We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Rotorua”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Ranked #13 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best in Rotorua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband and my two little children and absolutely loved it. My four year old especially enjoyed the spa pool in the room. The room was perfect and very comfortable for the four of us.
The hosts are very friendly and helpful.
The hotel has been newly refurbished, so it was lovely and clean.
Supermarket across the road is just perfect.
Very handy location.
Definitely one of the best motel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duke0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Kia Ora Daisy,

Thank you for the review, coming from British Airways Flight Crew this means a lot, as I know you stay in a lot of internal hotels around the world. The one bedroom spa unit is great for Mum and Dad and two kids as the spa pool is like a BIG bath and kids love it.

I hope we get to see you down this way again soon.

Cheers Natalee & Bryce @ RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    182
    51
    11
    3
See reviews for
205
249
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed there for 1 night whilst doing a road trip around the North Island. The motel was recently renovated and it looked great. Outdoor pool, whirlpool, big rooms and friendly staff were the key takeaways. The rooms were also equipped with cooking capabilities which was great as we wanted to relax in the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Kia Ora Guys,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor. Glad you had a great time with us in Rotorua last month. Bryce has worked extremely hard upgrading the pool area and I am delighted you enjoyed the pool. We try to ensure all of our units are well equipped so guests do have the choice to cook in their units if they wish. However Oppies down the road is the BEST Fish & Chip in Rotorua!
Thanks again Natalee & Bryce @ RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights just before Christmas and I loved the quirky retro theme. The motel has clearly been recently refurbished so the decor is new and clean and the rooms are very well equipped. I had a fantastic spa bath which was a real treat and I particularly liked the pink flamingo keeping me company in the bathroom!

Great location for walking into town and the supermarket across the road is very convenient!
One of the best motels I stayed in during my 3 week trip to NZ!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Kia Ora Tracey,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor and coming from a Hotel Director of Sales and Marketing (in the UK) this means a great deal to us! The Studio spa retro units have recently been upgraded and we are rolling out new showers in 2013 as well! Glad you loved the LOCATION with the supermarket across the road.

It was lovely to meet and all the best for 2013.

Cheers Natalee & Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights the week after Christmas and found it to be a great place to base ourselves in Rotorua.

We booked a 'Studio Spa Funky' room and it literally had everything we could possibly have needed, including a cook top, cooking utensils (fry pan, saucepan etc) crockery, cutlery, glassware etc. With a large supermarket across the street this set up can save you a lot of money on meals!

The real highlight was the in room spa pool which we used every night we were there! It was a great way to recover after white water rafting and caving adventures!

Bryce and Natalee were so helpful, from explaining where great places to eat were, to giving us a great contact for a transfer company to get to attractions as we didn't have our own transport. Bryce's reassurance of 'not too many people have died" when I was apprehensive of rafting was much appreciated and very funny!

All in all we would definitely return and stay at Rotovegas should we ever be back in Rotorua.

Room Tip: Choose any of the rooms available with a spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gld1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Kia Ora Wendy,

Thank you so very much for your feedback on tripadvisor. It really does help other potential guests select a good value, great location and fun place to stay when travelling to Rotorua. We love it when guests stay for two or more nights, so we can get to know you and ensure you get to see MOST of what Rotorua (and the surrounding area) has to offer. Glad you liked the Studio spa funky room - yes the spa pools are a great assist when booking a unit.
I'll remind Bryce of his rafting comments!!!!!

Thanks again and we'd love to see you again sometime soon.

Cheers Natalee & Bryce @ RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed in a one-bedroom spa unit for one night. The unit was spacious (though we only booked for a family of four, we were given a unit which could accommodate 7 persons with 2 double and 3 single beds!). There were a few supermarkets just a stone throw away. Best of all, we were given discount vouchers upon check-out for some attractions in Rotorua. The host was very helpful and suggested a very good travel plan to us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kchmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time out from your holiday to review RotoVegas Motel. The unit you booked is our one bedroom spa unit which sleeps 7 guests! This is great value for the family market and includes a wonderful big spa pool too!
Glad you enjoyed the use of the DISCOUNT booklet we give to our guests. Bryce and I like to ensure ALL of our guests get given suggestions and ideas of what to see and do in this amazing city.
And yes our guests are very lucky with our wonderful location on Fenton Street, only a 1 minutes walk across the road to the SUPERMARKET and a 5 min walk to the CENTRE CITY SHOPPING MALL - BEST LOCATION IN TOWN.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

This was ideal for our team, the poolroom with kitchen facilities as a mealroom was great and our girls cricket team really enjoyed staying there. The staff made every effort to help make it a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Kia Ora David,
Thank you and the lovely ladies for staying with us at RotoVegas Motel. I am glad you have discovered how great RotoVegas Motel is for the GROUP/SPORTING market. We are probably one of the ONLY MOTELs that can offer a 'POOL ROOM' where you can make breakfast, lunch and dinner and sit down ALL TOGETHER with your group (privately) - for up to 30 guests. At RotoVegs Motel we pride ourselves on offering GROUPS – laundry facilities, the use of the upgraded heated pool, plus plunge pool and a bbq area. PLUS FREE WiFi.
We hope to see you back again.
Cheers Natalee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Staff helpful and friendly. Great location. Beds comfy and clean. But unfortunately our room wasn't great, windows didnt close, some power points looked unsafe and although the room had quite new wallpaper it had been badly marked by people scratching words into it, I realise this isnt the owners fault but doesnt leave a good impression when other people pay to stay there. I feel it needed some maintenance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoscoTaranaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Kia Ora and thank you for taking the time to review RotoVegas Motel.
I am glad you felt our motel is in a great LOCATION and is very CLEAN and TIDY. We outsource all of our bed linen and towels to a professional dry-cleaning company.
Thank you for the comments noted regarding maintenance as well. The plug you mentioned is very safe (however due to sulphur it looks marked) however you’ll be please to know since your feedback the plate has been replaced - anything that can be done will be done! The window catches have also been replaced, that unit and the one beside it where the last two to be completed. Bryce has replaced (due to sulphur) over 120 window catches so as you can imagine it takes some time. However the wallpaper sadly was purchased from overseas and due to some "naughty kids" it will now need to be replaced, not repaired. It is extremely disappointing when you upgrade a unit and children/parents have no respect for the property in which they are staying (glad to say this has only happened once in three years)! We do hope to import new wallpaper in the New Year.
Again we always welcome feedback and reviews.
Merry Christmas from RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#12 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#5 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua

Property: RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Address: 249 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Heywoods Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua is centrally located on Fenton Street within walking distance to Restaurants, Shops and Tourist Attractions. RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua has a heated swimming pool, private spa pool units, sauna and ample off-street parking for campervans and large vehicles. Our affordable quality accommodation suits most budgets as there is a range of 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom units that can sleep 4-6 persons to smaller Studio units that sleep 2-3 persons (majority with Private Spas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing