We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location motel with amazing owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location motel with amazing owners”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The motel is located in in a very good location, very close to city central with restaurants, gas station, supermarket nearby. We were staying at a two-bedroom apartment with kitchen and hot-tub. The room is of good size, clean, and have everything we need. The owner is very very nice and helpful. He spent a lot of time recommending us places to visit in and around Rotorua, restaurants, etc. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeBeeBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with potential new guests regarding your stay at RotoVegas Motel.

The location is great (to the city and the forest) and that is why we get so many repeat guests and it is always so nice to see regular faces again.

Thank you for letting us know about the spa pools, as at times the piles get fill (just like a shower can block) - Bryce has cleared these out now and they are extremely fast again!

Glad you liked your stay in the studio funky room and yes it is more compact than our retro spa retro units. We get great feedback on this unit due to the good value for money - you get cooking facilities, FREE Wifi and a private spa pool. If you are staying more than a couple of days then the retro spa unit is a more popular choice.

We always love it when potential guests call us direct, so we can let them know the best option for them depending how they are travelling and for how long. As sometimes it does not come down to the cheapest option is the best option.

Thanks again.

Natalee @ RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    188
    53
    11
    3
See reviews for
213
257
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
136 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Close to town (walking distance) and even though on busy Fenton street it is quiet and away from traffic noise mostly. The rooms are a little on the small side (we had a studio), but well appointed. The spa which comes with the room is a good size although fills very slowly. The owners are extremely helpful and will organise bookings, and give tourist advice. Proximity to some good restaurants (the Kurious Kiwi is nearby and is well worth a visit) and also Countdown are pluses. Well worth considering.

Room Tip: If you afford a bigger room than a studio, then go for it - the studio rooms are a bit cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nzbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Glad you had a great stay with us and thank you for taking the time to tell other potential guests. Rotorua is a great place to come and visit, there is just so much to see and do while you are here, best of all if you stay with us at RotoVegas Motel then you get to hear about the tip of where the locals go - as you know!

Hope to see you again soon.

Cheers Natalee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The room was fine with a loose 70's theme going. The location was just outside of town and fine for us too. The bed was the real dissappointment.....not at all comfortable, squeeky and springy.

All that said, the owners/managers of the place were amazing. They were friendly and gave great recommendations. But the best part was we were running out of time and they volunteered to take our laundry out of the machines and hang it for us so that when we returned it was all dry and we were able to get on our way.......AMAZING!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bp1033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks for the lovely review regarding Bryce's service. It's not too often he offers to do the laundry (well not mine)!!!! Glad you had a great time in Rotorua.
Sadly I am sorry the sleep comfort was not up to standard, we have replaced a number of beds, since taking over RotoVegas Motel as such (re feedback) you'll be pleased to know we have ordered another 10 corporate style beds (two levels up from a normal motel standard bed) for our guests to enjoy.

Once again where we can upgrade or improve we will, but please always tell us so we can ensure all of our lovely guests have a GREAT stay & sleep.

Take care

Natalee @ RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pirongia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a family unit and there was plenty of room for all of us, unit was clean and tidy, free wi-fi, comfortable beds, great pool and close to town. The fact that it was across the road from Countdown was a bonus!!! Owners were both amazing, have a wealth of local knowledge and were very helpful with every question I asked from Spas to dining. Thanks guys we will definately be back to stay - your hospitality just made our "ROTORUA" experience even better!!!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Kia ora Deb,

We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in our Family Unit, it is a lovely and sunny unit with a great location to the shopping mall and countdown supermarket.
We enjoy taking the time to make sure all of our guests get given information on where to eat and play while in Rotorua and it is so rewarding to us to hear that you have had such a great time in Rotorua.

Look forward to hosting you again sometime soon.

Cheers Natalee @ RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

The pool is very small but each room has its own thermal spa. Rooms are a decent size. Rooms are not as themed as they seem in the photos. It was pretty clean and staff are nice. Quiet despite being on the main road. Not far from thermal parks.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilieJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review RotoVegas Motel. We are glad to hear you found our location, rooms and service are great.

All of the RotoVegas Motel units are themed slightly different as it is impossible to buy 20 sets of retro chairs, tables, lights, art etc (I've tried). Guests can see each room type and pictures of each room on our website before booking. It is a lot of fun staying in the different room types.

Of the few motels in Rotorua that have a swimming pool our outdoor pool is a standard size pool for a 20 unit motel, with the benefit of it being HEATED! We agree it is not an Olympic 50m lap pool, but sadly we do not get a lot of Olympic swimming teams staying with us! Most of our mountain biking guests love it, as they can soak in it after a hard day on the tracks and kids love jumping off the one and only 'pirate blank' in Rotorua!
We always welcome feedback - thanks again.
Regards Natalee @ RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Team of 12 and 4 coaches/managers stayed in the House. Everything about the house was ideal for what we needed and the pool was a great bonus. Natalee and Bryce were great hosts (and fun to talk to!). We stay in a lot of places on tournaments and this is one of the best.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
And Fabulous Guests too!

Thanks for taking the time to review (and well done by the way). We love having sports teams here and seeing you enjoy the pool after a hard game!

RotoVegas House is the prefect area for groups, you can all be under one roof but still have private space.

Thanks again.

Natalee @ RotoVegas Motel/House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I don't know what's not to love about this place. Very kitschy '60s inspired decor, well-maintained, inexpensive. Free wi-fi, nice kitchenette, great linen, deep, clean hot-tub, pirate themed pool and trampoline for the kids. What more can you say? Oh yeah, right across the street from a Countdown supermarket, next door to an awesome fish and chips place, great recommendations from the knowledgeable, friendly front desk staff.

One caution, though it's not about the hotel. When we checked out, we were asked for full payment, which was very confusing. We initially made the reservation through hotels.com, and it looked as if we had prepaid. We had not, but I don't think I'd ever made a reservation through them that was not prepaid, so I was a bit taken aback, but the ever-polite desk staff waited for me to check on my phone to make sure my card hadn't already been charged. So if you think you've prepaid, double-check that the charge went through.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Kia ora Christopher,

It's OK you can love it ALL we prefer that!!!! Thanks so much for the glowing review of RotoVegas Motel. We are glad you found our property to be well-maintained, inexpensive with FREE Wi-Fi and good kitchens (what more do you need). Our great linen you commented on is from ALSCO a professional laundry company so all of our towels and sheets are kept to the best possible standard.
We get a lot of positive comments about our deep spa pools (one guest commented to us she had been in five spa pools/baths around NZ and she found ours to be the best) with the lovely bubbles bath on the side for your pleasure. Good to hear you had fun in the pool with the pirate ship (we must put the new flag up). It is important for us to ensure all of our guests have a great stay and enjoy our extra facilities we offer.
Oh the joys of internet bookings! We are promoted on well over ten different internet booking sites and they all have different conditions. Some take payment prior to your arrival – for example AGODA and WOTIF but most of them let us charge your card on arrival (unlike a number of other motels who take payment at the time of booking). We have a great flexible 48hr prior to check in cancellation policy* for guests so we mostly take payment at check in. Our lovely team will know if you have paid or not, as we manually need to pin your credit card details into our reservation system (even if you have been asked to give your credit card on the booking site). Glad it all got sorted for you.
Thanks again and enjoy the rest of your travellers.
Regards
Natalee @ RotoVegas Motel
* Conditions apply
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#12 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#6 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua

Property: RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Address: 249 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Heywoods Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua is centrally located on Fenton Street within walking distance to Restaurants, Shops and Tourist Attractions. RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua has a heated swimming pool, private spa pool units, sauna and ample off-street parking for campervans and large vehicles. Our affordable quality accommodation suits most budgets as there is a range of 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom units that can sleep 4-6 persons to smaller Studio units that sleep 2-3 persons (majority with Private Spas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing