We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty decent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Pretty decent place to stay”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

The pool is very small but each room has its own thermal spa. Rooms are a decent size. Rooms are not as themed as they seem in the photos. It was pretty clean and staff are nice. Quiet despite being on the main road. Not far from thermal parks.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilieJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review RotoVegas Motel. We are glad to hear you found our location, rooms and service are great.

All of the RotoVegas Motel units are themed slightly different as it is impossible to buy 20 sets of retro chairs, tables, lights, art etc (I've tried). Guests can see each room type and pictures of each room on our website before booking. It is a lot of fun staying in the different room types.

Of the few motels in Rotorua that have a swimming pool our outdoor pool is a standard size pool for a 20 unit motel, with the benefit of it being HEATED! We agree it is not an Olympic 50m lap pool, but sadly we do not get a lot of Olympic swimming teams staying with us! Most of our mountain biking guests love it, as they can soak in it after a hard day on the tracks and kids love jumping off the one and only 'pirate blank' in Rotorua!
We always welcome feedback - thanks again.
Regards Natalee @ RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    194
    55
    11
    3
See reviews for
222
261
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Team of 12 and 4 coaches/managers stayed in the House. Everything about the house was ideal for what we needed and the pool was a great bonus. Natalee and Bryce were great hosts (and fun to talk to!). We stay in a lot of places on tournaments and this is one of the best.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
And Fabulous Guests too!

Thanks for taking the time to review (and well done by the way). We love having sports teams here and seeing you enjoy the pool after a hard game!

RotoVegas House is the prefect area for groups, you can all be under one roof but still have private space.

Thanks again.

Natalee @ RotoVegas Motel/House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I don't know what's not to love about this place. Very kitschy '60s inspired decor, well-maintained, inexpensive. Free wi-fi, nice kitchenette, great linen, deep, clean hot-tub, pirate themed pool and trampoline for the kids. What more can you say? Oh yeah, right across the street from a Countdown supermarket, next door to an awesome fish and chips place, great recommendations from the knowledgeable, friendly front desk staff.

One caution, though it's not about the hotel. When we checked out, we were asked for full payment, which was very confusing. We initially made the reservation through hotels.com, and it looked as if we had prepaid. We had not, but I don't think I'd ever made a reservation through them that was not prepaid, so I was a bit taken aback, but the ever-polite desk staff waited for me to check on my phone to make sure my card hadn't already been charged. So if you think you've prepaid, double-check that the charge went through.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Kia ora Christopher,

It's OK you can love it ALL we prefer that!!!! Thanks so much for the glowing review of RotoVegas Motel. We are glad you found our property to be well-maintained, inexpensive with FREE Wi-Fi and good kitchens (what more do you need). Our great linen you commented on is from ALSCO a professional laundry company so all of our towels and sheets are kept to the best possible standard.
We get a lot of positive comments about our deep spa pools (one guest commented to us she had been in five spa pools/baths around NZ and she found ours to be the best) with the lovely bubbles bath on the side for your pleasure. Good to hear you had fun in the pool with the pirate ship (we must put the new flag up). It is important for us to ensure all of our guests have a great stay and enjoy our extra facilities we offer.
Oh the joys of internet bookings! We are promoted on well over ten different internet booking sites and they all have different conditions. Some take payment prior to your arrival – for example AGODA and WOTIF but most of them let us charge your card on arrival (unlike a number of other motels who take payment at the time of booking). We have a great flexible 48hr prior to check in cancellation policy* for guests so we mostly take payment at check in. Our lovely team will know if you have paid or not, as we manually need to pin your credit card details into our reservation system (even if you have been asked to give your credit card on the booking site). Glad it all got sorted for you.
Thanks again and enjoy the rest of your travellers.
Regards
Natalee @ RotoVegas Motel
* Conditions apply
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed 2 nights but later decided to stay for another night with my family of five. The motel is located about 5 mins drive from the town centre. Only a couple of minutes walk to nearby supermarket Countdown and 5 mins walk to Pak N Save. The owners were very friendly and helpful with advises on what to do and where to go in Rotorua. Apartment was cleaned everyday and came with free Wi Fi. My kids enjoyed the heated pool which was kept at 37 degrees all day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyPNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Kia ora Mike,

Glad you had a great stay with us and the kids enjoyed the use of the FREE Wi Fi (to keep up with facebook)! It was nice that you managed to stay three nights. We get a lot of guests wishing they had booked three nights in Rotorua as there is just so much to see and do here and around the area.

I hope you have a safe trip back to PG.

Cheers Natalee & Bryce @ RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great place to stay in Rotorua - not far from everything and very good value. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms, but the bed was comfy and the room had a nice feel to it. The owners were wonderfully helpful, and gave some great local info when we arrived. All in all, I'd go back and recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Kia Ora Doug,

What a great review, thank you so much for taking the time to write about our property. As this does help other lovely travellers book here too! We are so glad you felt we are worth staying with, while you visit Rotorua as there are so many motels to select from. However when booking at RotoVegas Motel we can offer: handy location to the city, supermarket and a HOT outside heated pool with FREE WiFi - and of course Bryce's smile for FREE.

Bryce and I are very lucky to have such wonderful guests come and stay with us in our home.

Safe travels - cheers Natalee @ RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here one night on a trip around the North Island, but I would happily return. The facilities here were excellent and as we had booked a room with an en suite spa bath, we were able to enjoy the luxury of that as well. Our room was on the ground floor facing out to the main road, but we both got a good nights sleep. I have to say I was most impressed with the customer service; Bryce was helpful, informative and really wanted to ensure we had a good time. We were only there a night and he even offered to look after our bags the following day after we had checked out so we could explore the area with ease. I would highly recommend RotoVegas motel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EmVicWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review - I'm glad you felt you could not fault us. Bryce and I both work very hard to ensure our guests get the best customer service "personal travel guide" when staying with us and a comfortable bed for the night too!

I hope you enjoy the rest of your travellers in NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The owners/managers were very very friendly and helpful. The house was a great means of sleeping, eating and entertaining all together. The provision of extra oven, chairs, fridges etc was much appreciated. And the garage was great to store all the bikes in. The pool temperature was excellent.

Room Tip: House was excellent for a family get-together - very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkT335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Kia Ora Townsend Family,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Bryce and I really loved seeing your entire (50 guests I'm sure coming and going!) family enjoy themselves having a bbq and playing in the pool over the Easter break. RotoVegas House is a great 5 bedroom house for this style of event, you can feel right at home.
Good to see you made use of the lock up garage for the bikes too.

We do hope to see some if not ALL of the family over this way again.

Cheers Natalee & Bryce @ RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
847 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#13 of 92 in Rotorua
426 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua

Property: RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Address: 249 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Heywoods Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua is centrally located on Fenton Street within walking distance to Restaurants, Shops and Tourist Attractions. RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua has a heated swimming pool, private spa pool units, sauna and ample off-street parking for campervans and large vehicles. Our affordable quality accommodation suits most budgets as there is a range of 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom units that can sleep 4-6 persons to smaller Studio units that sleep 2-3 persons (majority with Private Spas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing