We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room and conveniently located.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Spacious room and conveniently located.”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed in a one-bedroom spa unit for one night. The unit was spacious (though we only booked for a family of four, we were given a unit which could accommodate 7 persons with 2 double and 3 single beds!). There were a few supermarkets just a stone throw away. Best of all, we were given discount vouchers upon check-out for some attractions in Rotorua. The host was very helpful and suggested a very good travel plan to us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kchmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time out from your holiday to review RotoVegas Motel. The unit you booked is our one bedroom spa unit which sleeps 7 guests! This is great value for the family market and includes a wonderful big spa pool too!
Glad you enjoyed the use of the DISCOUNT booklet we give to our guests. Bryce and I like to ensure ALL of our guests get given suggestions and ideas of what to see and do in this amazing city.
And yes our guests are very lucky with our wonderful location on Fenton Street, only a 1 minutes walk across the road to the SUPERMARKET and a 5 min walk to the CENTRE CITY SHOPPING MALL - BEST LOCATION IN TOWN.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    194
    55
    11
    3
See reviews for
222
261
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This was ideal for our team, the poolroom with kitchen facilities as a mealroom was great and our girls cricket team really enjoyed staying there. The staff made every effort to help make it a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Kia Ora David,
Thank you and the lovely ladies for staying with us at RotoVegas Motel. I am glad you have discovered how great RotoVegas Motel is for the GROUP/SPORTING market. We are probably one of the ONLY MOTELs that can offer a 'POOL ROOM' where you can make breakfast, lunch and dinner and sit down ALL TOGETHER with your group (privately) - for up to 30 guests. At RotoVegs Motel we pride ourselves on offering GROUPS – laundry facilities, the use of the upgraded heated pool, plus plunge pool and a bbq area. PLUS FREE WiFi.
We hope to see you back again.
Cheers Natalee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Staff helpful and friendly. Great location. Beds comfy and clean. But unfortunately our room wasn't great, windows didnt close, some power points looked unsafe and although the room had quite new wallpaper it had been badly marked by people scratching words into it, I realise this isnt the owners fault but doesnt leave a good impression when other people pay to stay there. I feel it needed some maintenance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoscoTaranaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Kia Ora and thank you for taking the time to review RotoVegas Motel.
I am glad you felt our motel is in a great LOCATION and is very CLEAN and TIDY. We outsource all of our bed linen and towels to a professional dry-cleaning company.
Thank you for the comments noted regarding maintenance as well. The plug you mentioned is very safe (however due to sulphur it looks marked) however you’ll be please to know since your feedback the plate has been replaced - anything that can be done will be done! The window catches have also been replaced, that unit and the one beside it where the last two to be completed. Bryce has replaced (due to sulphur) over 120 window catches so as you can imagine it takes some time. However the wallpaper sadly was purchased from overseas and due to some "naughty kids" it will now need to be replaced, not repaired. It is extremely disappointing when you upgrade a unit and children/parents have no respect for the property in which they are staying (glad to say this has only happened once in three years)! We do hope to import new wallpaper in the New Year.
Again we always welcome feedback and reviews.
Merry Christmas from RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We googled this place as a last minute stay in Rotorua, and were instantly excited when we saw the pictures of the rooms. The 60's decor is amazing - the owners have gone through a lot of effort (and obviously fun!) decking these rooms out in kitschy furniture and wallpaper. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are impeccably clean. Also, the jacuzzi spa...hands down one of the BEST I've ever seen in a similarly priced (or more expensive) hotel.

The owners were fantastic, Bryce and Nat were über friendly and helpful - and fantastically accommodating to our requests (we even requested to swap a TV in another room because we wanted to chill out with some movies on a USB Hard drive and our TV in our room didn't have USB - so they swapped it with no issues at all - thanks!) They were also great with recommending places to eat and see whilst we were here.

thanks for a great stay and your great taste in deco!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hi Guys,

Thank you so much for the GREAT FEEDBACK and review. Glad you had a great time in our STUDIO SPA RETRO unit. The spa pools are amazing aren't they! Bryce and I have enjoyed do the rooms up 'a little' bit retro. Makes it a bit of fun coming to stay. We have almost finished the pool area as well - so next time you come and stay with us you'll love the wooden surrounding of the OUTSIDE HEATED POOL.

Take care and Merry Christmas - Nat & Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We loved everything about this hotel. Parking lot was in front of the room window, plus nice view from the second floor, no noise, comfort beds. The room has everything you may need, even hot-water heating. The bathroom and the room were neat and tidy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekaterina_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We are pleased you commented on LOCATION, VALUE & COMFORT as this is what most guests look for when booking accommodation in Rotorua. I am so glad you feel (like other guests) we have all three!

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and yes our STUDIO GROOVY unit is a great unit for travellers single or a couples - wanting GREAT VALUE for money but still comfort and FUN!

Take care Natalee & Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had an awesome weekend in Rotorua, with our work social club. And RotoVegas Motel was perfect for us, fantastic accommodation, could sleep up to 20+ people. Plenty of room for everyone. Lovely facilities, price, location and the owners are fantastic. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Kia Ora Guys,

Thanks so much for sharing your experience on tripadvisor for other LARGE GROUP guests. ROTOVEGAS HOUSE is a very unqiue property being able to host up to 20 guests. It makes for a great home away from home. You looked like you had a great time in the outside heated pool and relaxing in the grounds.

Merry Christmas and Bryce and I hope to see you again next year.

Natalee & Bryce of RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a great time at RotoVegas recently and would recommend anyone to stay here. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable, and the private spa bath (with added pink flamingo flare!) made this a relaxing, fun place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor - we love to hear our guests feedback. The Flamigos in some of our spa units make for great talking point! The spa area is great for a relaxing soak after a busy day in Rotorua. Being able to grab a bottle of wine from across the road (Liquor King) or popped into the Countdown for anything - makes us the prefect location on Fenton Street.

Thanks again.

Nat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
847 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#13 of 92 in Rotorua
426 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua

Property: RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Address: 249 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Heywoods Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua is centrally located on Fenton Street within walking distance to Restaurants, Shops and Tourist Attractions. RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua has a heated swimming pool, private spa pool units, sauna and ample off-street parking for campervans and large vehicles. Our affordable quality accommodation suits most budgets as there is a range of 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom units that can sleep 4-6 persons to smaller Studio units that sleep 2-3 persons (majority with Private Spas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing