We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Ranked #12 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Amazing Service!!!!”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We took a group of 10 "Pro" mountainbikers and stayed with Nat and Bryce for a week at Rotovegas Motel in the big unit beside the pool.
The location is wonderful with the Supermarket and Grog shop just across the road and the town centre being a short walk up the street. We dined out somewhere different every night and never had more than a 10 minute walk (stumble) back to the Unit.
The Hot Pool was a very pleasant way to finish the afternoon after spedning the day on the stunning Rotorua trails.
All the staff were extremely helpful and regardless on the state we left our rooms in in the morning, they were always sparkling clean upon our return.
Can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewChristmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Kia Ora Matt,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of our facilities and service with other travellers looking at coming to stay in Rotorua or RotoVegas!

P:S You'll be pleased to know Bryce has finished the Petanque Pitch - so learn the rules for next time.

See you next year

Take Care Natalee & Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    189
    53
    11
    3
See reviews for
215
257
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

A great, friendly welcome and a warm, comfortable, quiet room. Great location and great knowledge of the area. I loved the spa! I'd definitely stay again. Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us at RotoVegas Motel we are delighted to hear you had a nice experience when travelling to Rotorua.
Regards
Natalee @ RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaricum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2012

thanks Natalie and Bryce, We had a wunderfull weekend in one of you "Retro" rooms. Just a short walk from the centre. Greath place to stay.

Hartelijke groet,

Eveline ter Beek an daughter Petra

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us at RotoVegas Motel, it is so nice to hear when guests love their stay with Bryce and I.
Regards
Natalee @ RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2012

My wife and I on our recent tour of the North Island stayed in 10 motels, this was by far the worst motel. We cannot believe the rating it has been given. It claims to have "groovy and retro rooms". The 2nd floor room we occupied was shabby and in badly need of redecoration and modernisation. The only seating were outdated uncomfortable kitchen chairs and the spare bed. It claimed to have a spa, this consisted of several jets in the bath. We never used this as it looked dirty. There was a leak behind the sink. The carpet was stained, everything felt grubby. A number of utensils in the kitchen were unusable. To be fair the hosts were helpful and friendly and it had drying room which was very useful.We cut short our 5 night stay and stayed in a nearby motel which was far superior for a similar price. I would not recommend this motel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bert a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments and feedback regarding RotoVegs Motel.

Firstly you CAN believe the ratings that other guests have written as, generally, our guest have a great stay with us. We do have units that are ‘retro, groovy, funky and with spa pools. However not all units had been redecorated and not all units have spa pool.
The unit you booked on-line did not state it was a retro or spa unit. Our description for the unit you booked states shower (only). We have many types of units at RotoVegas Motel and I would strongly suggest any guest read and view what type of unit they are booking and paying for (not just look at the images on the induction page). We clearly show each room type on our website.
I am very disappointed your stay with us did not meet up to your expectations. I sincerely wished had spoken to us at the time. I would have been delighted to address your concerns and offered you an alternative room (with spa) or your money back. However you did not raise this feedback below at the time and just told us you had to cut your holiday short. We did not charge any cancellation fees for doing so.
I am pleased to inform you that the unit has been completely refurbished (new carpet) and we have had positive feedback from people who have staying in this unit.
Kind regards
RotoVegas Motel – Natalee & Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Owners Natalie and Bryce are hugely enthusiastic, helpful and knowledgeable, with tips and hints for local knowledge and shortcuts.
Location is good, walking distance to town.
Rooms are ok not great. Our family room was clean if a little tired.
On deck private spa is a nice touch.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choonmonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback regarding RotoVegas Motel on this site.
Bryce and I try very hard to ensure all of our guests get some great tips (from us) on what to see and do (and eat) in and around this wonderful city.
Yes we are in a great location across the road from a major supermarket and one of the closest motel on Fenton Street to the city end.
We still have three units to finish upgrading and over the Christmas break it is a hard time to finish this due to our busy period. However this will be completed by the end of March.
Once again we thank you for your time and always strive to please.
Regards
Natalee & Bryce - RotoVegas Motel (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Clean and comfortable motel, not too far from the town centre and very close to a supermarket. The beds were comfortable. The service was friendly. The outdoor pool was a good temperature for summer, warm, rather than hot. The spa in the unit worked well. It was surprisingly quiet at night considering the motel is on a busy road, but we had a unit toward the back of the property closer to the pool. There is no air conditioning so the unit got rather hot and we had to leave some windows open. There was no smoke alarm in our unit. We were provided with bubblebath for the spa and also shampoo but no soap for handwashing or shower.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandGopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding RotoVegas Motel. I am glad you had a nice stay with us and enjoyed your retro unit. We do have fans for guests (either in room or ask at reception) to assist with the heat in summer. I am very sorry to hear you did not have any soap in your bathroom (this is not a cost cutting execise!), this must have been an oversite on our part. We offer all guests bubble bath for the spa units and hand soaps. If you had let me know at the time I would have actions this request (once again very sorry). To address the smoke alarms we do have smoke alarms in all of our units. It is located above the single bed in the corner of the room in the unit you stayed in. From time to time some guests remove these when cooking. The alarm has now been re-installed.

Thanks again.

Rotovegas Motel - Natalee & Bryce (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed here over Christmas. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were pretty fun and the whole place had a nice family feel.

It's very practical, handy for town and nearby sites and everything in the room works perfectly and efficiently. If we ever go back to Rotorua we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osmo150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Thank you for your GREAT feedback. Your feedback does help other potential guests know what we can offer in regards to our service and facilities. We do hope to see you again.

Kind regards
RotoVegas Motel - Bryce & Natalee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
822 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
858 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua

Property: RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Address: 249 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Heywoods Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua is centrally located on Fenton Street within walking distance to Restaurants, Shops and Tourist Attractions. RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua has a heated swimming pool, private spa pool units, sauna and ample off-street parking for campervans and large vehicles. Our affordable quality accommodation suits most budgets as there is a range of 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom units that can sleep 4-6 persons to smaller Studio units that sleep 2-3 persons (majority with Private Spas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing