We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay in Rotorua”
Review of Ascot On Fenton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ascot On Fenton
Ranked #55 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
shropshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay in Rotorua”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were only going to stay one night but the very pleasant welcome from surrogate hosts, Ann and Neil, (the owner had died 15 Oct and his wife was away) made up our minds to stay an extra night. The spa bath was wonderful and the rooms clean and to a high standard. With Ann nothing was too much trouble. With her years of experience we took her advice on what to see and do.
We went first to Te Puia and later went to the Buried Village. After a lovely soak in the spa bath we had a taxi ride to Skyline restaurant via a gondola. It was a wonderful eating experience and the evening view over Rotorua fantastic. Thank you Ann for being a great host

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    30
    12
    10
    3
See reviews for
26
34
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Lovely clean and warm apartments, also was an added bonus by having our own spa pool in the unit at whatever temperature you desire.
Amazing hosts were very welcoming and ensured that our stay in Rotorua great, they even do washing for a small charge folded and ironed the next morning for you. Was nice being able to stay in a motel that was so close to Rotorua city just a five minute walk!!
Have stayed here several times now and will be back again soon, highly highly recommended for a comfortable and pleasant stay in Rotorua the hosts Mike and Hilary will look after you well!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilaryruth, Owner at Ascot On Fenton, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hi Rose,
Many thanks for your kind words, we thoroughly enjoyed yo coming back to stay with us as we always do.
Yes our Fresh water Spa pools are the 'real iceing on the cake' for our guests and obviously very popular with everyone.
So glad you appreciated your washing being done and we look forward to seeing you all next time you come down for a week end.
Regards Hilary $ Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We arrived with a couple and a family of 2 adults, a 3 year old and a 9 month. We all fitted in perfectly and really enjoyed having our own bathrooms which were very clean and the bath was appreciated by the kids.

The towels were very white and in excellent condition, extra pillows, milk, hairdryer, fan, ironing board etc etc. We were very well catered for.

We are definatley returning there as we felt very welcomed and the location was great. Close to everything and shops just over the road.

Room Tip: If you are a family take the 2 storey apartments, they work really well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Ascot on Fenton is a great place to stay with very helpful hosts.
The motel is well located and we enjoyed our stay here!
This was our second time we stayed at Ascot on Fenton and our second time here was as enjoyable as our first.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 811dogfriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Friendly owner who was happy to show us a range of rooms. Close to town but still quiet at night.
Good cooking facilities. Everything was clean and worked well.
Well set out space with nice lounge and bedroom.
Outdoor covered spa bath with bubble bath.
Just a nice clean and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgan452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights a very well situated motel with and a spa with water from the springs. There a lot of things to seeand do here in Rotorua.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights and already planning a re-visit. Friendly hosts, great location, quiet which was fabulous given it's so central (we walked to yummy brunch and dinner places). The spa was glorious, bed super comfortable. All very good.

Room Tip: Possibly further back is good but we were about room 10 so quite close to the road and it was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.4 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
#28 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#50 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fernleaf Motel
Fernleaf Motel
#29 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rose Court Motel
Rose Court Motel
#59 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot On Fenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot On Fenton

Property: Ascot On Fenton
Address: 247 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot On Fenton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ascot Motel of Rotorua offers a selection of superior units to suit all tastes and budgets. Relax in one of our Private Spa Pool units. Spa pools are individually filled and controlled. All units are well insulated and thermally heated to keep you and your family warm during the cooler months. We have 10 channels of television, including Sky TV. Our complex is 300 to 400 metres from the City and directly opposite a Supermarket for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ascot On Fenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot On Fenton Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing