We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good motel”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Clean and comfortable motel, not too far from the town centre and very close to a supermarket. The beds were comfortable. The service was friendly. The outdoor pool was a good temperature for summer, warm, rather than hot. The spa in the unit worked well. It was surprisingly quiet at night considering the motel is on a busy road, but we had a unit toward the back of the property closer to the pool. There is no air conditioning so the unit got rather hot and we had to leave some windows open. There was no smoke alarm in our unit. We were provided with bubblebath for the spa and also shampoo but no soap for handwashing or shower.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandGopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding RotoVegas Motel. I am glad you had a nice stay with us and enjoyed your retro unit. We do have fans for guests (either in room or ask at reception) to assist with the heat in summer. I am very sorry to hear you did not have any soap in your bathroom (this is not a cost cutting execise!), this must have been an oversite on our part. We offer all guests bubble bath for the spa units and hand soaps. If you had let me know at the time I would have actions this request (once again very sorry). To address the smoke alarms we do have smoke alarms in all of our units. It is located above the single bed in the corner of the room in the unit you stayed in. From time to time some guests remove these when cooking. The alarm has now been re-installed.

Thanks again.

Rotovegas Motel - Natalee & Bryce (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    194
    55
    11
    3
See reviews for
222
259
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed here over Christmas. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were pretty fun and the whole place had a nice family feel.

It's very practical, handy for town and nearby sites and everything in the room works perfectly and efficiently. If we ever go back to Rotorua we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osmo150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Thank you for your GREAT feedback. Your feedback does help other potential guests know what we can offer in regards to our service and facilities. We do hope to see you again.

Kind regards
RotoVegas Motel - Bryce & Natalee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloArm
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We had a great stay at RotoVegas Motel. We stayed 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. The owners are really helpful and a great source of local information and beyond. The room was well set up for self catering and with a massive supermarket across the street couldn't have been better located. After a day of activities around Rotorua, the private spa pool was a welcome treat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloArm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodsMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Thank you so much for the positive feedback - Rotorua is a great place to stay for two or three nights there is so much to see and do.
We would love to look after you again sometime soon.

Regards Natalee & Bryce
RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We had a great stay at Rotovegas Motel. We stayed 4 nights, the owners were lovely and willing to help in anyway they could. The room was very well equipped and tidy, the spa was huge and great! The price was very reasonable considering we stayed on a big weekend for Rotorua. I would recommend this as a great place for anyone and everyone to stay while in Rotorua, the motel is close to everything you could possibly want and there is a good walking track by the lake not to far away also. Thank you so much for the wonderful stay Rotovegas! We will see you again next year.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This motel is a little on the older side, however well maintained and excellent value for money. We stayed for four nights with a 10 month old and it was ideal for us. It was in walking distance to the centre of town and the Countdown (what we know as Woolworths in Australia) was just across the road - perfect! The hosts Bryce and Natalee were fantastic! Very knowlegable and always willing to offer help when required. Lovely pool and sauna on site were an added bonus. We had a spa room - the spa was more like a pool! Huge and a nice treat after full days of walking and siteseeing.
The rooms were always serviced very well and the kitchenette had everything we needed for light cooking and preparing baby meals.
We hope to get back to Rotorua one day and wouldn't hesitate staying here again!

Room Tip: We were at the back of the property - next to the pool, ground floor and away from the road - perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spcurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey UK
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

really helpful staff ( family I presume)
very good position
the free internet was a bit of an issue, but we got there in the end

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twister_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Grandparents and Australian grand-daughter and her friend stayed here for 3 nights and it was just perfect for our needs. The girls enjoyed coming back each day to a swim in the lovely clean pool and made great use of the in-room spa pool. The situation is great as it is within easy walking distance to shops, takeaways etc. But the best feature of this motel is the friendly and helpful owners who readily give helpful advice on trip, restaurants and things to do. Thank-you Bryce and Natalee---you made our stay so hassle-free. Thank-you.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pradoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.7 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.6 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua

Property: RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Address: 249 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Heywoods Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua is centrally located on Fenton Street within walking distance to Restaurants, Shops and Tourist Attractions. RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua has a heated swimming pool, private spa pool units, sauna and ample off-street parking for campervans and large vehicles. Our affordable quality accommodation suits most budgets as there is a range of 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom units that can sleep 4-6 persons to smaller Studio units that sleep 2-3 persons (majority with Private Spas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing