We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Heywoods Motor Lodge was one of the best places we stayed in Rotoura. The rooms were clean and roomy and The hot tub in the bathroom was a perfect asset for rainy weather. The hosts were amazing and so welcoming. As soon as we arrived,we were told that we had an automatic upgrade because that is how they treat their overseas guests. We had to do laundry and our host( I wish I knew her name) taught me how to use the washing machine and the drying room which dried our clothes with thermal heat. She even offered to hang my laundry if we wanted to go out ! She told us the best places to go and booked our tour to the Maori "hangi" dinner and show and gave us 10% off. Wonderful lodging and wonderful people, What more can you ask for! Thank you so much

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank funseeker15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

671 - 677 of 724 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2011

Wonderful hosts who helped make our stay in rotorua very easy. Rooms lovely and clean. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeriotGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

What set this apart was the service - not like other 'in and out' hotels - but a personalised service - and great breakfast!! This was different to my other travels. Thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASmithPalmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Not the greatest place but nice enough for the price & the new owners were really friendly - the 'retro' style they're aiming for though just seems to be a bit dark & dingy. Clean though & lovely spa pool - would certainly recommend. We looked at a few places in the same area before staying here & some of those were really grim.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

The room and bathroom are of good size and we found them to be very well maintained and clean. The gentleman in charge when we arrived was very friendly and helpful. He told us that he is not the manager but he was just keeping an eye on the place while his daughter was away. The location is just slightly out of the centre but only a few minutes walk. If you like junk food the are numerous places within a 2 minute walk and there is also a supermarket, off licence and fruit store right across the road.
If you have the weather for it there is also a pool and a grassy area where you can lie out.
We were probably lucky that we were not on the ground floor. I did notice some other reviewers mentioning their view. If you were in one of those few rooms on the left as you enter the complex you will be looking straight at a wall and people walking past all the time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cudman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

We stayed at Heywoods over a weekend as part of a sports group and were super-impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and are in the process of some lovely renovations. Great location, great price and a great stay!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AucklandMaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed at Heywoods for just one night my family of 17 Adults and 9 Children one would say a rather large group. This young couple were more then accomodating with value and time. We were allowed to check in slightly earlier, fortunate not to have anyone staying in our rooms the night before. Our rooms were tidy and comfortable and the spa rooms did not disapoint!. Im rather fussy on beds however these were quiet lovely to sleep on. Our outside heated pool was well used by many of our group and its location to all amenities is alone well worth the stay!. The value coupled with the fantastic warm welcome and accomodating hosts is a tribute to good kiwi services!...Well Done Bryce and Natalie you are both highly reccomended.
PS: Best wishes to your growing family :o)

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aroha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
2.9 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua

Address: 249 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Heywoods Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: $85 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua is centrally located on Fenton Street within walking distance to Restaurants, Shops and Tourist Attractions. RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua has a heated swimming pool, private spa pool units, sauna and ample off-street parking for campervans and large vehicles. Our affordable quality accommodation suits most budgets as there is a range of 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom units that can sleep 4-6 persons to smaller Studio units that sleep 2-3 persons (majority with Private Spas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing