perfect for a large group. Great facilities, big kitchen and dining room. Able to store bikes in garage, and the drying room came in handy for the few wet days. The kids loved the heated pool and the trampoline. Bryce and Natalee were very helpful when recommending activities in Rotorua.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for reviewing RotoVegas House, it is a gem of a place to stay for large groups. With 5 bedrooms and sleeping up to 15-20 it is probably the biggest Motel unit in Rotorua.

Glad you had a great time and we have upgraded the bed in the house too.

Cheers Natalee @ RotoVegas Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Loved the decor, we had a room with a spa which was great. Room was lovely and warm with the central heating, very clean, nice bathroom, receptionist was great and really friendly, spent a lot of time pointing us to good local restaurants. Was a bit of road noise as we were in the very front room on the road, but you get that on a busy road and we still slept really well. Great value for money and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a private spa pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CammersG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you so very much for the great review of RotoVegas Motel, it is wonderful guests like yourselves that make our jobs lots of fun.

Our central heaters are wonderful, it is getting cold in Rotorua now, so the electric blankets are starting to come out onto the beds and we have purchased TEN NEW hotel bed, the executive style ones! So thank you for your feedback (as it makes us want to ensure we are doing a great job) and thank you for staying we us as that (money) helps us invest back into the property for our next lovely guests

Cheers Natalee @ RotoVegas Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We liked the location if the motel, the supermarket is just a walking distance. Te Puia was also nearby. It was raining when we were about to head out for Te Po & the kind owners lend us some umbrellas. They were nice to provide us with free wifi as well. Room was a bit small for 4 people otherwise it was all good.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our property and taking the time to share your feedback with other potential guests. We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday.

Cheers Natalee @ RotoVegas Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were here for a couple of nights and found it to be excellent. We were given an upgrade and our room was very clean and spacious with a sitting area, table and chairs and bathroom with an indoor hot tub. The owner, Natalee, was extremely helpful and friendly. The location is especially worthy of comment as many hotels/motels are on Fenton Street but it is a long street and Rotovegas is in prime position for walking into the town centre. There is also a supermarket opposite and eateries very nearby. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review of RotoVegas Motel. Bryce and I are delighted we can assist with ideas for what to see and do, as we are locals of Rotorua so know the place well! Glad you enjoyed our location and clean and tidy units (with a 'touch' of retro fun) we find most of our guests feel the same - which is wonderful for us and our delightful staff.

We do hope you have a great time with the rest of your holiday in our beautiful country.

Cheers Natalee @ RotoVegas Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#11 of 92 in Rotorua
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
2.9 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua

Address: 249 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Heywoods Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: $85 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua is centrally located on Fenton Street within walking distance to Restaurants, Shops and Tourist Attractions. RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua has a heated swimming pool, private spa pool units, sauna and ample off-street parking for campervans and large vehicles. Our affordable quality accommodation suits most budgets as there is a range of 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom units that can sleep 4-6 persons to smaller Studio units that sleep 2-3 persons (majority with Private Spas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing