We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Union Victoria Motel
Ranked #54 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
“peaceful hideaway”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed at the union Victoria motel for 2 days I was greeted by Bruce who was very friendly and happy guy who went out of his way to make us feel at home thanks so much!!! we had our two young children, whom absolutely loved the heated swimming pools that also had a toddlers pool. It was hard to get them out, it was so peaceful and quiet didn't notice any traffic noise slept like a log, would have loved to stay longer good value for your money was a bit tight with 5 in the room we had but it was very clean and tidy would definitely stay again perfect location

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Hi Patricia, Thanks for the positive review it is much appreciated we do try and make our guests feel as comfortable as possible, I'm glad you and the kids enjoyed the pools they are great aren't they. The One Bedroom Apts are better suited for 3 or 4 guests and can get a bit tight with 5 we do however have other options available for future stays with us, Two Bedroom Apts and Two Bedroom Bungalows which have that extra bit of room to spread out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    67
    20
    12
    5
See reviews for
75
49
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meeka
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Met by a very friendly and helpful,Bruce. Units large, spacious, very clean. Comfortable beds, powerful shower heads, very good location, helped with shopping centre over the road. A plus thre is a games room available, a minus that you have to pay for the pool table. In areas of Rotorua you get h unpleasant smell, unfortunately it was evident at the Union Victoria. By no means overbearing, but for people with sensitive noses, could be an issue.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChadGates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. The unpleasant smell you are referring to is sulphur, [Rotorua is renowned for it] and depending on which way the wind is blowing you can get it a little stronger but I'm glad it didn't put a damper on your time in Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We chose this because of thermal pools but were very satisfied with accommodation. My sister and I took our mother for the first time to enjoy the thermal waters of Rotorua but wanted to stay at a place that had its own thermal pool. We have been here previously and enjoyed it then so it was only logical to go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for downstairs if you have elderly people with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KATHY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Hi Kathy, Thanks for your positive review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I'm glad your mother enjoyed her geothermal bathing experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Did the bookings because of the chain badge and research on TA. Stayed there for 2 days, 6th Nov, 2013 in and today morning, 8th out, me and my wife on an end-to-end drive in NZ. Bruce is warm and friendly and was available at the reception within minutes you being the, sometimes running :) you can see he wants to make the customer happy as much as possible. Had ample parking space right next to the rooms, the rooms were one of the best we have stayed in our travels all over the world with full amenities. The kitchenette was full-blown, a range, microwave, lots of things kitchen things you can use, you can cook up a feast pronto :) space adequate for 2 ppl to move about, unlike the cubicles we have seen in many places. The toilets were spacy, spotless and soaps of the best quality. All activities are around 5-10 kms radius, the countdown right opposite the place. We were very we stayed there and are panning to spend 7-10 days in Rotorua, there are so many lakes there you can call it the Lake District of NZ :)

--Arkz
====

Room Tip: Most rooms are OK, if you have laundry to do, rooms 6-7 are very near the common laundry facility gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hi WOW! what a great review thankyou very much, I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with us and that you are planning on coming back to Rotorua there is so much to see and do here. I hope the rest of you holiday goes well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were met by the happy smiling face and obliging disposition of Bruce-straight away we were put at ease-the room was excellent as were the facilities including hot spa and mineral spa plus a great swimming pool. Bruce was most obliging in finding us our next accommodation for our on going trip-he directed us to excellent eating venues all with in easy reach of the accommodation.

Room Tip: Just ask and Bruce will do anything in his power to oblige
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nannaneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hi Eve, It was a pleasure having you stay with us and that you enjoyed our Motel. I hope the rest of your holiday was a good experience and you arrived home safe & sound.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motueka, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2013

A great, handy, Kiwi owned and operated place to stay in Rotorua. The motel was very well presented and quiet with exceptionally clean and tidy rooms. The operators were pleasant and very helpful. We'd definitely choose to stay here again when next in Rotorua. Many thanks.

Room Tip: Range of options - have a look on their web-site it is very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giselle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for the positive review , I'm glad you happy with your accommodation and hopefully see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru City, null, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this Motel and thoroughly loved every minute, naturally we were out and about seeing and doing things while we were there so we didn't spend a lot of time at the motel but it was clean, comfortable and had heaps of room. The thermal pool was popular with our entire family and the mineral pools were a nice interlude. A big up for the owners you couldn't ask for a more pleasant friendly and welcoming hosts, your passion and love of Rotorua was evident plus your knowledge, recommendations etc were invaluable, a big thanks from us and if we ever get back there you know where we will be staying.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hi Nigel, WOW what a great review thank you very much, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to see and do the many things that Rotorua has to offer, take care and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#51 of 92 in Rotorua
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.0 mi away
Accolade Lodge Motel
Accolade Lodge Motel
#31 of 92 in Rotorua
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
#11 of 92 in Rotorua
405 reviews
0.9 mi away
New Castle Motor Lodge
New Castle Motor Lodge
#41 of 92 in Rotorua
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Victoria Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Victoria Motel

Property: Union Victoria Motel
Address: 26-28 Victoria Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#36 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Union Victoria Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 self contained Units, 12x Studio Units, 4x One Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Bungalows.All units are fully self contained with LCD TV's, Freeview, Sky, Telephone, Wi-Fi. All Units are non smoking, check-in from 2.00pm, check-out 10.00am.Off street parking, Guest laundry, Car wash, Games Room, Bike Hire. Outdoor heated swimming pool & toddlers pool , Covered Spa & Genuine Mineral pools.Continental and Cooked breakfast available on request delivered to your room. Rotorua International Airport 20 minutes drive, Sightseeing and tour activities arranged at reception, Thermal areas 5 to 20 minutes drive,Racecourse and Golf course 3 minutes drive,Intercity Bus Terminal 3 minutes drive,5 minute walk to City centre and Restaurants.Countdown Supermarket & Mall directly opposite the Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Union Victoria Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing